We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel away from White Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Boracay
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel away from White Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a great time. We arrived a little bit early for check in so they gave us some complimentary drinks while we waited for our room to be ready. There are a few little critters around but they didn't bother us too much - just a couple of crabs and a spider (but it's not that surprising given the location). Paul, the manager was really welcoming and he gave us some advice on things to do while we were there. The best part about this hotel is that it's at Diniwid Beach. Personally I found White Beach to be overcrowded and a bit tacky so it was nice to get away. The food was also amazing so we had lunch there a lot, breakfasts are also delicious. The pancake was like eating an actual cake - highly recommend them. I did get bitten by mosquitos a bit but I must've been lying right on the edge of the bed against the mosquito net. Wifi didn't work in our room but worked perfectly in the bar. We had some issues with our shower but that go fixed pretty easily, however there was a brown-out for hours the next day so our shower was old. That was easily fixed with a swim in the ocean anyway. We were pretty lucky with weather even though it was low season but on the last night, there was a pretty big storm around 3am. Being an open-air room meant we just had to get up and pull down the blinds. I would definitely stay here over any place at White Beach. Having said that if you want something more luxurious there are a couple of other resorts at Diniwid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    69
    27
    19
    10
See reviews for
26
145
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

located at the great place, neighbor to the well-known west cave, which is the best point to view the sunset of Boracay. The room is good, especially the Room No.1 we have stayed at, which is right at the corner with 270 sea view. However two suggestions: 1.Better check all the nails or sharped things on the floor, my friends's foot was hurt deeply bleeding in the midnight, finally we have to woke up the security guard for helping.(Terrible) 2. Some of the mosquito net was old with some holes, need to be changed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Yes, it has lovely views from the balcony, you can jump into the ocean from the restaurant, it has a nice little beach next to the hotel, the area is not too crazy as station 1 and such, BUT

Con:
1. We stayed at room 3 & room 7 (total 7 days). Rm 3 is right above the restaurant, i heard mostly all conversations of the staff early in the morning (i guess 7-ish). Music sometimes started early and loud in the morning as well (and throughout the day in the afternoon till evening). So we moved to rm 7, although without the disturbance from the restaurant, people who talked at the hotel entrance were still overheard in the room
2. Construction never stop. Ok, i have to say staff are all hardworking there. They started all the hammering, sawing..etc early in the morning, earliest at 8-ish, latest at 9 (happened to both rooms).
3. Definitely wont get your sleep if it rains and thunders in the evening.
4. Towels and bathrooms are worn out. For clean freaks, definitely bring your own towel and slippers
5. Housekeeping never changed the towel and bed sheet for our 1 week stay.
6. Insects / Animal surprises. Saw loads of ants in bathroom, geckos in balcony, kittens on your bathroom door frame. OK, I personally didn't expect I would see a tail hanging down from the bathroom door frame tbh!!
7. Tricycle can't stop right at the door. It's not a problem during the day, but it's quite a hassle on the way back to the hotel under the rain in the dark.

Pro:
1. Situated in nice quiet area, Diniwid beach is small yet marine life can be easily found
2. Hotel restaurant does yummy breakfast (beware of ants on the table though)
3. Tricycles are always available within 3 mins walk from hotel

Others:
1. White Beach & D'Mall are not as close as we expected. Yes you can reach THE EDGE of white beach in 15 mins, but to the main part or even to d'mall it takes min 30 mins on foot.

Room Tip: Say no to room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We moved to Spider House to gain more experience of Boracay, though our 2 night stay was not as impressive as other commented earlier. We stayed at room 1 which is just above the restaurant and the main entrance, so the noise was beyond our tolerance. We tried to catch some sleep but heard 100% the talks and the music below during day time and night until late. At night I couldn't sleep well since there was some boat idling out the bay and they play dancing music all night. The resort was doing some renovation works during our stay too I guest, since I heard they banging on our roof. They didn't change the towel for us unless we asked. The mattress was too soft causing us backache. even they have mosquito net, some naughty mosquitos still leaked into and we got bites both night. Breakfast is not included, so you have no choice but to pay for it, though quality was not as we had expected. They did the housekeeping while we was down for breakfast, then we weren't happy. We left all belonging inside and noticed our money was lost after. Though we moved from previous resort to this place so had not enough evidence to blame. Though I advise you always keep your belonging and money in safe place while in Boracay.
Though we enjoyed the view from our room and the diniwid beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raiford, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Epitome of posh camping! Definitely for the more adventurous. You are staying in a treehouse.. On the side of a mountain over the water. Nothing beats waking up and being able to jump in the water from your room. The views around the hotel are amazing and we loved that the hotel was away from the craziness of white beach! For everyone crying about the bugs.. You're in a tree house .. Really people. And about the ants.. Easy fix... Don't leave food or drinks in your room. We stayed in the sunset room and we had no problems with ants or any type of other bug. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The food was awesome! They have an amazing kitchen staff and work with you if you have any requests. It happened to be my birthday and the manager and staff brought me a cake and sang to me! Good times at the Spider House! The manager Paul was there everyday and made it a point to say Hi and talk to everyone in the bar/restaurant area. We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time.

Room Tip: Sunset Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zambales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed here for 7 days and it would have been a perfect place if the management would maintain it well...great view, great room concept imagine having a tree inside your room which is nice..until it rains then it's leaking all over your floor...it is in the quiet side of boracay and walking to the different stations is a good exercise but better exercise is counting how many times you said NO to those people that offered hats, sunglasses, island hopping, para sailing etc...

I am not a great fan of boracay it is over commercialized, no planning, beach is dirty specially on the other side where all their waste is going but another tick in the box.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we reached to the resort, I was thrilled with the place and it really caught my eye. The staff was so nice and services was good too. We also obtained lots of informations about Boracay island including walkway distance from Diniwid up to station 3.
The bar / lounge view are a 5-star. Nothing can buy experience if you know what i mean and the price is quite affordable ranging between RM140 - RM200.
I will definitely go back to spiderhouse Resort to spend my time relaxing....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.