We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience, probably because of the typhoon rather than the place itself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mixed experience, probably because of the typhoon rather than the place itself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My experience at Spider House Resort was mixed, this is probably because of Typhoon Haiyan which passed nearby and caused damage though.

There was no hot water, wifi, dessert (I like ice cream) or electricity during the day time while I was there! Despite these issues, clearly caused by the devastating typhoon and not necessarily a reflection of the place itself there were some issues.

Such as, even when the power worked at night there were only two small fans to cool the room. It can get hot in the room especially with the morning light shining through the curtains and bamboo shades.

Also, 90% of the time the staff were excellent except one or two who did seem to have an attitude problem. Especially when the bartender short changed me on purpose, well, didn't give back any change at all. Also, when inquiring about my reservation payment the staff said they would follow up on it, over the course of three days they never did. It was only resolved when one of the other staff members who knew the answer to the question resolved it then and there. It could have been resolved earlier if they followed up on my requests.

Despite these issues, 90% of the staff provided excellent service and I feel alot of the negatives were probably just stressors from the typhoon.

I recommend it, especially for the food/views!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    67
    27
    18
    10
See reviews for
26
141
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Spider House was the start of our world travels and what a start it was. We were so spoiled that it is difficult for anywhere to live up to the high standard.

Spider House has a great location on the edge of the beautiful and peaceful Diniwid beach. The views from the rooms are sensational, the swimming from the restaurant amazing, jump off at high tide into the clearest blue water.

On top of all this our stay was made extra special due to the excellent service. In particular thanks to Paul and Carlo you made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the location and the ocean view of the rooms. The staff were really nice. Perfect place for just enjoying the ocean and relaxing...working for the weekend (which was the case for me since I was on business from Manila).
Excellent night swimming and views!
Only complaint is the food..needs improvement..skip breakfast bread was not very good..Nami rest next door is good..and has a nice view.
I would only order the prawn sushi again...the rest I did not enjoy. Also, they cook with palm oil which gives a bad odor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friend and I were going to stay in Spider for three nights. But after first night we prolonged our staying for three days more. It's just an amazing hotel and it was great expirience for me! You can hear the whisper of waves all the night, feel the breeze just right in the room, watch incredible view around... Only you and nature, relaxing of mind, freedom... There are almost no walls and no windows, only bamboo floor and cotton curtains... Hotel location is ideally in my opinion. There is its own small beach beside the hotel (Diniwid). And it's also easy to get Station 1 and White beach (around 20 mins by walk). The staff was very friendly and welcoming (thank you guys!) we enjoyed our staying so much.. The food was also perfect and the most delicious shake i tasted there. I just fell in love with this place and if i get the chance to go back to Boracay i'll stay definitely in Spider <3

Room Tip: The corner room (#1) is really big and has one of the best view in the hotel (IMHO).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My friend and I just stayed at Spider House. The location is so beautiful. Diniwid Beach is just perfect. It is quiet and has gorgeous white sand and turquoise water. The food is great, the rooms are comfortable and have lovely views, but the staff at Spider House are by far the best thing about staying here. They are all so warm and helpful. I was happy we chose this as our Boracay home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongducheon, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Spider House Resort was a pretty cool stay, it felt like a fantasy club house that I always wanted when I was a kid. I love how the layout of the place felt very organic and not merely rooms that were stacked on top of and beside each other. The view from the bar area was great and the staff were very friendly.

I do have a few complaints though. Since it's an open air room, there is no air conditioning and it can get very hot at times. I knew this before I booked the room though and I thought it would be cool, but I think I would have much rather preferred the comfort of a room with AC. The bathroom's were a bit subpar in my opinion as well. The free wifi signal from my room was very strong though. There were even some gentlemen that helped carry my bags over the beach to the hotel (or at least the said the worked there) were we got dropped off by the trike.

The atmosphere of the place is quite magical. However, if you prefer the comforts of air conditioning, television, and room service, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the most amazing place to go on a vacation that I can imagine. What a unique experience. The staff was awesome. The atmosphere it provided is something you wouldn't get at a 5 star resort, the location was perfect. I can't say how much I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.