We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fishcakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
Station 2, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 208 Restaurants in Boracay
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Boracay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Fishcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

There are so many delightful and delicious foods in this restaurant. But nothing compares to their Appetizer (fishcakes!). It drives me Crazy!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Absolutely delicious! Make sure you book a table. We battled to find it - it's on the station 1 side of and close to Tito's Resto (which most locals know of).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent but service needs improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We first came here during Easter in 2011 - I remember the food being excellent with good service. Fine dining at reasonable prices. This time however, we were a little disappointed. The beef tenderloin was chewy although the mahi mahi was delicious. Portions were small (as expected with 'fine dining') but the service was appalling. It started raining halfway during our dinner, and we saw staff bringing our brolly stands for two other tables and thought they would be bringing one out for us too. However, they firmly ignored our table and we sat in the rain for about 10mins before I had enough. When we finally managed to get the waiter's attention, his explanation was that they only had two brolly stands. I asked him why he let us sit in the rain instead of telling us they didn't hv enough brolly stands and he had no reply. Pretty dismal service for a fine dining establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch is basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

No reason to come here at lunch time - very small menu for lunch, basic service. We tried prawns with garlic - 3 from 5. Shakes 2 from 5

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best food on the island at affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For all foreign tourists looking for a fresh food experience on the island, this is the place to be.
Perfect salads and light dishes for lunch. Nice for a romantic dinner at night without exploding the budget.
Most dishes are between p250 and p350, very far from prices of other restaurants allegedly gastro that offers the same overcooked food as in Manila...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

 
Boracay, Visayas
Boracay, Visayas
 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.