We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Star

Save Saved
You added Morning Star to your Saves list
Morning Star
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morning Star
White Beach, Station 3, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 172 Boracay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a few resorts in this price category at Boracay and none of them had warm water + almost everywhere there are some insects (its an island!), at this place it was not too bad however and no ants in your bed as was the case in other places.

Pro:
- very nice and cheerfull owner: if you needed new towels she would give them + you could ask her to get the room cleaned at any time.
- right at the beach.
- away from the mass tourists.
- max 10 min walking on the beach to station 2, which is a nice walk and safe at night.

Con:
- the street next door is noisy in the night with locals.

Would definately recommend this place, its good value for your money!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we stayed there during the holy week (March27-31, 2013), when hotels in boracay are almost fully booked and double the normal price. we got the aircon family room (room 11) at the second floor.

Pros:

A. beach front property (station 3)
B. Clean beach, during summer, green algae plague stations 1-2 but this part of boracay was spared.
C. quiet and peaceful
D. it is near where the water activities (island hopping, etc) takes off
E. fairly good staff
F. good airconditioning

Cons:
far from station 1
far from station 2
far from d mall.
water comes from deep well.
the property is made of wood and badly needs renovation.


This is a backpacker's hotel so don't expect too much.

Room Tip: get the aircon family room even if you are staying alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at Room#14 - 3 adults (1 is a senior citizen) and 1 child. Our room is located at the 2nd floor. I cannot comment on the fan rooms at the 1st floor.

Negative:
1. The resort is made of wood, and refurbishing may be necessary
2. It is far from D Mall
3. It is very far from the best white sand (station 1)
4. No hot/cold shower
5. Toilet bowl is stained

Positive:
1. It is a beach front resort
2. It is the cheapest beach front resort in Boracay
3. Very warm and hospitable resort owner/manager
4. Our rooms was super spacious
5. Bed and bedding are fine
6. Free WIFI
7. Super cool aircon
8. Cable TV
9. Clean surroundings, no insects
10. Their Hakuna Matata Restaurant is open 24 hours (but not noisy)

Overall, our stay here was commendable. It is not a starred hotel so don't expect 5 star facilities. But definitely benefit > cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Unless you're really strapped for cash... don't bother.

This was the worst hotel I've stayed at in my entire life. The whole place is falling apart; the floors are made of rotting plywood, the rooms stink and are absolutely bare bones with not even TVs in many rooms. Paint is peeling off the walls, there are a variety of spiders (both dead and alive) in the bathrooms which do not appear to have been cleaned in years, the beds/bedding is uncomfortable and it is infested with ants which bite you when you sleep. Heck, even the warped toilet seat was held on by wire in my particular room and the curtain rod which was barely hanging on ripped out of the wall and hit me in the head in the middle of the night. I've had far more comfortable nights sleeping in a tent in the wilderness. Fewer bugs that way too.

Perhaps the worst of it is that there is a beach bar they set up nightly just outside the front of this place and sometimes they are VERY loud until the wee hours of the morning. (Though the owners finally had it stopped at 4am by the police)

On the positive side, it has free wifi, an outdoor (dirty) kitchen you can cook food at, the employees are very friendly, it is close to the beach, and it is one of the cheapest deals on Boracay. These are the only things that saved me from giving it 1 out of 5.

Honestly - I would have paid 50% more to stay elsewhere and be comfortable. Every night was worse than the one before.

Live and learn. B is for Budget. And the only way I'd suggest anyone consider staying here is if they are already breaking the bank to have a trip to Boracay... because in their defense, almost every other place is more expensive.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you agree to stay here. Some are better than others; generally 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star

Address: White Beach, Station 3, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Morning Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.