We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2 Balabag, Aklan Province 2004, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 138 Hotels in Boracay
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at this property for 3 nights in December and had travelled via Kalibo from Manila. We had booked our transfers via the hotel. Big mistake!!! The transfer arrangements were fine. It was the travelling time. From Manila, it was an hour flight to Kalibo airport. From there, we boarded a bus that took us to Caticlan (this took two hours!). When we arrived in Caticlan, we boarded a small mini van owned by Boracy Regency which took us to a special waiting area used exclusively by Boracay Regency guests where we had to wait for about 15 minutes to board our ferry to the island. The ferry that we got on was owned and operated by the hotel and was for hotel guests only. It was clean and new. I was told later on by my brother that they had to go on a dirty and gross ferry that they had to share with other guests from other hotels (they stayed at Tides Hotel by the way). The ferry ride took about 15 minutes. As i've said no problems with the transfer arrangements. Travelling with two small kids ( a 2 and a 4 year old) and having to transfer from one mode of transportation to another plus factoring in the heat and the crowd was a nightmare. We were so tired by the time we got to the hotel. Luckily check in was a breeze! :)

There were welcome drinks on arrival whilst we check in. Check in wasn't until 3pm but because we arrived early (around 12-ish) the room wasn't ready yet. We ate at McDonalds (which is located in the property itself (a big bonus) and was literally a 2 minute walk from our room. After lunch they rang to tell us that our room was ready well before the 3 pm check in. We stayed in one of their deluxe rooms on the second floor which had a queen bed and single bed combination. The room was big and roomy (plenty of space for my 4 and 2 year olds to run around!). It was very clean and everything was in good working condition. I was told that the property was one of the first hotels on the island. You couldn't tell by looking at the property as it was clean and well maintained. The beds were nice and comfortable. The aircon was cool and more than adequate. No flat screen in the room though, they had one of the older style boxy type tv. We didn't mind this though, as long as it worked and my kids could watch cartoons, it was fine. The bathroom was good with a rainwater style shower head. The room was cleaned everyday and I couldn't say enough about the Housekeeping team. They were very friendly!

Breakfast was included in our room and was downstairs at the restaurant. The buffet was amazing and we were spoilt for choice. They had the usual fare of bacon, eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc. But also had congee, rice and about 3-4 filipino dishes that were just delicious. They changed the Filipino dishes everyday for variety which was nice. Breakfast could get a bit crowded but the ladies out front always managed to get a table for us.

The property has, has from memory, about 4 very well maintained pools. The pools were lovely and we spent a good portion of our time there. The hotel is located in Station 2 which is the hub of all the action in Boracay island. Restaurants and bars are only a stone's throw from us which was very convenient and as the hotel is beachfront, we didn't have to walk very far. I have to say though, that the beach at Station 1 is a lot nicer. It is a bit further out and there are not that many restaurants and bars there. The water is clearer there (I saw more than a few seaweeds at station 2 and virtually next to nothing at station 1) and the beaches are cleaner. Not as crowded too. It was a good 20 minute walk from our hotel (relaxed pace with frequent stops to look at some shells - thanks to the kids). Otherwise, you can take a tricycle (similar to a tuktuk in Thailand( which is only about 60 pesos (less than AUD2) and it takes you less than 5 minutes.

There is also a supermarket at D'Mall. We stocked up on water and snacks for the kids and juices for us. Btw, the mini fridge in the room is empty so you have plenty of space to cool drinks in there! Side note: we also ate at this Modern Filipino fusion restaurant called 'Mesa' right next to the hotel. The food was tasty and we really enjoyed it. Steer clear of the freshly squeezed orange juice- very sour!

We also booked a couple of activities via the hotel. Reception was accommodating and knowledgeable. It is so much cheaper to get it from one of the many guys offering you tours at the beach. However, since we couldn't be bothered paying cash upfront for such huge amounts, we opted to book it through the hotel and it was charged to our room. We did the ATV (quad bike ride - highly recommended!!! You go on the local road and ride for 20 minutes to this amazing lookout where you can see the whole island - great photo ops here!), parasailing (excellent!) and reef walking (This is particularly crucial - make sure you go through a licensed and legit provider as we heard that some of them use compressors (a definite no no as your oxygen could get cut off whilst you're down there. The receptionist who booked it for us even made a phone call to the service provider to check prior to booking).

Another tip: My hubby found a bar in Boracay that offered happy hour from 4pm to 9pm. He couldn't remember the name but that it was only a few properties from our hotel. needless to say, he was extremely happy. Also the ladies offering beachfront massages near the property are nothing short of amazing. They are all older ladies with years of experience behind them. Cheap and one of the best massages I've had in a while. They are open til midnight - I had mine every night after the kids went to bed!) I'd go back just for the massages! :)

All in all, a wonderful 3 day stay in a beautiful location. We could not ask for more. Would we go back? Yes, in a heartbeat. Would we stay at Boracay Regency again? Yes, most definitely. The only change I would make is to make sure we take a direct flight to Caticlan next time. This way, we skip the 2 hour bus ride from hell. BTW, the ride back was even worse. The driver drove like a mad man and I felt so car sick 20 minutes in (and I never get nauseous). I recommend going direct especially if you have small kids. Have fun.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are lovely and give you great access. Another family member stayed in a family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    507
    160
    60
    48
See reviews for
381
381
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Don't know how to start really.
Their Superior room is the lowest grade of room they have,
Crowded.
Not very clean.
Noisy.
Rooms poor.
Pools not big enough.
Attached to a MacDonalds-probably enough said for the review.
Reception manager -Lady named Lima laughed when we complained that the "Superior" room was terrible.
We checked out early and went to another hotel.
Breakfast was horrible.
They couldn't even make a Halo Halo-a national drink

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Just would like to point out that this review is not well thought of. First of all, our Superior room is the lowest category in our room offerings but not the lowest of grade. This only indicates that you have high expectation for a minimal amount that you have paid. How can you classify our rooms to be poor when all the basic amenities are a standard in every room category that we have? Secondly, which resort in Boracay are you comparing our swimming pools not being big enough? We can proudly say that we have the most number of swimming pools in the Island and the biggest as well. As for the food outlets, aren't you glad that we have alot of choices for different budgets that are within the hotel premises? Again, I do not know where you are coming from when you say that our breakfast is horrible. We have an extensive array of internationally accepted breakfast menu as evidenced by alot of reviews raving about it. And lastly, do you really know what is a Halo-Halo? It is not a drink, its a dessert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family planned a very last minute trip to Boracay so had few hotel options. We ended up splitting the trip between two hotels, which were similarly priced and couldn't be more different.

Boracay Regency wanted us to pay in full at check-in, prior to seeing the room. 5% credit card payment add-on. We declined prepayment, which they finally accepted, and with credit card imprint.

There are signs everywhere that you will be charged for damage to linens, if you don't return swim towels. This I can understand, but it was stated in such a heavily handed way, I found it offensive and excessive especially given the almost $300 per night price tag. They asked me to sign a document when I received 3 bedsheets from housekeeping, which were necessary given that the beds are only fitted with heavy duvets, not suited for the tropics. The duvets-only are another price-saving device. One needs a light sheet in this climate!

Mandatory New Year's buffet which came to $175 equivalent for four (my husband and me, 9-year old and 5-year old children). Outrageous. A rain storm descended suddenly, and they weren't prepared with most tables at the beach vs under the tent. We stayed a few minutes and kids were excited by buffet, but I couldn't be bothered to stand in the line and was totally unimpressed by the few bites of food I tasted. Not fresh. Entertainment was very good.

Rooms are on top of each other. Pools are nice, but rooms are jammed in, and many rooms would be in the completely unsatisfactory category with views of the next block 2 meters away, in a high traffic area, etc.

Room prices are very high for what you get. In a different, quiet resort, we had 3x the space for almost the same price.

We registered and paid for four in the room, but at the "included" breakfast buffet, we were informed it was just for two adults and we needed to pay extra for the children.

The beach is clean, but the water is not, which is island not hotel related. Supposedly, the sewage/water treatment plant is to come online in 2014/15. As someone who has been going to the island since 1988, I can't believe they still haven't sorted this out. I am very suspicious of green algae which predominates the beach water, and my daughter got sick the last two times she swam in Boracay, and I vowed we would never again go to the island, but there you go.

Positive is that we had a place to stay in Boracay over crazy busy new year. Some fun bars and restaurants nearby. Beach atmosphere is festive.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what view/location you are getting or you may be looking at a wall of the next bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DindoSalazar, Manager at Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for detailing your experience with us. We definitely welcome these and continue to strive for excellence and the most value for your money.
First of all, we do not add-on 5% for credit card transactions.
We maintain a high standard of cleanliness especially with the duvet covers and linens that every guest enjoys whenever they stay with us. Getting a temporary henna tattoo is a trend in the island, however, it stains our linens and thus we have to discard it and charge a very minimal amount.
Our guest rooms are very well appointed and we also maintain about 40% of open area for gardens and public areas.
Lastly, compared to our neighboring resorts, we are proud to say that we maintain cleanliness even in our beach areas. We comb our beach every morning and afternoon. Algae have been a regular yearly occurrence eversince the time of our grandparents and it was even thicker. Also, there are no official report that it is associated with sewage as we have a sewage treatment plant in the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our 9 and 10 year old kids for 9 nights in October 2012.
Family room was great. Big enough for the 4 of us with the kids room at the back for added safety. family rooms are right outside one of the pools which the kids loved and made it easy for us to sit in front of the room and watch them play.
Terrific breakfast with plenty of choices both Asian and western.
Staff are amazing- they are all so friendly and helpful and especially love the kids.
This resort fronts the beach with dedicated sunbeds and umbrellas for guests - you can also order food and drinks from the each staff and charge to your room.
Large pool and swim up bar is great. Kids can have an afternoon swim while mum and dad enjoy a cocktail at the swim up bar.
The Chinese restaurant on site is amazing. Grab a table out front and watch the people passing by.
There is a new Filippino restaurant on site but we found this a bit over priced. The decor etc is lovely but in the end not worth the price tag.
We were shocked and disappointed to learn that the construction taking place at the beach entry to the hotel is a new McDonalds that was scheduled to open by Xmas.
Overall a wonderful resort for families

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

By far the best place to stay in Station 2 (or 3 for that matter). Excellent location. Excellent staff. Spacious rooms. 3 pools.
We couldn't get our full 10 night stay at this place and had to move to a hotel in Station 1 after 6 days, but it did not compare to the Boracay Regency.

Room Tip: Loved having the Premier Room with pool access. Great to sit on the balcony after a hot day at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is our first time to travel with kids. We brought our nanny and mother in law with us. We stayed in family room with two adjacent rooms with connecting door in between and one huge common bathroom. We were booked in the older building which is perfectly ok as we were away from the crowd. We had the second floor room which is just smack in the center of everything. Best part of it all is that we few steps away from the newly opened McDonalds. If ever the kids and nanny want to eat we dont have to spend much with hotel food and just buy there. Not to mention though the prices can still be a little bit more compared to McDonalds in Manila. Breakfast was included which is the best part. They serve good food. There are a lot of pools to choose from. The new pool with jacuzzi in the middle can be a little bit crowded and its too cold. The hotel got everything you need from the speed boats transfers to providing beach towels. Their price on the 25th compared to the 24th is twice as much. But their buffet on the dinner Eve of Xmas is twice more expensive compared to the dinner of the 25th. We will surely stay here again. Kids love it here. They had options to swim by the beach and on the pool.

Room Tip: If you want newer rooms you can pay Php500 more per room per day to be booked on their new wing. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having been to Boracay many times, this is the first time our family stayed at the Boracay Regency. We usually stay at a more basic place, as we spend very little time in our rooms or in the hotel. This being our first Christmas on Boracay beach, we decided to spoil ourselves with the extra luxury.

The location is perfect with all the popular places being less then a 10 minute walk away in both directions. The pools are very clean and refreshing. Although a little too cold for our liking, we did spend a little time lying around he pool instead of on the beach just to get away from the annoying vendors. The breakfast buffet was more then plentiful with lots of choices to get your day started. It was very crowded at times, but they worked very quickly at finding you a table.

The room was spacious and had all the amenities that is required to be on a beach. Houskeeping, however, was a little slow in cleaning the rooms and missed a few little details. On our first morning we unwrapped the bar of soap in the shower and on our last day the wrapper was still on the soap dish. I could have tossed it out myself, but I was just curious to see how long it would be left there. Well...I got my answer on day 5. The towels are a little small and thin, but always refreshed as needed. The beds are a little hard, but in excellent condition with very good linens. It was easy to get a good nights sleep after a long day on the beach.

The hotel offers airport transfers, which is well worth the extra cost, especially if you are coming from the airport in Kalibo. A bus ride of an hour and forty five minutes transfers you to a private waiting area where you board the resorts private speed boat and within 10 minutes you are on the island. The public jetty is much more crowded and you have to wait for an available boat, which is not high speed and takes longer to cross. The V.I.P. treatment is much more relaxing.

I still like my simple no frills hotel on Boracay Beach, but would definitely also return to the Boracay Regency.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Station 2 Balabag, Aklan Province 2004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Regency Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.