We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Style, Great Staff and Away from the Bustle of Boracay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday's Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Friday's Boracay to your Saves list
Friday's Boracay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay, 5608 Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Only Promo
Ranked #38 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic Style, Great Staff and Away from the Bustle of Boracay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Enjoyed 5 nights at Fridays and was the 2nd of 4 destinations in the Philippines. Fridays is located at the end away from the hustle and bustle of D'Mall and all the action which suited us nicely. Staff are very friendly and attentive. We researched several restaurant options but founf it difficult to leave the resort as the food was very good. Particularly the breakfast, which was negotiated into our package. Rooms are slightly dated and with the humidity smell slightly damp but we understand they are refurbishing the rooms later this year. Great access to the beach, although the seaweed can be a bit much if the wind is blowing the wrong way. If relaxing on the beach, be prepared for hundreds of visitors on the beach daily having their photo(s) taken next to the "Fridays" sign on the beach. Unfortunately some tourists don't respect the privacy of resort guests and are content on spending up to 30 minutes having their photo taken in front of the Fridays sign on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    141
    31
    23
    12
See reviews for
98
203
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the premiere suite and it was absolutely lovely. While the prices were not that much cheaper than the Shangri-La, the service was great and Fridays really gives you that island resort type feel. We were impressed by the caliber of the beach and the location (nice and quiet), however we were annoyed by the amount of tourists that walk by the beach to take a picture of the Fridays sign (perhaps that should be moved to the other side of Fridays).

Despite the few items I will note below (as mere suggestions or points to be aware of), our holiday was sublime and Fridays really did make it a truly relaxing holiday. Friendly people, great beaches and good value for our money. Staff were also extremely helpful.

The restaurant food was mediocre at best - nothing fancy, and actually quite overpriced compared to the rest of the island. Drinks, too, were pricey. They should just keep them the same price as happy hour all day long (even though happy hour is three hours long).

The rooms were clean, although starting to show some age - a bit more pest control would be nice (ants) - although nothing alarming.

In March there is a change in water temperature and the ocean produces a lot of algae that is unsightly and also smelly. I think that if the hotel were to clean the base of the beach during low tide, and keep up with the maintenance they would be able to feature their star attraction (beautiful beaches).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First Impressions: In keeping with its namesake Robinson Crusoe theme, the sojourner will be greeted by thatched-roof villas and tropical-paradise amenities. (Friday was the name given by Crusoe to the native he met and who later became his aide.) Ranging from £175 per night (for a Standard Deluxe room in Low Season -- Web Rate) up to £400 per night (for an upper level Premiere Suite in Peak Season -- Brochure Rate), it is slightly more expensive compared to its peers for its 4-star rating.

PROS: Location... location... location is its best feature. A huge beachfront property located at the northern end of Boracay Island (near Boat Station 1), it is much quieter, cleaner, more beautiful here than at any other stretch of sand on White Beach. Customer service is its second best asset. Everything from the planning correspondence, arranging transfers, organizing scuba diving trips, housekeeping, etc went without a hitch. Staff generally are friendly, helpful and accommodating. There is complimentary breakfast, free WiFi, swimming pool and a Friday BBQ buffet dinner for a dedicated carnivore to die for.

CONS: It is expensive, by local standards, and slightly so for tourists but nothing surprising for a 4-star resort. Unfortunately, the resort is already showing its age and may be on a slow decline. I may be wrong, but I feel like it's running on survival mode, so to speak, no doubt feeling the market pressure from the countless new "competition" sprouting around it.

Scuba tip: There is a relatively easy, shallow reef called Friday's Rock, consisting of a gigantic boulder just offshore from the resort between Diniwid and Virgin Drop sites. Named after Friday's Resort, it can be reached by a 10-min boat ride from Station 1. Owing to its calm condition, it is often used for OW scuba training and by beginners. Doubling as a fish-feeding station, Friday's Rock typically harbours the usual reef denizens: sweetlips, goat fishes, triggers, surgeons, tangs, snappers, garden eels and blue-spotted stingrays. It's a good place for learning underwater photography as well.

Verdict: Granted it is not the Shangri-La nor does it pretend to be, it is still a great place to stay if you wish to splurge on occasion. Recommended. Grade A-minus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Almost every Easter Week we choose to stay at Fridays Boracay. It is on the quiet side of the beach in Boracay with an expansive stretch of white sand. The well trained waiters and housekeeping staff (who we see year in, year out! there is something to be said for such loyalty!)ensure that every cent spent is more than worth it! There is a new Italian chef, Chef Luciano who whips up the most delectable and sumptuous dishes at any guest's special request. For lunch today, Chef Luciano whipped up freshly bought lobster with garlic, herbs, Napoli-purchased tomatoes and pasta. Heaven!! Washed down with the refreshing frozen margarita, one's beach experience can't get any more memorable. The ladies can indulge in a manicure, pedicure and spa at the hands of caring masseuse. Additionally, there are a lots of activities to keep the kids busy such as diving, banana boat riding, para-sailing, amongst many others. Sadly, Fridays will be renovating later this year and will be closed for the next Easter Week but we're looking forward to the re-opening!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

With respect to other resorts nearby I think we spent a lot of money. But I believe that definitely worths..
Location is the best part of the beach..
Foot massage was the best I have experienced before.
Staff are very friendly and polite..
Also pick-up services from and to the airport is top class.

Room Tip: Try to book the nearest rooms to the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great resort with white FINE sand at your doorstep, the beach is absolutely Beautiful with blue clear water, with a stunning Sunset. Old school thatched roofed bungalows Immaculately kept with white fine sand leading up to your doorway. Staff is very friendly and helpful which makes it more enjoyable. This is our second time here, and will be returning. The best time to come is March, April and May for the warmer days with no Rain just clear blue skies. This place is an absolute Gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very friendly ,easy staff ,always there to help you.Delicious coctails.Signature massage at the spa is recommended.If you are looking for a more quiet and clean part of the island,this is one of the loveliest places to be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Discovery Shores Boracay
#9 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#4 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monaco Suites de Boracay
Monaco Suites de Boracay
#12 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandala Spa & Resort Villas
1.4 mi away
Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday's Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday's Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay, 5608 Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friday's Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise, home to Fridays Boracay, a resort with boundless opportunities for family adventure, productive meetings and memorable special events.Perfectly positioned on Boracay's eye-catching White Beach, Fridays Boracay is a 48 room AAA resort nestled amid meticulously groomed tropical gardens and shady coconut trees. The resort offers the convenience of modern amenities combined with the natural charm of a beachfront setting making it one of the Philippines most sought after vacation spot. Its magnificent beach front, delectable food, pleasant and inviting rooms, and its warm & friendly employees make it the ultimate choice in Boracay. Since 1982, it has been the favorite vacation place and home to all its various guests. Welcome to our little piece of paradise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Friday's Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Fridays Resort Boracay
Fridays Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday's Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.