We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aboriginal web” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Aboriginal web”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It’s truly authentic hotel you’ll never forget. Months after staying in this hotel all my negative imaginations wiped off and now I have just good memories. It seems even funny that name of the hotel is absolutely coincides with reality – there are a lot of spiders and webs in hotel’s rooms. Bathroom and toilet are very poor but several footsteps – and you’re in the blue-blue clean sea. Soundproofing between rooms is absent but it’s very pleasant to fall asleep to the sound of waves. This hotel is almost nude nature without starched bed-sheets and towels. It’s nice place to clink glasses with fresh juices (or buka or cold beer) with kindly Filipinos.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    67
    27
    18
    10
See reviews for
26
141
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I chose the Spider House Resort because it was highly rated and the location was amazing. It is a truly beautiful spot - cant beat it there. We were realistic about the facilities but given it was just my husband and I without kids in tow, we were prepared to rough it out a little.

However we checked out after one night - even though we had already paid for five nights and couldnt get a refund. Two main reasons. One, it is a wonderful location but probably better suited for the younger crowd who want to swim and party late into the night. A tad too noisy for old fuddy duddies like us. Two, both of us were bitten badly by bed bugs (we were in room 5) although I havent seen any similar complaints so perhaps we were unlucky. May come back for a drink to enjoy the view but not to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I would stay at Spider house again for the following reasons; it remains simple and traditional in its design and is reminiscent of the old Boracay when the white beach only had a few hotels and bars and the island was full of more free spirited travellers. Regardless of tastes of styling the location is unique - being right at the end of white beach which keeps it quieter as its bit too far for most people to get there and holds some outstanding sea and sunset views. The food was good especially the breakfasts and I enjoyed the friendly and helpful service. I felt however that the rooms could have been better for the price and given renovated bamboo floors and furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Yeah not perfect, but not too far off...

The Room, had a fan. It was boiling on Boracay (exactly what I wanted, but somehow imagined air-conditioning, my bad..), we had bamboo bars on windows and no window coverings, which made 'special time' somewhat risque as we were slightly off the ground-floor behind the main bar area/sunset viewing deck, in the appropriately called Sunset room. We stayed for a week.
Mossies ate me alive the first few days, we did have a mossie net over the bed, but it didnt seem to help, maybe I'm too sweet, or have high blood sugar levels (will look into that) We learned to love OFF, and a couple of other brands of bug repellant, I think we used 5 tubes in a week. (ps, OFF burns like a mo-fo if you are sunburnt)
We also learned to love our endearingly nicknamed 'Cup-showers', I think somewhere on the booking confirmation it stated 'with hot water showers'. It didn't state ONLY hot water showers. So we used a bucket that was in the bathroom that had a cup with a handle on it, to shower with cold water, as i mentioned before it is hot on Boracay. Also a giant hole in the wall in the bathroom where geckos could wonder in and out of the bathroom- I consider this a plus, as i hoped they would eat some of the spiders and mossies around the place. Please note, you do not flush toilet paper into the toilet that goes into the bathroom bin, some people get a big shock out of this...

The great things about Spider House, are the location, the views, the bar, the staff.
Staff are what we could say 'relaxed', they are friendly and attentive, but don't linger, which is great i hate the feeling of being watched, so sometimes they might forget to bring you the drink you asked for 20 minutes ago, but all u need to do is remind them and they get it for you, its people.
The bar is chill and plays music from around 12 till evening. We did spend a whole day just relaxing on the lounges,swimming, eating, listening to music, was perfect! Food is good, not fine dining, but tasty and affordable.
It is located in Diniwid beach which is (thankfully) a good 30 minute relaxed walk to the White Beach. You can get a ride, the tricycle ride from Diniwid to White beach is 100pesos, I'm sure it cheaper for locals but, I don't mind supporting the local economy, its a 10 minute ride for about AUD $2.50. Ride to Puka beach, located on the norther tip of the island is 150 pesos (which is by far the best beach, colder water, deeper, less of everyone/everything there, pristine and perfect sunset watching beach)
Yeah, don't go to Spider House if you want, a king bed, with egyptian bed sheets, waterfall shower-head, pay tv, air-con, super sturdy floor beneath your feet, a cyclical breakfast buffet, or Michelin star service.
Go there is you want to have a beer and enjoy a stunning views, all day and all night, in a unique environment - with flaws, listen to the water splashing the rockwall beneath your feet, learn what it is like to live in a bamboo house, relax, drink the Frozen Ice tea with Lime, slow down, be teased and nicknamed Santa Claus by the staff cuz you might be fortunate enough to have an awesome beard....
Spider House will be memorable for its faults but cherished for its uniquenes.

Room Tip: Sunset room. Private deck and Sunset viewing platform that is open to public from 12-7pm. during oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Western Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were pretty much enchanted by this place. The experience starts with entering Spider House territory via a winding path through a sea-cave, which is pretty special! Overall the blogs are accurate - Spider House is very unique (though I’m not sure the word “resort” applies). If you want to be accommodated away from the major resort strip and are happy to forgo the usual “benefits” of generic resort style accommodation (aircon, windows, tiled/carpeted floors, large bed with inner-spring mattress, room safe, swimming pool etc), then Spider House is worth considering – it’s a bit like “Glamping” (glamorous/fancy camping).

We had room “A” which is located in the topmost part of this sprawling complex. It’s quite a climb to reach this room with the reward being substantial views from the (glassless) bedroom window (but no balcony/deck area to sit out on). The entire structure is made from bamboo, including the floors. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious, though the bathroom could do with the shower drainage being improved. This room has a small fridge and basic cooking equipment and facilities (which we didn’t use). The room had two fans which could be directed at the bed and we found this more than adequate for staying comfortably cool at night (even if there was aircon we would not have used it). The main plus with room A is that you are well removed from the central bar main hub, so it is very quiet except for when the generator is running (which is close to this room). Some diesel fumes seep into the room when the generator is running but this seems to be limited to short periods during the daytime when the grid power fails. It did not run at night during our stay and mostly we were out and about during the day so the impact was minimal. If we return to Spider House in the future we would book Bamboo Queen or suite with sea views as they seemed to be the best rooms with private bathrooms (some of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities).

The resort organised the transports to and from Caticlan Airport and this went very smoothly. All of the Spider House staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was excellent –fresh with a good variety. The central hub of the complex has a really good vibe, which in some ways is a downside because it attracts many people from outside of the resort who spend the whole day and well into the evening hanging out at Spider House (swimming, eating, drinking relaxing), often making it difficult for those staying at Spider House to be able to find a table to sit at for lunch or dinner. We did manage to have lunch a couple of times after waiting for a table to come free but never actually managed to be able to have dinner there, due to the place already being full of people. Luckily there were a few bar/restaurants very close by (right on the oceans edge) which is where we spent our evenings.

The swimming from the central hub is better on high tide than low tide (when it can get quite shallow). It is not the best swimming spot on the island by any means, but still serves as a novel resort “swimming pool”.

On our last night we had an excellent sunset sail on the resort boat “Spider”, taking a few cold beers along with us. It was totally magic and we thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Bamboo Queen or suite with sea views seem to be the best rooms with private bathrooms (some of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

but...the resort it's beautifully situated (not on a beach you'd spend any time on though). And the quirkiness of it all is definitely interesting (all made out of bamboo).

But....and actually, it should be a BUT with capital letters. There are quite a few things about Spider House Resort that really disappointed us (and we have travelled a lot in Asia and stayed in various different hotels and standards)

- The breakfast is OK...by the end of our stay we actually just ordered the fruit platter (which wasn't even on the breakfast menu and included in the price)
- The whole place is completely made out of bamboo. Looks pretty indeed, but noise DOES travel through the walls of your room. We had to sleep with ear plugs and we still woke up many times every night and early morning.
- getting to/and from the resort. It is situated and sits at the end of a cliff. It is a nightmare getting there (and when checking out) with your suitcase as you have to drag it (or carry it) about 500 meters on the beach and then up a staircase to get to the resort. It takes about 15 min by tricycle to get to the main part of the beach (where you will stay and spend time daily).
- The beach by the hotel, Diniwid Beach, will not be the beach you will spend any time on. Out of the main beach, White Beach, and the second beach, Puka Beach - this one, will not be your main choice when going to the beach. It is quite a lot of seaweed and pebbles and it really isn't a beach where you will lay down and relax on. You might go for a quick dip - but that's it (there isn't really any restaurants by the beach except the one up on the hill which you have to get into a bamboo made elevator to get too - definitely worth it!)
- The security guy working in the resort (not the younger looking boy) - was horrible. He was not even saying hello to us by the end of our stay (we stayed at the hotel for almost two weeks). This was due to the fact that we didn't book a tour through him which he got very angry about (we didn't say we were to book through him at any point).
- You have to ask the reception to clean the room and to get water to the room.
- There's no AC. The fan do help, but it could get really hot.
- The overall service was poor. It takes long to get served, it takes long to get food, the people working there are not really up to scratch and their ability to spot you in the restaurant is almost non existing.

....we also experienced two power cuts which lasted for a few hours, both times it happened in the morning which made it too warm to sleep and no breakfast either of these two days and most importantly; not even an apology from any of the team members. Maybe they should look into getting a backup generator? We spoke to quite a few other visitors on the island who stayed in other hotels and they didn't have a clue that there was a power cut (which obviously means that their hotel had some sort of backup).

The biggest downside of it all was the owner and general manager of this place. Staying here for almost two weeks and none of these two came up and said hello or even welcomed us to the place. And they were both around. One sitting by the bar 24/7, the other one walking around in the resort clearly more interested in doing other stuff than actually speaking to his guests. And the fact is that we were in contact with the general manager many times before our arrival - and he knew we had a 17 hour flight to get to the resort - but still couldn't even come up and say hi and welcome us. Absolutely appalling!!!

I would, actually, tell people to stay somewhere else. However, the resort is interesting, but the service is very far from standard and the food was not good at all.

Sadly, disappointing!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This is not an easy review because the restaurant and bar area is fantastic with the sea lapping beneath you. The food is pretty good. The service not too bad. The hotel could probably be one of the unique hotels in the world being built of bamboo and perched above a cave.

But the room failed the test. Room A requires climbing up ladder-like steps to get there. Whilst the room was unnecessarily large with cooking facilities, I had no intention of using, there were obvious cobwebs on the furniture. The bathroom did not have a basin and there was no division between toilet and shower area and so the entire bathroom was usually wet. I had to brush my teeth at the kitchen sink and did my flossing in the dining area where there is the only mirror!

Without a bathroom renovation, this room should rightly be withdrawn as guest accommodation. The only thing going for it is the wonderful sea view. The room is located up some steep steps just outside the hotel (close to the entrance of Boracay West Cove resort). There is a bamboo house to the left and right of it where locals live and you can sometimes hear coughing, singing and timber chopping.

Service was an issue as the towel was not changed once in my 3 day stay. There is no manager roving around the bar/restaurant area and so service is not top notch.

I understand that the owner is a foreigner who is only at the hotel a few months a year. He was absent whilst we were there and when the cat's away, the spiders are playing ... I would expect things to improve when the owner is around to keep an eye on things. But guests should not have to rely on this.

Apparently it's low season from June to August and the seas are rough and the wind is strong ... so book with care.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.