We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday's Boracay

Save Saved
You added Friday's Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday's Boracay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1, White Beach, Central Hwy. | Pinaungon, Brgy. Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 132 hotels in Boracay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Best on the beach!
Jojo an AG are the best beach-waiter you could find, high level of intelligent service!

We did not actually stay at the resort but hang out on their beach and ate at their restaurant which probably are top three on the island -the European chef that was there at the time is both good and service-minded at a high level.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    128
    25
    19
    7
See reviews for
87
180
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first visit to Boracay, and one of my traveling companions chose Friday's. This is a first class property, safe and secure, spacious and comfortable rooms, ideal location for a more laid-back vacation, a decent restaurant, but for the high price I felt that a few minor details were neglected. Only one room key was issued; that means friends can't split up without coordinating to get back into the room. My room was large, with windows on 3 sides, but it could have used a low table or something to place my suitcase on; instead I had to put it on the floor when I was rummaging through it. A minor detail, but that's what you pay the big bucks for. The room safe was a metal box that was not anchored to anything. There was plenty of hot water in the shower (even 3 floors up), but the shower head was not adjustable. Bugs are persistant (unwanted) visitors; while the staff was attentive and helpful when notified, gaps in the door and windows left opportunites for ants and a tiny scorpion to make their way into my room, and the mosquito netting over the bed was not just for decoration.

Don't misinterpret, Friday's is beautiful, spacious, secluded, convenient with a very attentive staff. The property is adjacent to a large and gorgeous beach, amply supplied with comfortable, shaded loungers. I did not avail myself of the service, but spa treatments and massage were offered at reasonable rates. There is a helpful activities shop on site, and a lovely pool. Breakfast was good, and the dinner buffet with traditional folk dance was a bit pricey, but the food was excellent both in variety and quality, and the dancers were entertaining. A great honeymoon hotel, a bit separated from the crazy nightlife at Station 2, but close enough to walk (at least at low tide).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place was recommended to us by friends and we were so right to follow their advice. Had a wonderful stay with 2 kids (4 & 7yo).

Plenty of activities to do for families and couples. Absolutely amazing staff, From transfer boy, to front desk ladies and waiters and housekeepers. Special mention to their new chef Luciano who is as great with kids as he is mastering his kitchen.

What we loved
Location (quiet) yet not far from night life if you want to
Beautiful ensemble of cottages literally on the white sand beach
The staff (all of them)

What we thought could be improved
Breakfast service a bit slow indeed, maybe a breakfast buffet would do it better
That's it... Can't think of anything else significant...


If what you need is a place where you leave your worries and shoes at the doorstep for your entire stay, think no longer, this it the one.

Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at Fridays. We had one of the rooms just off the beach which was perfect. The beach was beautiful and we spent most our time there. The service was a bit slow at breakfast, but the waiters and manager did what they could to keep things going. Food was good and hot when it was served and we had a great view so I can't really complain. The buffet dinners were priced too high so we chose to eat out each night, the food did look good though. Would have been nice if we were given the option to order off the menu if we wanted. Overall a great vacation and I would recommend Fridays to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been to Boracay Island several times and each time, I always try a new hotel. So 2 months ago, it's Friday's, and yes, this is, I think, the best spot in the long stretch of white beach. Wide powdery sand in front of the resort, with many beach benches to relax on.....just your perfect holiday.

The rooms are very nice as well, the concept is a traditional Filipino dwelling, but with a modern touch. We stayed in a deluxe room and it is just perfect, very near the beach and the resort restaurant and front-desk. The more expensive rooms are on top level of the resort, which, they say, have the best view of the white beach. But personally, I prefer our room because I'm not so fond of climbing the stairs going to the elevated level of the resort. It is closer to the main road, 'though. I only wish the staff were more accommodating. I mean, they were helpful enough, it's just that you have to call their attention first before they respond. (I guess I am just used to hotel staff who are sensitive to their guests needs, but not intrusive).

Breakfast is a set menu. For 2 mornings we were there, I ordered the typical Filipino breakfast, which (sorry, but being a kitchen person myself, I have to write this) needs a lot of improvement. Anyway, you haven't heard me complain, because the staff in the restaurant were friendly enough. But I think it's only the Filipino set, because the other sets look yummy.

Overall, the experience was very good and definitely worth going back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful beaches with caring and service minded people.
We received one of their best rooms - top class nothing to complain about. The cleaning lady was very nice and brilliant in here work. As I understood there is rooms which need rebuilt. The food and executive chef together which the management people and staff was very nice and helpful. We likened Fridays very much!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at Friday's Boracay for 5 nights with a group of friends over NYE 12/13. We paid approx. $600pn and were obviously expecting a wonderful experience given the cost of the accommodation. Unfortunately we were all bitterly disappointed:

1. The Rooms - needed to be updated about 10yrs ago - they are dated, the beds are either rock hard or lumpy and soft, the pressure in the shower is the same as a baby dribbling on your head and the water is either scalding hot or freezing cold. The hair dryers may or may not work and when our air conditioning started to leak onto the television cords, maintenance simply covered the cords with a towel... very safe.
2. Reception - When we originally booked we were staying 2 people to a room. Unfortunately a couple of friends were unable to come and the configuration changed and we had 3 people stay in 1 room and 1 person in the other (there were 3 beds in 1 room so this was achievable without the need for a roll away). When we asked reception for an additional key (a request that they refused - you only get 1 key per room) they said tht they would need to charge us extra for the 2nd room (even though it had 3 beds in it and were already charging us $600per night!). in the end we were not charged the extra amount but that was because we protested loudly. It certainly left a bad taste in our mouths for the rest of the trip.
3. Don't expect anything to work - from the DVD player to the phones to the hair dryers to the TV's - if it works then feel privileged because it is an exception and not the rule at Friday's.
4. When ordering food or drink from the bar/restaurant, 9 times out of 10 the staff did not have us sign receipts confirming which room the beverage/food was to be charged to. As a result, there were items charged to our room that were not consumed by people staying in that room.
5. Room Service - don't expect your food to come in a hurry. One evening, we ordered a pizza from room service; 30 mins later there was a knock at our door which we expected it to be our food. Our expectations were clearly too high as the person at the door was simply delivering a message - the kitchen had no pizza dough...
6. Beach towels - are as rare as hens teeth - there are 2 deliveries of clean beach towels each day - I recommend you stock up in the morning as you won't get any until the 4pm delivery... even though the resort is a beach resort.
7. We booked our accommodation at Friday's months in advance because we were told that there was a waiting list, which is why we were willing to pay such high prices (thinking that it was a 5-star resort). When we arrived there were vacant rooms that a couple of friends (who decided to come at the last minute) stayed in for $300per night less than what we had paid!

A couple of positive comments - Jojo and the activities team were an absolute pleasure to deal with. The location of the resort is really good and the beach is lovely. We had a very fun new years eve dinner even if the majority of the food was cold.

It would have cost us an additional $100 per night to stay at the Shangri la (which is heaven on earth) - pay the extra money and stay there. Otherwise go for a cheaper option - at least you won't be bitterly disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at the Shangri La
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FridaysBoracay, General Manager at Friday's Boracay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear SEK_1010,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Whilst you were obviously disappointed and unhappy with certain aspects of your stay, I am happy to hear you did have some positive experiences. We have taken note of your comments and will work to improve on your points of concern.. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. And certainly paying $600.00 per night our guests have certain expectations of Fridays Boracay, we can only but strive to meet these in the future, again thank you for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday's Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday's Boracay

Address: Station 1, White Beach, Central Hwy. | Pinaungon, Brgy. Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friday's Boracay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise, home to Fridays Boracay, a resort with boundless opportunities for family adventure, productive meetings and memorable special events.Perfectly positioned on Boracay's eye-catching White Beach, Fridays Boracay is a 48 room AAA resort nestled amid meticulously groomed tropical gardens and shady coconut trees. The resort offers the convenience of modern amenities combined with the natural charm of a beachfront setting making it one of the Philippines most sought after vacation spot. Its magnificent beach front, delectable food, pleasant and inviting rooms, and its warm & friendly employees make it the ultimate choice in Boracay. Since 1982, it has been the favorite vacation place and home to all its various guests. Welcome to our little piece of paradise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Friday's Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Fridays Resort Boracay
Fridays Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday's Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.