We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get too excited...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't get too excited...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

but...the resort it's beautifully situated (not on a beach you'd spend any time on though). And the quirkiness of it all is definitely interesting (all made out of bamboo).

But....and actually, it should be a BUT with capital letters. There are quite a few things about Spider House Resort that really disappointed us (and we have travelled a lot in Asia and stayed in various different hotels and standards)

- The breakfast is OK...by the end of our stay we actually just ordered the fruit platter (which wasn't even on the breakfast menu and included in the price)
- The whole place is completely made out of bamboo. Looks pretty indeed, but noise DOES travel through the walls of your room. We had to sleep with ear plugs and we still woke up many times every night and early morning.
- getting to/and from the resort. It is situated and sits at the end of a cliff. It is a nightmare getting there (and when checking out) with your suitcase as you have to drag it (or carry it) about 500 meters on the beach and then up a staircase to get to the resort. It takes about 15 min by tricycle to get to the main part of the beach (where you will stay and spend time daily).
- The beach by the hotel, Diniwid Beach, will not be the beach you will spend any time on. Out of the main beach, White Beach, and the second beach, Puka Beach - this one, will not be your main choice when going to the beach. It is quite a lot of seaweed and pebbles and it really isn't a beach where you will lay down and relax on. You might go for a quick dip - but that's it (there isn't really any restaurants by the beach except the one up on the hill which you have to get into a bamboo made elevator to get too - definitely worth it!)
- The security guy working in the resort (not the younger looking boy) - was horrible. He was not even saying hello to us by the end of our stay (we stayed at the hotel for almost two weeks). This was due to the fact that we didn't book a tour through him which he got very angry about (we didn't say we were to book through him at any point).
- You have to ask the reception to clean the room and to get water to the room.
- There's no AC. The fan do help, but it could get really hot.
- The overall service was poor. It takes long to get served, it takes long to get food, the people working there are not really up to scratch and their ability to spot you in the restaurant is almost non existing.

....we also experienced two power cuts which lasted for a few hours, both times it happened in the morning which made it too warm to sleep and no breakfast either of these two days and most importantly; not even an apology from any of the team members. Maybe they should look into getting a backup generator? We spoke to quite a few other visitors on the island who stayed in other hotels and they didn't have a clue that there was a power cut (which obviously means that their hotel had some sort of backup).

The biggest downside of it all was the owner and general manager of this place. Staying here for almost two weeks and none of these two came up and said hello or even welcomed us to the place. And they were both around. One sitting by the bar 24/7, the other one walking around in the resort clearly more interested in doing other stuff than actually speaking to his guests. And the fact is that we were in contact with the general manager many times before our arrival - and he knew we had a 17 hour flight to get to the resort - but still couldn't even come up and say hi and welcome us. Absolutely appalling!!!

I would, actually, tell people to stay somewhere else. However, the resort is interesting, but the service is very far from standard and the food was not good at all.

Sadly, disappointing!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    63
    24
    15
    9
See reviews for
24
131
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This is not an easy review because the restaurant and bar area is fantastic with the sea lapping beneath you. The food is pretty good. The service not too bad. The hotel could probably be one of the unique hotels in the world being built of bamboo and perched above a cave.

But the room failed the test. Room A requires climbing up ladder-like steps to get there. Whilst the room was unnecessarily large with cooking facilities, I had no intention of using, there were obvious cobwebs on the furniture. The bathroom did not have a basin and there was no division between toilet and shower area and so the entire bathroom was usually wet. I had to brush my teeth at the kitchen sink and did my flossing in the dining area where there is the only mirror!

Without a bathroom renovation, this room should rightly be withdrawn as guest accommodation. The only thing going for it is the wonderful sea view. The room is located up some steep steps just outside the hotel (close to the entrance of Boracay West Cove resort). There is a bamboo house to the left and right of it where locals live and you can sometimes hear coughing, singing and timber chopping.

Service was an issue as the towel was not changed once in my 3 day stay. There is no manager roving around the bar/restaurant area and so service is not top notch.

I understand that the owner is a foreigner who is only at the hotel a few months a year. He was absent whilst we were there and when the cat's away, the spiders are playing ... I would expect things to improve when the owner is around to keep an eye on things. But guests should not have to rely on this.

Apparently it's low season from June to August and the seas are rough and the wind is strong ... so book with care.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I travel extensively throughout Asia for business and pleasure. Enjoy staying in all types of accommodation from cheap cheap to luxury. Unfortunately I cannot give a glowing review of Spider House. From arrival the trip was stressful. No pick up at airport (I had purchased at reservation). While friendly enough the service in the bar and restaurant area is frustrating. Difficult to get served. The location is a nice long walk from the main beach area. For the price I would stay elsewhere and perhaps stop by Spider House for a drink instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent 6 night in Boracay n 2 nights here at Spider House with my partner. If u r looking for a great get away place with great view of sea n water n sunset r the only thing u need, try this out. Diniwid beach at its best..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoi an
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Spider House because of the previous reviews, and , that it was something different to experience....and that it was! Away from the hustle and bustle of the Stations, it is quiet and relaxing by day. At night, chilled modern music is played till approx 10 PM, and then serenity prevails till next morning. It is made from bamboo,so sound does travel....so be aware. The food is good and the staff are really pleasant and helpful.
For a unique experience, and you are not expecting 4 or 5 star, Spider House is a wonderful experience for the young at heart. We would take our two sons back there next time so that can have the pleasure of adventure...not your run of the mill resorts!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms can be found away from the restaurant/bar...but they won't have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spider House Resort is a accommodation that is suitable for budget travelers. The customer-service is also extremely praise worthy, and you can look forward to waking up to breathtaking seaview every single day.

However, be prepared to sleep in mosquito net and there are tonnes of insects. I am not kidding. The toilet is also not exactly up to expectation. Even though Spiderhouse is built right next to the sea, there is no sea breeze at all! There is a dedicated fan for each of the bed though.

Other than the insects and the relatively hot weather at night, Spiderhouse is a good accommodation worth going.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

.. I've never heard of Boracay until last week when my best friend was assigned to do a news report in Manila and have a few days to chill afterward - we decided to come here. with the new AEC, we Thais can travel to the Philippines without visas which makes it so convenience to come here (in such a short notice!!). ok.. back to my review, this spider house is not new (around twenty years old), but they take good care of the place well. it has a very laid-back energy. the room is fairly simple yet spacious and very comfortable - we have the treehouse twins with partial sea view due to the tree surrounding us!! our pool is the Pacific Ocean - no one can beat that!! the staffs are sweet, friendly, and simply lovely (like Carol, Michelle, Christy, Heidi, ...) so my dear traveller friends come experience this amazing place - there's no place quite like it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.