We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crystal Sand hotel in Boracay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Sand Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Sand Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Crystal Sand Beach Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Boat Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crystal Sand hotel in Boracay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely hotel, amazing location! the view from room 209 is juts breathtaking! Basic decor and facilities, but staff is really helpful and polite, so couldn't fault it in any way.
The only problem was, that our room had the noisiest aircon ever! but you do get used to it...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It has now been 12 days since i stayed in Crystal Sand Resort and I m still itching and in serious discomfort from being savaged by bed bugs there. I ve travelled a lot in the past 15 years to various parts of the world, stayed in cheaper and more basic accommodation and never had this happen to me before.

A doctor on the island confirmed it was bed bugs ( as my GP has since returning home ) but the owner of the hotel insisted they were "sand flies" and denied responsibility. I checked out immediately and they didn t even have the decency to try and make amends or apologise and to their shame even charged me for soft drinks from the mini bar.....

It raises serious questions about the hygiene there - if you fancy your holiday being ruined and the disgusting feeling of having been eaten by these foul creatures stay at Crystal Sand, Awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo,norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Perfect location very close to D Mall, yet no noise in the evenings. Best part of the beach just in front of the hotell with beach chairs to enjoy. Breakfast very good. Staff very good and very accomodating. Close to all the action in Station 1 and 2. Good security staff.

AC was quite noisy in both the rooms we had during our 8 day stay. Should be serviced.

We will be back. Reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for our 2 week honeymoon this April and loved the environment it provided. It was quiet, laid back and very friendly staff. Our room was in the back on the ground level, next time will need to request one on the second level with a balcony. Room was clean, ac was great. The housekeeping service was amazing, very friendly and efficient. The breakfast that is included was great and we never got sick of it. The internet was hit and miss but for the most part worked really early in the morning or late at night when a lot of people weren't using it. The service at first was amazing but as the hotel got busy during our stay we were put on the back burner it seemed, we had to go in and order our drinks off the beach whereas everyone else was asked, but that was not a big deal for us. Beware of the water in early may it gets a gross green algae all along the white beach side and its thick. I read research on it and it is apparently from the sewage being dumped into the ocean and has had reports of e-coli. We were there for 2 weeks and it didn't get like this until our last 4 days. I would recommend this resort to anyone. There was a family there with kids, we didn't bring ours but if we ever go back I would. It was so safe there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

room 209 has perfect view to beach
but it has too many ants. and breakfast is too bad
price is reasonable
crystal sand's location is one of best resort in boracay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Standard Boracay Resort with excellent for those who wants to stay where the action is.

Front beach location, near D'Mall (souvenir shops & restaurants, etc) and other restaurants & bar. They have comfortable beach bed/chair where you can stay and enjoy the beach view from sunrise to sunset. They can serve or set-up dinner right on the beach, if requested.

Rooms has basic amenities such as Cable TV, A/C, Telephone, Hot & Cold Shower and refrigerator. Their one and only Deluxe Room has a spacious verandah overlooking the beach -absolutely beachfront. They have 8 Standard rooms located on the ground floor with porch facing the beach and 8 Superior Rooms at the 2nd floor with balcony overlooking the beach.

Restaurant serves Filipino food and some international dishes. Guests could dine either in their air-conditioned Capiz Restaurant or at the beach.

However, the review from Per-Inge is true, while having lunch in their open-air dining area, there were kids begging for coins and a lot of vendors selling watches, hats, sunglasses, towels, even DVD's along the beach which is annoying. Kids/Blind keeps on insisting for coins or fodd and when you give them, other kids will come too. I hope the management can work on this.

We stayed for two nights and all went well. Good value for money considering its excellent location and good service as well.

Room Tip: Please request rooms away from the kitchen. Better yet, choose Deluxe or Superior Rooms on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

In my first trip to Boracay in 2001, this hotel came highly recommended. It is indeed beachfront and elegant. Even got more appealing when they built a Starbucks nearby. It has an outdoor dining patio fronting the water; it is steps away to bars and restaurants, and kid/elderly friendly. This is our family favorite. I love everything about it except for the touristy crowd and daily rate. Although somewhat pricey, you do get your money's worth.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, best to book the rooms facing the outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crystal Sand Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sand Beach Resorts

Address: Beachfront, Boat Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Sand Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Sand Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Sand Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.