We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in beautiful Boracay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Regency

Save Saved
You added Boracay Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boracay Regency
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2 Balabag, 2004, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stay in beautiful Boracay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had a great time in Boracay with my wife, thanks to the lovely stay at this amazing property.

Things that i loved about this property :
1) the rooms are nice and spacious
2) I loved the pool with a drinks bar. Awesome place to enjoy a drink with your partner
3) Buffet breakfast is lavish.

One thing that can be improved is the free wifi connection that should be available all across the property, irrespective of room type.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    334
    115
    38
    31
See reviews for
260
260
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

No one has been to the White Beach on Boracay can forget the sheer smooth stretch of white sand deliciously welcoming your tired feet. To have a hotel right on this stretch made up for anything else. But not that there was anything to make up for.

Getting to hotel is not the easiest of tasks, and best undertaken in the spirit of an adventure. The usual way, and I did that, is the take a flight out of Manila to Caticlan – it’s a short flight of about an hour. Boracay has no airport! On disembarking, hotel staff at the airport direct you to their van, which after a short ride brings you to a jetty. A short wait later, you get your ride, a speed boat that slices quite fast through the water to Station 2, where you again get on a bus that another short ride later, takes you to your destination!

Well, the hotel is large, but lovely nonetheless. The renovated rooms on the North Wing, straight behind the reception block, offered a lovely view of the hotel and the central pool, and was great to relax in. The room was great too, spacious, tastefully done, had a lovely table topped with fresh cut pinkish orchids, a lovely floral stucco pattern over the bed, a well stocked washroom, enough charging points. For the highlights were a great balcony with another set of chairs and round table – and one could have happily spent hours relaxing there, and a well stocked welcome food platter – a combination of fruits and chocolates, great after a long journey! And yes, the room comes stocked with flip flops and other beach necessities.

The resort is beautiful, has four pools to choose from, besides the sea next door of course. There are a number of lovely restaurants, though I liked Seabreeze best. As the name suggests, it overlooked the sea, and had an extensive menu to choose from, be it breakfast or dinner. The downside, its extreme popularity meant it was noisy and crowded right in the morning! You might just have to wait in queue for your omelette or waffles or conjee, but did I mention it is a lavish spread? Christina’s is a bit overated for fine dining, especially as the hotel offers other choices, and the beachfront has a number of great choices too. The entry to the lounge was a bit of challenge each time has someone had to come and open the door to let us in, but once it, it was a nice place to relax in, and read.

The staff was generally very friendly, especially the GM. As were the room service guys. The hotel helps in making all arrangement for water and beach activities, and seems to have reliable vendors. Boracay is great holiday destination, and staying in a great hotel only adds to the pleasure.

Room Tip: North Wing rooms better, and take higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked and PAID FOR IN FULL (inclusive of surcharge for Peak Dates) for our Dec 26 to Dec 29, 2012 vacation THREE (3) MONTHS IN ADVANCE.
Unfortunately, weather wasn't conducive for travel as there was a declared typhoon in the area and vacationers were advised not to fly/sail.
As you would have to fly and sail just to get to the island from Manila, prudence would dictate not to risk it.

But adding insult to injury, this resort would rebook only one (1) night out of the 3 nights we already paid for in full, and provided we schedule it off-peak days only, and before March 27, 2013 -- even if we paid for PEAK rates.

Who in the right mind would fly all the way for 1 night of stay?! All they wanted us to do is to spend more money by booking several days again to make the travel worthwhile.

Clearly, this money pit of a place is neither interested on customer safety, nor customer satisfaction.
They are only interested on getting paid for service they didn't even render.

What's more, the Director for Sales and Marketing Ms. Isabel Garcia was plainly indifferent to our concern, and was even hostile to a point.

Better avoid this money trap!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We deeply regret that you haven't pushed thru with your reservation. Cancellation/No-Show policy is clearly stated with your booking confirmation. All of our expected guests on that day showed up in the resort, even those with international connecting flights. Flights that was cancelled for Caticlan airport was accommodated/diverted to another nearby airport which is Kalibo. With the short notice that you cannot arrive, we no longer have time to sell your reserved room. During this peak season, all guests coming to Boracay have already booked their stay therefore chances of walk-in guests are close to none. I would want to believe that you have travelled for alot of times already and understands cancellation/no-show policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect. We went with friends to celebrate New Years and their renewal of vows. Our friend had been to this resort a few times and raved about it. First two nights we were in the junior suite and it was the best part of the stay. We had a welcome fruit basket brought to our room. Free wifi, though it was super slow...except near the bathroom. We had to switch out to a swim up room for the remainder of the trip. It was ok. You can totally feel the downgrade.

The service was...aside from Izzy at the front desk, and the events planner, terrible. Slow everywhere we went. And I felt so nickeled and dimed, I was getting annoyed.

New Year's Eve was a complete disaster. The potential for a storm wasn't well thought out. There was no back up plan. We had a table outside of the tent, by the stage and pretty much felt as though we had to fend for ourselves and there were 8 of us plus a baby. All of a sudden the waitstaff just disappeared. We took two empty tables under the tent and I felt bad for the surrounding tables because we overtook their space. The food at this point was dismal. The meat stations had to be shut down. The sushi cart was moved to be closer under one of the tents....but it was moved to a spot where they were trying to connect two separate tents and it was soaking wet it looked disgusting. Because of where we ended up sitting, underneath the two tents, when it was pouring out, we had to sit under umbrellas, under the tents. Imagine trying to eat while holding an umbrella.

When I tried to call to complain about that evening and heard that people were getting either bottles of wine or free wifi, I ended the first call getting nothing but anguish. The person said that the most they could offer us was free breakfast....which was already included in our package. She ended the call with what seemed like a smile, which infuriated me more. We travelled all the way from Canada, which took us over 40 hours of planes, boats, and whatever else, and she wasn't willing to satisfy a disgruntled customer. I called back, demanding to speak to someone that I can file a complaint with, and was directed to izzy, at the front desk. She wanted to know what was wrong and I didn't have to say much, all we wanted was free wifi, and we managed to get it without further issues. She explained that I was speaking to the wrong person before and I asked why this person couldn't just direct me to the right person instead of frustrate me?

The vow renewal went without a hitch, and was a perfect evening. Because of the NYE disaster, the event planner (name slipped from memory), more than made up for it, making our friends day more special.

Service at the restaurants was ok. Christina's was terrible. We went for breakfast a couple of times and the last day, I had to walk up to a waiter and ask him if they would take our order as we had been waiting for 25 min. I get that the food is included in our package, but we wasted so much time just trying to eat breakfast! We decided to go there for our last night. It was the fine dining spot. It was just my boyfriend and I. Since we had to pay, I thought that maybe the service would be better. Nope. A table of four was seated a good 15 minutes after us, and while we waited for them to take our order, we watched this table get their drinks ordered first, and when their food order was taken before ours, I think our waiter heard me say how terrible the service is, and if they don't take our order in the next 2 minutes, we are leaving, even though we were starving, he promptly turned from that table that came after us and took our order. When I went to tell the front desk this at checkout, I didn't have to finish what I was saying about the slow service. She already knew, and with a smile, that I felt was condescending, she said that it was slow because its fine dining, so she believes that service should be slow. My boyfriend proceeded to get into more details of our frustration and still greeted with the same smile, but added she would take that up with the manager.

The beachfront is nice, which they would do without the tent. The water was full if seaweed.

Would I return to the Regency? Doubt it. Would I return to Boracay? We are just wrapping up the last leg of our Trip through Asia...and truthfully, after being where I have just been, I think Boracay is the last on my list.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a balanced review. We sincerely apologize for the untoward incidents that you have experienced with us. We have already planned out in extending the tents for next year's celebration. As for the breakfast incident in Christina's, you came at a time that it was on its full capacity and guests had poured in all at the same time as well. Nonetheless, we will definitely retrain our staff in dealing with this kind of occurrence. Lastly, Algae have been a yearly happening eversince the time of our grandparents and it was even thicker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at this property for 3 nights in December and had travelled via Kalibo from Manila. We had booked our transfers via the hotel. Big mistake!!! The transfer arrangements were fine. It was the travelling time. From Manila, it was an hour flight to Kalibo airport. From there, we boarded a bus that took us to Caticlan (this took two hours!). When we arrived in Caticlan, we boarded a small mini van owned by Boracy Regency which took us to a special waiting area used exclusively by Boracay Regency guests where we had to wait for about 15 minutes to board our ferry to the island. The ferry that we got on was owned and operated by the hotel and was for hotel guests only. It was clean and new. I was told later on by my brother that they had to go on a dirty and gross ferry that they had to share with other guests from other hotels (they stayed at Tides Hotel by the way). The ferry ride took about 15 minutes. As i've said no problems with the transfer arrangements. Travelling with two small kids ( a 2 and a 4 year old) and having to transfer from one mode of transportation to another plus factoring in the heat and the crowd was a nightmare. We were so tired by the time we got to the hotel. Luckily check in was a breeze! :)

There were welcome drinks on arrival whilst we check in. Check in wasn't until 3pm but because we arrived early (around 12-ish) the room wasn't ready yet. We ate at McDonalds (which is located in the property itself (a big bonus) and was literally a 2 minute walk from our room. After lunch they rang to tell us that our room was ready well before the 3 pm check in. We stayed in one of their deluxe rooms on the second floor which had a queen bed and single bed combination. The room was big and roomy (plenty of space for my 4 and 2 year olds to run around!). It was very clean and everything was in good working condition. I was told that the property was one of the first hotels on the island. You couldn't tell by looking at the property as it was clean and well maintained. The beds were nice and comfortable. The aircon was cool and more than adequate. No flat screen in the room though, they had one of the older style boxy type tv. We didn't mind this though, as long as it worked and my kids could watch cartoons, it was fine. The bathroom was good with a rainwater style shower head. The room was cleaned everyday and I couldn't say enough about the Housekeeping team. They were very friendly!

Breakfast was included in our room and was downstairs at the restaurant. The buffet was amazing and we were spoilt for choice. They had the usual fare of bacon, eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc. But also had congee, rice and about 3-4 filipino dishes that were just delicious. They changed the Filipino dishes everyday for variety which was nice. Breakfast could get a bit crowded but the ladies out front always managed to get a table for us.

The property has, has from memory, about 4 very well maintained pools. The pools were lovely and we spent a good portion of our time there. The hotel is located in Station 2 which is the hub of all the action in Boracay island. Restaurants and bars are only a stone's throw from us which was very convenient and as the hotel is beachfront, we didn't have to walk very far. I have to say though, that the beach at Station 1 is a lot nicer. It is a bit further out and there are not that many restaurants and bars there. The water is clearer there (I saw more than a few seaweeds at station 2 and virtually next to nothing at station 1) and the beaches are cleaner. Not as crowded too. It was a good 20 minute walk from our hotel (relaxed pace with frequent stops to look at some shells - thanks to the kids). Otherwise, you can take a tricycle (similar to a tuktuk in Thailand( which is only about 60 pesos (less than AUD2) and it takes you less than 5 minutes.

There is also a supermarket at D'Mall. We stocked up on water and snacks for the kids and juices for us. Btw, the mini fridge in the room is empty so you have plenty of space to cool drinks in there! Side note: we also ate at this Modern Filipino fusion restaurant called 'Mesa' right next to the hotel. The food was tasty and we really enjoyed it. Steer clear of the freshly squeezed orange juice- very sour!

We also booked a couple of activities via the hotel. Reception was accommodating and knowledgeable. It is so much cheaper to get it from one of the many guys offering you tours at the beach. However, since we couldn't be bothered paying cash upfront for such huge amounts, we opted to book it through the hotel and it was charged to our room. We did the ATV (quad bike ride - highly recommended!!! You go on the local road and ride for 20 minutes to this amazing lookout where you can see the whole island - great photo ops here!), parasailing (excellent!) and reef walking (This is particularly crucial - make sure you go through a licensed and legit provider as we heard that some of them use compressors (a definite no no as your oxygen could get cut off whilst you're down there. The receptionist who booked it for us even made a phone call to the service provider to check prior to booking).

Another tip: My hubby found a bar in Boracay that offered happy hour from 4pm to 9pm. He couldn't remember the name but that it was only a few properties from our hotel. needless to say, he was extremely happy. Also the ladies offering beachfront massages near the property are nothing short of amazing. They are all older ladies with years of experience behind them. Cheap and one of the best massages I've had in a while. They are open til midnight - I had mine every night after the kids went to bed!) I'd go back just for the massages! :)

All in all, a wonderful 3 day stay in a beautiful location. We could not ask for more. Would we go back? Yes, in a heartbeat. Would we stay at Boracay Regency again? Yes, most definitely. The only change I would make is to make sure we take a direct flight to Caticlan next time. This way, we skip the 2 hour bus ride from hell. BTW, the ride back was even worse. The driver drove like a mad man and I felt so car sick 20 minutes in (and I never get nauseous). I recommend going direct especially if you have small kids. Have fun.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are lovely and give you great access. Another family member stayed in a family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Don't know how to start really.
Their Superior room is the lowest grade of room they have,
Crowded.
Not very clean.
Noisy.
Rooms poor.
Pools not big enough.
Attached to a MacDonalds-probably enough said for the review.
Reception manager -Lady named Lima laughed when we complained that the "Superior" room was terrible.
We checked out early and went to another hotel.
Breakfast was horrible.
They couldn't even make a Halo Halo-a national drink

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Just would like to point out that this review is not well thought of. First of all, our Superior room is the lowest category in our room offerings but not the lowest of grade. This only indicates that you have high expectation for a minimal amount that you have paid. How can you classify our rooms to be poor when all the basic amenities are a standard in every room category that we have? Secondly, which resort in Boracay are you comparing our swimming pools not being big enough? We can proudly say that we have the most number of swimming pools in the Island and the biggest as well. As for the food outlets, aren't you glad that we have alot of choices for different budgets that are within the hotel premises? Again, I do not know where you are coming from when you say that our breakfast is horrible. We have an extensive array of internationally accepted breakfast menu as evidenced by alot of reviews raving about it. And lastly, do you really know what is a Halo-Halo? It is not a drink, its a dessert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family planned a very last minute trip to Boracay so had few hotel options. We ended up splitting the trip between two hotels, which were similarly priced and couldn't be more different.

Boracay Regency wanted us to pay in full at check-in, prior to seeing the room. 5% credit card payment add-on. We declined prepayment, which they finally accepted, and with credit card imprint.

There are signs everywhere that you will be charged for damage to linens, if you don't return swim towels. This I can understand, but it was stated in such a heavily handed way, I found it offensive and excessive especially given the almost $300 per night price tag. They asked me to sign a document when I received 3 bedsheets from housekeeping, which were necessary given that the beds are only fitted with heavy duvets, not suited for the tropics. The duvets-only are another price-saving device. One needs a light sheet in this climate!

Mandatory New Year's buffet which came to $175 equivalent for four (my husband and me, 9-year old and 5-year old children). Outrageous. A rain storm descended suddenly, and they weren't prepared with most tables at the beach vs under the tent. We stayed a few minutes and kids were excited by buffet, but I couldn't be bothered to stand in the line and was totally unimpressed by the few bites of food I tasted. Not fresh. Entertainment was very good.

Rooms are on top of each other. Pools are nice, but rooms are jammed in, and many rooms would be in the completely unsatisfactory category with views of the next block 2 meters away, in a high traffic area, etc.

Room prices are very high for what you get. In a different, quiet resort, we had 3x the space for almost the same price.

We registered and paid for four in the room, but at the "included" breakfast buffet, we were informed it was just for two adults and we needed to pay extra for the children.

The beach is clean, but the water is not, which is island not hotel related. Supposedly, the sewage/water treatment plant is to come online in 2014/15. As someone who has been going to the island since 1988, I can't believe they still haven't sorted this out. I am very suspicious of green algae which predominates the beach water, and my daughter got sick the last two times she swam in Boracay, and I vowed we would never again go to the island, but there you go.

Positive is that we had a place to stay in Boracay over crazy busy new year. Some fun bars and restaurants nearby. Beach atmosphere is festive.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what view/location you are getting or you may be looking at a wall of the next bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for detailing your experience with us. We definitely welcome these and continue to strive for excellence and the most value for your money.
First of all, we do not add-on 5% for credit card transactions.
We maintain a high standard of cleanliness especially with the duvet covers and linens that every guest enjoys whenever they stay with us. Getting a temporary henna tattoo is a trend in the island, however, it stains our linens and thus we have to discard it and charge a very minimal amount.
Our guest rooms are very well appointed and we also maintain about 40% of open area for gardens and public areas.
Lastly, compared to our neighboring resorts, we are proud to say that we maintain cleanliness even in our beach areas. We comb our beach every morning and afternoon. Algae have been a regular yearly occurrence eversince the time of our grandparents and it was even thicker. Also, there are no official report that it is associated with sewage as we have a sewage treatment plant in the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boracay Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Regency

Also Known As:
Boracay Regency Hotel Boracay
Boracay Regency Hotel
Address: Station 2 Balabag, 2004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Regency 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boracay Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.