We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to feel Boracay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bayou Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Blue Bayou Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blue Bayou Bungalows
Bulabog Road, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 171 Boracay B&B and Inns
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best way to feel Boracay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were staying at Blue Bayou for 1 week in Dec 2012 and can't say something bad about this place.
It's located close to Bulabog, the way to White Beach takes about 10 minutes. I really don't think it's disadvantage because: the place is very silent, whereas around White beach is too crowdy and loud, very nice road to the beach beside the school and local houses.
In Blue Bayou you really feel the soul of tropical island - the territory is tiny and green, "recepcion" - summer house, bungalows with "straw" roof.
Staff is exclusively lovely. Girls, owners, night security, cooker sincrecily friendly. Really want to thanks to the cooker for perfect breakfast, I miss her Veggie omelet.
Bungalows are very spacious - living room at the first floor, bedroom upstairs, the interior is very simple and nice. Please be aware that Boracay's cocks don't sleep at night, you'll hear it!
I would highly recommended this place for people who want to feel local life.
You can book huge and superb hotel everywhere in the world, but only bungalows like Blue Bayou make you feel that you have traveled halfway around the world to reach this small beautiful island in the middle of Phillipines!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Satun, Thailand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Situated in Zone 5 in Boracay on a quiet street, about a 10 minute walk from the D-Mall. That might not seem too bad, but it feels so far from the main part of Boracay that we come for. Tricycles are cheap but they get tiresome as well. It is located near a beach but fails miserably compared to the beauty of the beach on the other side of the island. Oh, and get used to the sound of rooster crows. There is a 24 hour grocery store at the top of the road and a few fast food stalls that never closed.

As for the rooms, very basic. Bed was stiff, I do not miss that mattress. No air conditioning, just a fan. Wi-fi signal should reach all bungalows as mine was one of the farthest from the lobby hut, but connection was intermittent. TV had a good selection of channels but was very small and probably 20 years old. Bathrooms were clean with heated showerheads.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, a common practice of Filipinos. Breakfast was free and delicious. Restaurant was not open for lunch or dinner while I stayed.

This place has its ups and downs, seems like you could get a similar guesthouse at a similar price closer to the heart of Boracay so that's what I'd recommend.

Room Tip: If you are going to use wi-fi a lot in your room, request a bungalow close to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent service and owners are friendly. Great value and would stay here again. Quiet, clean and within easy walking distance to white beach. Breakfast is superb!

The owners will make you feel at home. The owners' hospitality is priceless!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights,booked from booking.com and supposed to stay 4 nights,but the super typhoon Bopha\pablo was approaching. We decided to shorten our trip in Boracay, and the manager didn't charge my cancellation fee about other 2nights after hearing our concerns, and very kindly to lend me her cellphone to call the airphill express,helped me change the flight. Without her help, cannot imagine how I can do because somany people called and long hoding on the line made my cellphone out of balance very quickly。and i must get changing ready at that night。So huge help!

For the location ,7min walk to D mall,10min to white beach,3min to baladog beach, it's quiat place not many traffic,but has cock crow at dawn

The servant was quite good, and also the breakfast,the bed in fan room is dry which we are very appreciated

Next time we will also stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, wished I booked longer. Became good friends with owners. Lovely people and also the staff. Short and fun walking distance to white beach and for kiters close to bulabog beach. Nicely situated in a natural setting. The breakfast....oh man, the breakfast is amazing. Even after I moved to another place, I still ate breakfast there, sometimes twice a day KAZINGA!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try the veggie omelet with a nice coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Can't beat the price. Within easy walking distance to White Beach. Great cute bungalows. We went as a couple and found this place amazing. The breakfast is the best we have ever had in the Philippines- it is made to order, and delicious! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The TV has all the good stations. If you don't need a pool and are looking for great value, definately stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Between Bulabog Beach and White Beach, Blue Bayou Bungalows is one great place to stay. Both beaches are just a short walk from Blue Bayou. The typical "nipa hut" accommodations are an added attraction. I was given a fan room next to the reception/bar/breakfast nook. The place is quiet and a welcome respite after a whole day's walk around the beaches. Wi-fi is excellent and it's free. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was splendid. And to my surprise(being a coffee addict!), brewed coffee is served! The owner and the staff were very accommodating, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bayou Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bayou Bungalows

Address: Bulabog Road, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bayou is a cozy home away from home, a perfect place to stay while enjoying the pleasures of tropical paradise, Boracay. Tucked in a lush garden away from the bustle, each freestanding cottage is the perfect combination of modern accommodation and native flair with its loft-bedroom, kitchenette and spacious veranda. The resort is situated an ideal 100 meters away from Asia's best windsurf and kitesurfing spot Bulabog Beach and is only a 5-minute walk away from the island's famed White Beach (Boat Station 1 area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Bayou Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bayou Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.