We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous views of the crystal clear water and surrounding area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Save Saved
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 132 hotels in Boracay
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous views of the crystal clear water and surrounding area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Spider House for 7 days and was quite satisfied. I saw all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor for this place and was instantly interested in the unique living experience (how cool does it sound to live in a bamboo tree house above the sea?!). I’ll list the pros and cons of the place so other viewers can get an idea of the place:

Pros:
-Stunning, gorgeous view of Boracay. The restaurant/lounge/bar area is extremely well situated. You can peer over the balcony and admire the sea, or better yet, dive straight into the ocean. Every morning I looked forward to coming downstairs and eating breakfast and looking out at the ocean. Greatest view of honestly the clearest, greenest sea I’ve ever seen!
-Great atmosphere. The restaurant/lounge/bar area is fairly big, so all the other guests and visitors can all hang out and drink and eat together. The overall atmosphere of the place is relaxed and inviting. Mostly a younger crowd of guests (which was great), so we weren’t bothered or annoyed with crying babies or old cranky elders.
-Yummy food. The food is great! Loved the adobo chicken wrap, cheese sticks, mango shakes and margaritas. Every morning we had breakfast and drinks at the restaurant and usually every night after coming home we would get some drinks and go for a night swim.
-Far away from the noise and craziness of White Beach. Spider House is located in Diniwind beach, so it’s at the far end of everything. When we first arrived in Boracay, I was really turned off by the loud obnoxious club music and crazy drunks in the main part of White Beach, so the quiet nature of the Spider House was nice. Even though it’s far away from everything else, the peaceful nature of everything was a nice break from the noise. Also I found that the sand and ocean was nicer the farther away you got from the main crowds at White Beach. The sand around the far end of Station 1 was the best and the water near our resort was extremely clean!

Cons:
-It’s called the “Spider house” for a reason. There were tons of spiders in the rafters and corners. This didn’t really bother me since I’m used to some bugs around, but if you’re squeamish about bugs, don’t stay here. Even though there is a mosquito net for each bed, bugs can get in! (little ants, spiders, etc). There was also a really large cockroach in our shower one night, but we just picked it up in one of the buckets and flushed it down the toilet, no big deal.
-Noise can be an issue. While the open air, only 3 walls of your room aspect is awesome and I’ve never seen a resort that is totally open and exposed like that, since your room isn’t actually enclosed at all by any wall, noise carries extremely easily. Some reviews mentioned that being above the bar could be noisy. We were in Superior C, so we were really far up the stairs and couldn’t hear the bar. We could, however, hear the walkie talkies of the security guards and the music from the clubs on White Beach. I got used to the noise fairly easy, but if you’re a light sleeper – bring plugs.
-No air con. There are fans in the room, which were really nice, however it was still a little warm. During the night I was okay (my bf said he was still a bit uncomfortable though), but during the morning/day, the room was pretty warm, and sleeping in really wasn’t much of an option.
-Location is far away from the main drag of beach. So this is a pro and a con. The resort is totally private and peaceful, but if you do want to head into town, it’s about a 15~20minute walk. You can walk directly on the beach which is nice, so whenever I got hot, I just jumped in the ocean. But it is a long walk to make daily, especially when it’s hot.

Overall I’d definitely recommend the Spider House. As I mentioned, it’s a really unique place to stay. I don’t think I’ll really ever have the opportunity to stay in a bamboo treehouse again, so if you’re up for a fun adventure and if you’re not bothered by the above mentioned things, you’ll surely enjoy staying here.

Access: 180p tricycle ride from the ferry station (the rate board says 35p to Diniwind… but every driver I talked to said 180p..) They drop you off at the end of some street. Walk straight down some alley and you come out on the beach. Turn right and you have to walk through ~3 other resorts… you’ll walk through some cave like path and come out and see the Spider House sign lit up. Just literally keep walking until you dead end at the resort. A bit of a long walk with baggage, so pack light!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a Superior room. You'll want the private bathroom and view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    60
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
129
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Like every other reviewer, I have to draw my hat to Spider House for creating what has to be the most jaw-droppingly gorgeous hotel/hostel I've ever seen and -hand down the most attractice place to stay in Boracay. The views from the bar area and the rooms are simply stunning and the private decking with direct access to the crystal-clear turquoise water is utterly brilliant.

The whole house is made up of bamboo and wood and is beautifully lit up with fairy lights at night. It has the feel of a pirate hang-out and hanging out in the bar in the evening was definitely one of the great pleasures of our holiday.

Now, for the downside: the noise. Because the house is made of bamboo, and most rooms only have three walls (the last one is left open for the views), you can hear literally everything from people walking in and out, the (sometimes very) loud music from the bar, your neighbours, and worst of all, the damn pumpboats putputting across the bay from 6.30am onwards. It doesn't offer much privacy or the chance to rest but it is definitely a gorgeous place.

The food and drinks were good value for Boracay (and very tasty) and the owner was good advice on things to see and do, so overall, we would absolutely recommend this place - and would go back ourselves.

Room Tip: The higher the better (away from the bar area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay in spider house. we stayed for one night, because we could not afford to stay for another. the room was p3000, and had a partial view of the ocean, which was still incredible. i dont understand why people on here are complaining that they could hear everything going on in the hotel or that it felt like the floor was breaking or dirty, IT'S A TREE HOUSE, what do you expect. most the rooms only have 2 walls anyway and the rest is made out of bamboo!(there is a net on the bed so the bugs don't bother you at night, and the sea breeze was lovely) we couldn't hear what was going on in the bar, i think its very much down to where your room is located, if you're up for a bit more of an exciting place to stay and don't expect 5 star luxury all the time, spider house is perfect. nice little restaurant/bar area downstairs with a pool table and cocktail bar, but the food is pricey as we realised when we settled the bill at checkout (aswell as being overpriced, all the food comes with an extra 10% service charge which we thought was pretty cheeky). you can jump from the restaurant straight into the sea, and there's a raft to swim out to. it was an amazing experience, but too pricey for our trip.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The only reason I'm not giving this place a five-star rating is because it's a little bit of walk from the main road. Otherwise, this place just really leaves an ever-lasting impression.

We never got tired of looking out of the room to see the vast, clear sea right before us...

The simple yet thoughtful decor of the room is remarkable.

The food and juices at the restaurant are very good.

Staff are very nice. The owner is quite a character and definitely a key part of the whole Spider House experience :)

We sailed on the Spider House boat - tons of fun! Jumped off the restaurant platform during high tide - whoah nelly! Saw schools of fish from our room's window... (I think I even saw a sword fish)

Anyway, I totally recommend this place for the adventurous at heart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was really fabulous, i just got back from the Spider House where i stayed about a week. And we did not want to leave...like ever!!! The rooms are awesome, the staff and also the management is like family and the views are breathtaking, especially the sunsets. The scene is rustic and warm, no luxuries and other things that you don't really need :) The rooms offer exactly what you need : relaxation and peace! And the people that stay here are not guests, are family, you will make friends as soon as you get here! I know one thing, when i get back in the Phillipines, i will most definetely stay again in The Spider House!

Room Tip: we stayed in Superior 1 room and it was the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location although it is a little trek up the island but really well worth it!
The rooms could do with a bit of maintenance like the beds could be flatter :)
Few bugs and mozzies but if you can handle that, you'd be fine.
The staff are what makes this place (besides the view) and they just make you feel so welcome.
My advice - spend the money and get the sunset room!!!!!
Your own sleep out, bathroom, balcony and swimming cove. It's to die for!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel name originates from the decoration and the many spiders that live in your room and bathroom.

After staying more than a week in other cheaper places in Boracay, we arrived to the Spider House, knowing it would be a "rustic" place. The site location is unique, and the style is very different from what I could see before, so is the decoration.
Warm welcome, and the staff is very nice to the customers, as in most places in the Island.
There are baby beds and stools in the lobby.

Location is great: in small Diniwid beach, at walking distance from the White Beach where most of the tourist attractions are located.

Our room had a nice view, too bad that one quarter of it consisted in a condemned stair that could have been converted into a bathroom!! The private bathroom is located outside of the room, with a direct sight on the security post from the next resort, 4m below.
The evacuation is a hole in the ground, always leaving a layer of 0.5 cm of water around the toilet . Flushing adds water to this inside pond, so do not forget your flip flops.
A nail in the wall would have been welcome to hold the towels or clean clothes so the best is to bather in a swimming suit and dry in the room.

The hotel is quite hot compared to the neighbourhood, as the wind was not blowing in the good direction. The fan in the room is welcome. So are the free water bottles and soap.

Bed is too short, and also is the mosquito net! And do not forget to check for holes in the net.
Part of the furniture was broken. Something if falling from the ceiling (concrete?) as in the morning there is some brown powder on my pillow and on the table next to it. The rest of the bed is protected by a sheet pinned on the ceiling. This might also originate from the people walking in the room above, likely staff.

In short, this would have been a good experience if the bathroom was not so terrible (compared to what can be found in the island) and this powder on the bed. They are cleaned every day, so no cure was sought to solve the issues or optimize the room.

Room Tip: Not possible to choose your room (check on their website)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.