We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name ... cobwebs!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 135 Hotels in Boracay
Hobart
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name ... cobwebs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This is not an easy review because the restaurant and bar area is fantastic with the sea lapping beneath you. The food is pretty good. The service not too bad. The hotel could probably be one of the unique hotels in the world being built of bamboo and perched above a cave.

But the room failed the test. Room A requires climbing up ladder-like steps to get there. Whilst the room was unnecessarily large with cooking facilities, I had no intention of using, there were obvious cobwebs on the furniture. The bathroom did not have a basin and there was no division between toilet and shower area and so the entire bathroom was usually wet. I had to brush my teeth at the kitchen sink and did my flossing in the dining area where there is the only mirror!

Without a bathroom renovation, this room should rightly be withdrawn as guest accommodation. The only thing going for it is the wonderful sea view. The room is located up some steep steps just outside the hotel (close to the entrance of Boracay West Cove resort). There is a bamboo house to the left and right of it where locals live and you can sometimes hear coughing, singing and timber chopping.

Service was an issue as the towel was not changed once in my 3 day stay. There is no manager roving around the bar/restaurant area and so service is not top notch.

I understand that the owner is a foreigner who is only at the hotel a few months a year. He was absent whilst we were there and when the cat's away, the spiders are playing ... I would expect things to improve when the owner is around to keep an eye on things. But guests should not have to rely on this.

Apparently it's low season from June to August and the seas are rough and the wind is strong ... so book with care.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    71
    28
    19
    10
See reviews for
26
148
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I travel extensively throughout Asia for business and pleasure. Enjoy staying in all types of accommodation from cheap cheap to luxury. Unfortunately I cannot give a glowing review of Spider House. From arrival the trip was stressful. No pick up at airport (I had purchased at reservation). While friendly enough the service in the bar and restaurant area is frustrating. Difficult to get served. The location is a nice long walk from the main beach area. For the price I would stay elsewhere and perhaps stop by Spider House for a drink instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent 6 night in Boracay n 2 nights here at Spider House with my partner. If u r looking for a great get away place with great view of sea n water n sunset r the only thing u need, try this out. Diniwid beach at its best..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoi an
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Spider House because of the previous reviews, and , that it was something different to experience....and that it was! Away from the hustle and bustle of the Stations, it is quiet and relaxing by day. At night, chilled modern music is played till approx 10 PM, and then serenity prevails till next morning. It is made from bamboo,so sound does travel....so be aware. The food is good and the staff are really pleasant and helpful.
For a unique experience, and you are not expecting 4 or 5 star, Spider House is a wonderful experience for the young at heart. We would take our two sons back there next time so that can have the pleasure of adventure...not your run of the mill resorts!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms can be found away from the restaurant/bar...but they won't have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spider House Resort is a accommodation that is suitable for budget travelers. The customer-service is also extremely praise worthy, and you can look forward to waking up to breathtaking seaview every single day.

However, be prepared to sleep in mosquito net and there are tonnes of insects. I am not kidding. The toilet is also not exactly up to expectation. Even though Spiderhouse is built right next to the sea, there is no sea breeze at all! There is a dedicated fan for each of the bed though.

Other than the insects and the relatively hot weather at night, Spiderhouse is a good accommodation worth going.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

.. I've never heard of Boracay until last week when my best friend was assigned to do a news report in Manila and have a few days to chill afterward - we decided to come here. with the new AEC, we Thais can travel to the Philippines without visas which makes it so convenience to come here (in such a short notice!!). ok.. back to my review, this spider house is not new (around twenty years old), but they take good care of the place well. it has a very laid-back energy. the room is fairly simple yet spacious and very comfortable - we have the treehouse twins with partial sea view due to the tree surrounding us!! our pool is the Pacific Ocean - no one can beat that!! the staffs are sweet, friendly, and simply lovely (like Carol, Michelle, Christy, Heidi, ...) so my dear traveller friends come experience this amazing place - there's no place quite like it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lets start this review by saying I love this place. And let's also say that this place, is not for everyone.If you cant go on without aircon, or scream at the sight of insects / flying objects, look elsewhere. Some would call roughing it out, while i'd like to call this place a real beach holiday oasis.

So we came, the whole bunch of us which consist of 6 girls, 1 little girl and 2 guys, all city dwellers. All in all we got 4 rooms which consist of the Bamboo Suite, the Sunset room, Room C and a mixture of room A and B. Spider house is away from the hustle and bustle of Station 1 and 2, and so it is the perfect place to just relax and enjoy the view and waterfront without the crowd. High tide is normally in the morning, and the tide doesnt come up again till late evening depending on the season i guess. This also means that if you carry luggages instead of backpacks, you may have to carry it in to spider house though they will have staff assisting you during arrival and departure, if you arrive and depart during the normal hours.

The girls normally kick back with a book at the cafe on the hammock which proved to be a sleep inducer. In the mornings, the water is deep enough for you to just leap in from the cafe, or your room if it is sea facing, whichever you prefer. Needless to say there is a floating platform just about 20 metres away as shown in the other pictures.

The staff, are a friendly and helpful bunch who will make you feel right at home, and after a few days you don't have to tell your room number during orders. Spider house should be proud to have staff like those. They will do whatever in their means to assist in any situation which you may encounter. This was proven, many times during our stay in the situation such as Power Blackout, and running water shutdown in the room. Yes, we experienced power blackout and running water just stopped at least 3 times during our one week stay. They are notified, they rushed to get things running as soon as they can. We were informed that the running water stopped due to low tank level especially during peak season. After the 2nd time, most of us were ready with at least 1 pail of water in the bathroom, just in case.

The breakfast is complimentary and proved to be of a good variety of mainstream breakfast provided elsewhere as well and all made upon request. The cafe and bar runs till about 11pm. However, during the final billing, it is advisable to check if the breakfast is being charged as well, as it did happen to the other rooms my friends were in. It is also advisable to pay cash instead of charging to the room for every order made to avoid any inconvenience.

The rooms are charming albeit the fact that it is very basic but clean enough. I have included pictures of room A below for your reference. It would take a 5 min walk from Spider House to the road to get a trike out to town. The journey to town on a trike would take about another 10 mins or so. If you are getting the hotel to arrange your transfer out, best is to arrange the day before and trust their timings for departure.

Some would say that they would stay in Spider House for a few days followed by another upscale hotel after a few days, and some the other way round. I would say to choose careful, as you may miss the charm and personal touch of Spider House, which may not exist in upscale hotels. SO if you decide to stay in Spider House, live it, and enjoy it. There are not many places on earth left like this.

Spider House, Ill see you again for sure.

Room Tip: Room B and C which is the treehouse double, and room A which is the treehouse twin is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.