We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fridays - the days are never boring :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday's Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Friday's Boracay to your Saves list
Friday's Boracay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay, 5608 Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Only Promo
Ranked #40 of 136 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fridays - the days are never boring :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful beaches with caring and service minded people.
We received one of their best rooms - top class nothing to complain about. The cleaning lady was very nice and brilliant in here work. As I understood there is rooms which need rebuilt. The food and executive chef together which the management people and staff was very nice and helpful. We likened Fridays very much!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    135
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
95
198
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at Friday's Boracay for 5 nights with a group of friends over NYE 12/13. We paid approx. $600pn and were obviously expecting a wonderful experience given the cost of the accommodation. Unfortunately we were all bitterly disappointed:

1. The Rooms - needed to be updated about 10yrs ago - they are dated, the beds are either rock hard or lumpy and soft, the pressure in the shower is the same as a baby dribbling on your head and the water is either scalding hot or freezing cold. The hair dryers may or may not work and when our air conditioning started to leak onto the television cords, maintenance simply covered the cords with a towel... very safe.
2. Reception - When we originally booked we were staying 2 people to a room. Unfortunately a couple of friends were unable to come and the configuration changed and we had 3 people stay in 1 room and 1 person in the other (there were 3 beds in 1 room so this was achievable without the need for a roll away). When we asked reception for an additional key (a request that they refused - you only get 1 key per room) they said tht they would need to charge us extra for the 2nd room (even though it had 3 beds in it and were already charging us $600per night!). in the end we were not charged the extra amount but that was because we protested loudly. It certainly left a bad taste in our mouths for the rest of the trip.
3. Don't expect anything to work - from the DVD player to the phones to the hair dryers to the TV's - if it works then feel privileged because it is an exception and not the rule at Friday's.
4. When ordering food or drink from the bar/restaurant, 9 times out of 10 the staff did not have us sign receipts confirming which room the beverage/food was to be charged to. As a result, there were items charged to our room that were not consumed by people staying in that room.
5. Room Service - don't expect your food to come in a hurry. One evening, we ordered a pizza from room service; 30 mins later there was a knock at our door which we expected it to be our food. Our expectations were clearly too high as the person at the door was simply delivering a message - the kitchen had no pizza dough...
6. Beach towels - are as rare as hens teeth - there are 2 deliveries of clean beach towels each day - I recommend you stock up in the morning as you won't get any until the 4pm delivery... even though the resort is a beach resort.
7. We booked our accommodation at Friday's months in advance because we were told that there was a waiting list, which is why we were willing to pay such high prices (thinking that it was a 5-star resort). When we arrived there were vacant rooms that a couple of friends (who decided to come at the last minute) stayed in for $300per night less than what we had paid!

A couple of positive comments - Jojo and the activities team were an absolute pleasure to deal with. The location of the resort is really good and the beach is lovely. We had a very fun new years eve dinner even if the majority of the food was cold.

It would have cost us an additional $100 per night to stay at the Shangri la (which is heaven on earth) - pay the extra money and stay there. Otherwise go for a cheaper option - at least you won't be bitterly disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at the Shangri La
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FridaysBoracay, General Manager at Friday's Boracay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear SEK_1010,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Whilst you were obviously disappointed and unhappy with certain aspects of your stay, I am happy to hear you did have some positive experiences. We have taken note of your comments and will work to improve on your points of concern.. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. And certainly paying $600.00 per night our guests have certain expectations of Fridays Boracay, we can only but strive to meet these in the future, again thank you for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After booking and being completely screwed around by the Pearl of the Pacific we transferred here, after 2 days out of a 7 day stay I am already compelled to review this place. I just can't fault it, the room was magnificent, the food superb, the service outstanding. It's at the best end of station 1, quiet and a short walk down to the mall & station 2 activities. With three visits to Boracay under my belt we could not get into our regular hotel so we chose Pearl of the Pacific (huge mistake). thankfully they gave our booking there to someone else and we were left hotel'less...it was an omen...Fridays will now be the new hotel of choice in Boracay.

Room Tip: If you want space go for the premium suites, they are up a few steps from the beach but well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ok we loved this place and decided to stay here after seeing how one could just totally forget about life and relax at this resort. From the moment you arrive at Caticlan airport you are wisked away to your transfer away from the hustle of the main pier and will be at the resort 45mins to 1hr from landing.
On arrival you will instantly feel the pace of Fridays and enjoy it for what it is. It is a simple 3 star property with a real island feel that you will not discover anywhere else in Boracay! The rooms are in desperate need of renovation, however this adds to the charm of the resort you will begin to love and it has a feel it has not been renovated since opening! The rooms need to be gutted and resigned still keeping inline with the theme of a true beach hut, and once they have done this they would get a 5 star rating. Simplicity is the biggest love of Fridays.
You will be bare footed or with flip flops for your entire stay and stroll between your room, the deck chair and the turquoise water all within 50 meters. The beach area directly in front of Fridays is THE BEST on the 4mile stretch along White Sand Beach and in all our travels it is the best and calmest beach you will ever come across, therefore perfect for young children or to lay in the water with your partner.
Fridays is overpriced if you take into consideration the standard of the rooms, but once you get past that you forget all about it. If not staying at the resort they allow a limited number of outside guests to rent the beach deckchairs with a minimum spend of 500 peso per person (that's just a lunch or a 6 beers!). If you want modern and a an apartment feel Discover Shores next door is great but lacks any character.
You can either walk along the beach for 20mins to the bars and D'Mall or a trike will set you back 50 peso during the day or 75 at night. If you want a massage in town the best place to go would be Pallasa Spa (above the crepe place on the beachfront) for a massage with fans and open air views of the water will set you back just 350 peso.

Room Tip: The best rooms to have are either room 1 or 29 as these are the closest to the beach on the ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Friday's is a fantastic resort on White Beach in Boracay. The location is brilliant if you want to get a little out of the way of the bars and noisier part of the island. But not too far! It was the perfect location... The beach is quieter, the water is amazing. I've stayed at Friday's twice, more recently in the Premier suite. These rooms are newer, great bathroom but still with the traditional feel that Friday's offers. The only bit I could complain about is the food but that seems to be a little average in general.

Room Tip: The premier suite is spacious, at the back of the property, quite a few steps up from ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fridays is a wonderfully rustic resort set on a beautiful stretch of White Beach. I think using the list system is the best to determine if it is the place for you.

PROS:

* The resort is wonderfully situated on the far end of White Beach. The water is the blue you see in the pictures and the sand is white and powdery.

* You can walk to station 2 (to D'Mall where most of the restaurants and shops are) along the beach and it will only take you 10 - 15 mins. It's HOT but you can always take a dip in the water on the way or stop at Jonah's fruit shakes~!

It's funny because as you travel along to station 2 (where all the action is) there is a noticeable change in the sand and water. It's not "dirty" per say, but as you approach the busy sections it's a lot more crowded, the sand isn't as white and the water not as clear. It's also clustered with quite a lot of boats yachts etc. I'm really glad we stayed where we did! It was only 60 peso to get into one of those tricycle things to take us to station 2 when we felt too lazy to walk!

* Service is fantastic. All the staff are always ready with a smile - extremely hospitable and friendly.

* Bathroom was HUGE. It just added to the luxurious feel.

* The special little Friday's touches! Every night a little box of chocolates was delivered to our room/left on our bed with a little good night note written on a leaf.

CONS

* Lots and lots of stairs to get to the Premier Suite! Which is a pro and a con! We're pretty fit and we definitely felt the burn sometimes however The Premier suites are right at the top and nice and quiet.

* From what I can see, Fridays really isn't your cheapest option. It's no where near as expensive as the Shangri La expensive but a little pricey in comparison.

* There is no 'gym' for the gym bunnys.

* There is also no 'day spa' although this wasn't an issue for us - you can get a massage just about everywhere you turn in Boracay.

All in all. I think this resort, as well as Discovery Shores has the best frontage and the best location. They're both on the beautiful side of white beach but still a short distance away from the fun and noise. It really is a stylistic choice. Fridays is all about the rustic like appearance (thatched roofs, mosquito nets over the bed) but if you're after the sleek modern marble look it won't be your thing!

Room Tip: Go the premier suite if you're indulging! It was great having a room that was so wonderfully spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fridays is situated at the quite end of Boracay beach. The accomadation I thought was decorated very nice and felt romantic.
Boracay is situated at the quiet end of the beach ,so it was lovely walking along the beach in the evening, to many reastaurants and bars.
There is a lot to do during the day i.e. catching a boat to go snorkling,and there is the local bus to take you around the villages near by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday's Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday's Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Boracay Island, Malay, 5608 Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friday's Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise, home to Fridays Boracay, a resort with boundless opportunities for family adventure, productive meetings and memorable special events.Perfectly positioned on Boracay's eye-catching White Beach, Fridays Boracay is a 48 room AAA resort nestled amid meticulously groomed tropical gardens and shady coconut trees. The resort offers the convenience of modern amenities combined with the natural charm of a beachfront setting making it one of the Philippines most sought after vacation spot. Its magnificent beach front, delectable food, pleasant and inviting rooms, and its warm & friendly employees make it the ultimate choice in Boracay. Since 1982, it has been the favorite vacation place and home to all its various guests. Welcome to our little piece of paradise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friday's Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Fridays Resort Boracay
Fridays Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday's Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.