We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spider House

Spider House
Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
+63 36 288 2350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 229 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Spider House is a bar and restaurant situated on Diniwid Beach, where you can hang out away from the busy environment of White Beach. We serve simple bar chow, great sushi and pita wraps. Our bar serves very good cocktails and we are a popular sunset spot for tourists and locals alike. We host a popular monthly party called Sunset Sessions, featuring the island's best DJs.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went back 3 days in a row for the great food - yummy drinks and Awe-inspiring view. This place is just beautiful - Will definitely be returning to this place. Well worth the trek from station 2!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    27
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best place in boracay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were so happy when we found this wonderful place tucked away from all the crowd. It has everything you could wish for on your holiday. Friendly service, nice cocktails and food, chilled atmosphere with the right music, direct access to the beautifull clear water, perfect view of the beach, ocean and the sunset. We used most of our time here because we felt so much at home. You find it by walking pass the rocks at the end of station 1. Walk to the end of this next quiet beach and you find this perfect spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best lounge atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Bar is located on the rock right near the sea. Best sunset view and roar of the sea right under your feet at night. Perfect music and cocktails however lacks good food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset and Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family of four went to Spider House to get the best view of the sunset. We were pleased to find out they also had a diving platform, so the kids had an excellent time! We were very happy with the food, as well. The mango roll was an instant hit, especially with the kids! We wish we had discovered Spider House in the earlier part of our trip. That's the one place that made this trip to Boracay memorable. We're definitely going back! Oh, and the sunset view was AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A magical place that MADE our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We heard from a number of people- one being our kitesurfing instructor that this was a must-see place while we were on Boracay. I'm very glad we made it there at the beginning of our stay as we ended up there almost every day for sunset. My boyfriend and I met the manager, Paul on the first day and he made us feel so welcome- a true people person whose nature is to make you feel relaxed and like part of the family from the very beginning.
We spent the best New Years eve I can ever remember having there, we're already planning to make it back to stay there before the end of the year.
Unfortunately I booked accommodation at the last minute, and sadly Spider House was fully booked, so we will make sure to get in there early next time as we were lucky enough to see some of the rooms and they are spectacular!
The style of Spider House is true to a magnificent bamboo Philippino house built on a rock peninsula- NOT a stock-standard luxury hotel.
Therefore, you get spectacular ocean views, a quiet little beach- away from the hawkers, crowds and bad music of White beach... it also means if you get back to authentic living with fans and ocean breezes to keep you cool- not air conditioning, and no toxic bug spray- the local little namesake spiders keep the mosquitos and flys away. Don't worry about the little spideys, they won't hurt you and happily mind their own business, protecting you from other bugs- it's a simple, natural and harmonious little system they have worked out there!
The restaurant and bar serve the best fresh-juice cocktails, and I didn't get to try a lot of the dishes, but the house special- a wasabi-mayo tuna cevice, as well as the prawn marsala were a hi-light.
All the staff are so warm, with just the right amount of cheeky if you throw a smile at them - so don't miss out on the fun by being a sour-puss like I saw some of the other grump tourists - you're in Boracay for god's sake!
Thank you Spider House for so many wonderful memories - WE WILL BE BACK! (with friends!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spider House also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Spider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.