We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa

Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa
Barangay Yapak | Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa, Aklan Province, Philippines (Formerly Rima)
+63 36 288 4988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 222 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rima is an elegant tree house restaurant offering international cuisine in an intimate location amidst the green in the resort's hilltops. It has been named one of the Philippines' Best Restaurants by the Philippine Tatler four years in a row. Dress code: Resort chic, no flip flops.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

great Italian food. wonderful starter bread selection. place is a bit dark but its kinda romantic. amazing service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, disappointing food, shambolic service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful setting but very disappointing food and shambolic service. Not worth the money.  Indigo at discovery shores and the restaurant at the ambassador both offered superior food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places to eat in Boracay, but pricey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I were on vacation in Boracay recently. I wanted to stay at the ShangriLa Resort because that is rated #1 by TA, and the photos from the hotel web site were lovely. I didn't want to pay $550/night for a garden view room or $650/night for a seaview, so we stayed somewhere else, #3 choice on TA.
We decided to eat once here to see what the resort is like. RIMA is their Italian restaurant set in a tree top setting. It is simply beautiful with indoor and outdoor dining options. The whole space is opened up and looks very airy and chic. The venue is so high up on the hillside you need a driver and buggy to get up there from reception. Take the hotel shuttle from D Mall to avoid a cab fare.
The service is top notch and the menu eclectic with meat and fish and vegetarian choices. You can also choose risotto, pasta and pizza if you like. It is dark here after 530 PM and so we can't see any of the lovely views to the sea, and the room is extremely dark, lit only by the candle on the dining table.
We ordered crusted tuna for my wife, grilled grouper fish for me, two garden salads, and a tiramisu desert. That with two iced drinks and a small bottle of water came out to $110US, 10% SC added in automatically. The food was delicious and presented in the highest quality. The entrees were also of large quantity as well as quality. You probably don't need to order desert because RIMA throws in free cookies and truffles at the end of your dinner- a nice touch!
Nothing compares to RIMA in Boracay. In my books it is the best place on the island for that special occasion.
We also had a quick look at the hotel lobby, bar area etc. The whole place is simply wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We went here May 2012. I went here with my wife and 2 kids, and we enjoyed our dinner. Unlike other expensive dinning places, Rima's staff made us feel comfortable. None of that "we are a fine dinning place" Our kids can get a little noisy at times but they were very accomodating. The food was excellent, from the pizza to the pasta to the steak, everything was done perfectly, you could taste the freshness of the ingredients, and the flavor never overwhelms the food. You'll taste the vegies in the salad, the meat in the steak. This was our second time here (the first one 2010) and it has not disappointed us. It would be our reason to go back to boracay.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we wanted to visit and try the restaurant. You can catch a shuttle here from D'Mall every 30 minutes (and return too). We stopped at the other hotel restaurant Sirena first for drinks - very beautiful and there was live music. Then then took us by shuttle to Rima. Service was excellent. We were perched up in a tree, the setting was very beautiful and relaxing. It was very quite, it would have been nice to have some live music here too.

What we ate:
Chefs choice apps - do this, they pick 6 apps for you and present on a scaling tower. A neat way to try a lot of different things. Everything was delicious
Risotto - very good
Veal Cheeks filled pasta - wow - so good
Pizza, just okay
they gave us a tray of bit sized sweets. We were too full to order anything more.

Next time I'd stay at Sirena, I like the live music. But if you want a quiet secluded dinner, try this out, the food was excellent as was the service.

Our shuttle driver gave us a tour of the property after dinner since we had 15 minutes before the shuttle back to D'Mall was due to arrive - very nice :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.