We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House Resort

Save Saved
You added Spider House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spider House Resort
Diniwid Beach, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Almost there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel name originates from the decoration and the many spiders that live in your room and bathroom.

After staying more than a week in other cheaper places in Boracay, we arrived to the Spider House, knowing it would be a "rustic" place. The site location is unique, and the style is very different from what I could see before, so is the decoration.
Warm welcome, and the staff is very nice to the customers, as in most places in the Island.
There are baby beds and stools in the lobby.

Location is great: in small Diniwid beach, at walking distance from the White Beach where most of the tourist attractions are located.

Our room had a nice view, too bad that one quarter of it consisted in a condemned stair that could have been converted into a bathroom!! The private bathroom is located outside of the room, with a direct sight on the security post from the next resort, 4m below.
The evacuation is a hole in the ground, always leaving a layer of 0.5 cm of water around the toilet . Flushing adds water to this inside pond, so do not forget your flip flops.
A nail in the wall would have been welcome to hold the towels or clean clothes so the best is to bather in a swimming suit and dry in the room.

The hotel is quite hot compared to the neighbourhood, as the wind was not blowing in the good direction. The fan in the room is welcome. So are the free water bottles and soap.

Bed is too short, and also is the mosquito net! And do not forget to check for holes in the net.
Part of the furniture was broken. Something if falling from the ceiling (concrete?) as in the morning there is some brown powder on my pillow and on the table next to it. The rest of the bed is protected by a sheet pinned on the ceiling. This might also originate from the people walking in the room above, likely staff.

In short, this would have been a good experience if the bathroom was not so terrible (compared to what can be found in the island) and this powder on the bed. They are cleaned every day, so no cure was sought to solve the issues or optimize the room.

Room Tip: Not possible to choose your room (check on their website)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    56
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
22
121
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First time I arrived at Spider house I was overwhelmed with the magnificent view on the ocean by the deck and the mysterious house that it is with all its passage ways and hidden rooms. When one stay's for a little while you realize that it is not only a house but a home as all the people you will meet there including the owner and his children are honest people and genuinely interested in who you are. People who come here are from all over the world but all have something in common, which is to live the dream just for one night.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to spend a little more because you will get so much back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had great one week in the Spider house the beautiful nice food great people around !
Allan is always there to talking and help the guests !
You gonna love to meet him !
Thanks again for the great time man !
I hope to come back in the future !!

Cleverson

Room Tip: All the good is big and have a amazing view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Spider House is one of the most unique resorts I've ever stayed in. My in-laws, husband, baby and I all stayed there for five days and we loved our room. It was big enough to hang out in with plenty of room for the baby to run around, and we loved how it was totally open to the ocean and the sky on one side. Waking up to the sun streaming in was one of the best experiences I've had in any hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the owner, Alan, was a great resource on the where, when, and how much of Boracay. The food was good - a bit pricey compared to local joints but cheaper than the other resorts around. And the location at the end of the beach made it just secluded enough to feel like our own paradise without making it impossible to leave. Diniwid Beach is a much nicer place to stay than White Beach, as it isn't nearly as over-developed. If you want to do Boracay without feeling like your in the resort mecca of the Philippines, stay at the Spider House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A friend and I had the privilege of spending 8 days here over New Year 2013. Wow- it was amazing! I have been to a number of beautiful places in the world, but none can rival the beauty of Boracay.

Spider House is an experience in itself. It boasts the best views on the island and a friendly welcoming atmosphere, not to mention really really good food. Alan and his team really made us feel like part of the family.You could easliy spend your whole holiday lazing on the deck here. The water surrounding Spider House is crystal clear and warm and was my favourite swimming spot on the island. It is a short walk or tricycle ride to the rest of the island and a perfect base for exploring.

The food - OMG I gained at least 2kgs from the chocolate and mango pancakes! The kitchen was really accommodating and happy to deviate from the menu upon request. Don't be in a hurry for your food. Good food takes time - sit back and enjoy the deck while you wait.

Spider House is not your average hotel - all built from bamboo and wood with the sound of ghekos calling (no spiders). There is no airconditioning, so if luxury is your thing, this is not the place for you! I have seen reviews that have compared Spider House to camping - this is a myth, although I concede that you need to be a little adventurous to fully appreciate its quirky nature. We booked a suite which was very spacious with a sensational view which made up for the fact that facilities are basic (no television but you can stay connected with free wifi) Warning - the bamboo walls are thin and sound travels, so be prepared to get to know your neighbours well :)

I travelled with a friend, but would be very comfortable going back alone. It is very condusive to meeting fellow travellers without being creepy.

Would I go back? In a heatbeat - next time I'll stay an extra week though...

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views. The suites are really good value for money and give you a bit of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice location, for those who don't like the crowded places as on the main white beach.
Rooms are nice but need to get some reparations here or there, by long rain, there are some leakages which can lead to wet clothes in the wardrobe.
Everything is made of bamboo and natural materials which is nice but the noice isolation is poor, especially when you book the suite 3 direclty over the bar and kitchen: the music level is a bit too high in the evening, especially if you travel with children (if not, I guess this would be ok...) and the smell of the cooking is a bit annoying because it reaches exactly up to the room.
For young people with no kids, I bet it is very nice!

Room Tip: not the ones direcltly above the bar/kitchen/lobby (too noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 3 days here with my husband, starting our trip round Phillippines. It was wonderful beginning, despite the fact we found Boracay island owercrowded and noisy, this was the highlight. Based on the quiet part of the island, close to nice Puka beach, I can fully recommend the place to people who like non-traditional way of accomodation, close to the sea and sand, listening to the waves, feeling the fresh breeze during the night. Very nice staff, friendly and comfortable bar, just great!

Room Tip: We hade room 4 with perfect view, just above the sea. The only issue was with toilet, which was rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.