We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seawind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Wind Boracay Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Wind Boracay Island to your Saves list
Sea Wind Boracay Island
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Roberto and Gloria Tirol Park Balabag, Boracay Island, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Planet Venus
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Seawind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

Here's our experience with Seawind.

1. Service was great and attentive, and everyone made guests feel at home yet they were not intrusive.

2. Rooms
booked 2 rooms - 1 super deluxe bamboo room and 1 triple sharing deluxe room.

BE AWARE - the only advantage the bamboo room had to offer was it was beach fronting - period.

The deluxe room, because it was a triple share, had an even bigger and spacious floor area than the bamboo room, and had newer fittings.

Although it did not front the beach area, it was still within the beach area. The front desk explained that the bigger deluxe room was provided because it was a triple sharing arrangement.

plus the bamboo room was very warm and had a lot of mozzies and other creepy crawlies !!!!!!!

And to think we paid US120 a night for the super deluxe bamboo room. It wasn't worth it !

3. Downside
If there was a function further down the beach, then all the rooms on the beach would be shaking and vibrating from the sound system and this could last until the wee hours. The only thing Seawind had to offer when we were there was sorry sorry sorry- and that wasn't good enough.

Overall
I would definitely stay again in Seawind. but i would consider getting a better option than the bamboo room. also i would inquire about the functions booked at the resort because i cannot go through five days of thump thump thump going on throughout the nite. that's not my idea of a vacation. if i wanted an atmosphere that would be like a disco i would have stayed in manila's nightspots instead.

stay away from the bamboo room if you are looking for some comfort. anyways even it was supposed to be rustic - i still thought it was not worth the money we paid for. the sales/reservation should at least have given us an idea about how room configuration would be like.

Other Notes.

The water fronting station 1 had a lot of seaweeds or "lumot". i was told that this was due to overall waste management issues in boracay.

Stay away from the restaurant in Waling Waling. It was wonderful place to eat the year before but now it is overpriced and not up to scratch compared to the many other options available.

station 1 was more peaceful than the other 2 stations. when you get out of the resort you see the beach and the water unlike the other 2 stations when you get out of your hotel you see stalls and stalls of people selling something. station 2 and 3 is definitely for people looking for gimiks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
66
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mailjen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2005

Boracay was wonderful. White sand beach. Nice sunset. Affordable.

We stayed at Sea Wind Resort (Station 1) last November 2004. 2 beds, hot shower, tv, private balcony, the room we got was beach front and it wasn't across the street. The weather was just perfect. One hour back body massage for 300 Php or about $12. Nothing could be that, as you face the sunset at 5 p.m. and getting a nice back massage. Also, jetskiing during sunset is beautiful. It was only 1500 Php ($30) or so for 30 minutes. The experience is more than enough. It really feels as if you're riding into the sunset and you don't want to come back.

The package we got was $420 that includes airfare from Manila to Caticlan, boat transfers, 3 days/2 night stay with 2 free breakfasts. Buffet breakfasts were great. We would be so stuffed with the abundance of all the good food. But a nice walk along the beach with just our feet getting wet, we don't feel so bloated anymore. Definitely should wear sunblock though if walking during midday.

At night, we would go to different restaurants and they offered good food. A good meal for two would be about 1000 Php (incl. drinks) ($20). We ate at Jay's Movie bar and Restaurant. Also try, Joni's Restaurant.
Do not try the mais con hielo at Waling Waling. They restaurant may look nice. But their mais con hielo wasn't good at all.

Up to now, I have not been to a better place than Boracay. We loved our stay at Sea Wind and we would stay there again. We love the restaurants that lined the beach by station 2 and 3. The white sand was great. The water was perfect temperature. Even if I'm so far out into the sea, I can still see my feet clearly. Water is so clear and relaxing. It really is a place to have a real vacation. I'm not the party all night type. So going to the popular Cocomangas wasn't a priority. So instead, I laid down on the hammock by Sea Wind resort's front and I fell asleep underneath the stars.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, bc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2005

Seawind is located in station 1, far away from the busy local shopping and restaurants. It is yet very easy and convenient to access shopping and restaurants when needed. If you are looking for great service, a bit of peace and quite and a magnificant white beach., we recommend Seawind. The food is also excellent, specially the evening buffet, which is by far the best deal in town. Fresh seafood, pasta and all kinds of grilled food for under US$10.

The rooms are clean and adequate, not internaitonal hotel chain standards, but acceptable and fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2004

I am writing this review with the preface that all comments are relative to a third world country beach resort.
First of all the positives, the value of the resort is very good. My wife and I went Nov. 29-Dec. 3, 2004 and stayed at the Sea Wind for 4d/3n for Approx. US$535.00. Although we had to stay an extra night (US$60.00) due to the typhoon that cancelled our flight. This included the airfare (Asian Spirit), transfers, lodging, and breakfast. We reserved a room that had a single queen size bed and a airconditioned room. The a/c work very well, the room was clean and well cared for. The bathroom had good hot water. We had a private balcony but no view. The swinmming pool came in handy when the typhoon hit. The staff (Mae and Nor at the front desk) were very helpful and polite, specially with the typhoon cancelling our flight. They really kept us informed. The area of the resort is by boat station 1, this is the best beach area of the the entire strip. It has a very wide beach and is not as crowded and populated as the beach areas by stations 2 and 3. Basically, any area left of Willy's Rock as your facing the beach, is the best sand and area.
The negatives, against US standard of restaurant service, food quality and presentation, the resort rates below average. There are better restaurants in the area, Friday's or Waling-Waling. The rear of the resort from the hallway of our room, looked like it had not been cleaned of garbage, walls have not been painted and construction that had been abandoned. We also were appoached by multiple vendors selling the same things within the resort property (annoying). There was not much of a night life or bar scene at the resort, but a 5-10 minute walk took care of this. For the weaker stomachs, I recommend only drink bottled water. DO NOT drink anything with ice, this is not bottled water ice. My wife got very ill from drinking a coke with ice. This advise would for the entire country.
In conclusion I would advise, if you do not have a Hawaii, Florida or Cancun level of expectation going in, you will have a good time. Again, relative to the other resorts in Boracay, Sea Wind is a better than most but not the best. Knowing this I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Wind Boracay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Wind Boracay Island

Address: 1 Roberto and Gloria Tirol Park Balabag, Boracay Island, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Wind Boracay Island 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sea Wind Boracay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Wind Boracay Island Hotel Boracay
Sea Wind Resort Boracay
Sea Wind Hotel Boracay
Seawind Resort Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Wind Boracay Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.