We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay

Save Saved
You added Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boat Station 3 Area, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the location situated directly in front of the beach. The main lobby is an outdoor patio which also serves as the breakfast dining area and provides a nice place to sit under shade. It's the only location which has wifi. Rooms have cable connection internet. They also have an outdoor tent set up on the beach with live music and bar in the evenings. Very accessible to the beach and the main beach walking path with many tourists on the trail. If you walk down the trail for 15 minutes you will come across D Mall for loads of shopping and eating.

The room was very clean; bathroom, floor, and sheets. I noticed a slight smell from wet swim wear or humidity so i recommend opening the balcony window. I ate pizza in the room one night and put the leftover in the fridge but by next morning an army of ants appeared from nowhere.

On the third floor is the swimming pool and an outdoor shower to remove sand. A great place to relax and take pictures.

I took the plane to Kalipo Airport and then about an hour an a half shuttle ride to the main port. Then it's a 20 minute boat ride to Boracay. From there a about 15 minute bus/motorcycle ride to the hotel.

The beach has many locals who regularly solicit tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The first thing that strikes you about this hotel is the location - its a fair walk from the main road, and yes the staff are there to help with the bags, but in the rain, it can be a long wet walk.
The transfers from airport to hotel location were well handled, met at the airport, and transfered to the boat and then a van to the hotel.
Once you arrive at the hotel proper, you see that its right on the beach, wonderful, but the access to the beach is made difficult by the screens spread along the beach to stop wind and rain. (More later)
We checked in smoothly, if a bit soulessly. However, next morning, the issues began. There was construction noise at 7 am (and again at 7pm for that matter). The offerings for breakfast are not good, and if you want toast they have to take your bread away to toast. (we found a better breakfast at the Sands next door, and cheaper too).
The water pressure and temperature in the shower was very variable. We had a leak from under the sink which I reported on day one - we still had the leak the day we checked out. Not sure, maybe they thought we liked it.
There is net in the rooms, but for the entire week stay it was out of action. There is Wifi in the lobby area, but that can be slow, if many are using it.
The staff we found generaly ok, although the front desk staff were a little vague about things, and especially about laundry when I inquired.
Laundry is done for you, return next morning, but we needed to ask several times for a laundry bag, and there appears to be no such thing as a slip to complete when you put the laundry in. I wrote the details on a letter head. However, its cheap, 80php per kilo. It was clean when it came back, but not very well ironed.
Now, you would think, located right on the beach, and subject to never ending sand ingress from peoples feet, that the rooms would be swept every day to remove the sand. Well, think again, our room was not swept once in the week we were there. I used a towel every day to sweep it from the traffic areas in the room to under the desk, and thats where it was when we left.
There are very few rooms with any decent view, and word of caution, due to the outside lift arrangement, and these being glass, some rooms look out onto the lifts, so you will need to ensure curtains are closed for any privacy.
There is a roof pool and one for toddlers too, which is a pleasant area, but can be windy when its really blowing hard.
One good thing I can say, is that the rooms have an Aussie power socket, so adaptors are not necessary.
Now, the screens on the beach. Most hotels are located along the nicest beach, but this also seems to be the weather side, because nearly all places have bamboo and plastic screens erected both along the beach and removeable ones that get placed in front of the hotels. Most businesses are open fronted, taking advantage of the weather, but paying the price when the weather is bad. The beach screens both restrict ease of access and are an eyesore on what is really a nice beach, but it appears are a necessary evil, and they all have them, so all are affected.
Overall, this hotel is just ok, from our wanderings along the beach, there appeared to be better ones in other areas, but without staying at them, appearances could be deceptive.

Room Tip: Dont get a room next to a lift shaft. Ask at check in to make sure you dont get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Mari and I will stay on this hotel this coming august..after reading all of those previous reviews honestly I'm soo bothered and hesitant now with this hotel. But still I wanna give them a chance to prove sumthing. So I'll be back next month and write a review (I'll give an update realtime hegehehehe)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Where do I start with this hotel.  Firstly a transfer was arranged from catlican airport for which I received a confirmation letter, arrived at the airport no transfer waiting.  Tried contacting the hotel on the telephone number the reservation agent could not help.  In fact the airport porter flagged down the hotel staff to provide the transfer, despite having the confirmation letter the hotel staff was reluctant to provide the transfer.  

Stayed in the presidential suite, don't let the name fool you nothing presidential about it.  I have stayed in bigger standard rooms in my time. The room was not serviced properly everyday some days missing towels, rubbish not cleared and other days not cleaned at all until a call was made to reception. 

During our stay an extension of the hotels was  been constructed no mention of this at time of booking or anywhere on their website.  The noise starts from 6am into the evening.  Due to the constructions the "infinite" pool was not working in fact I highly doubt there was any water circulating at all.  There was sand and pieces of coral on the bottom of the pool and remained there until we departed.

Speaking of departing my party had to leave a day earlier due to compassionate reasons, trying to receive any refund from the amount that had to be pre paid upon arrival was horrendous.  It involved multiple calls and trying to speaking to a duty manager who was not even on site. Finally after not only speaking to the duty manager, the general manger but also accounts manager they agreed to refund 1 nights accommodation. Upon checking out the next day of course no one had any idea in regards to the refund. In fact still awaiting the promised refund.

Be warned about this mismanaged property, there are much better options in Boracay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Just an overall poor experience. Staff unfriendly and not willing to assist. Had to call housekeeper every evening to make up the presidential suite. Breakfast was poor. There was construction and we weren't advised and the pool was a light shade of green.

Don't waste your time, stay elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here around New Year's and did not have a good experience at this hotel.

The hotel policies are ridiculous. You can't have more towels, unless you switch out the ones you have in your room. The hotel is on a beach. Of course we'll need more towels. The staff wanted to charge us for a towel that had a small stain that we didn't even cause. They should've cleaned their thin towels better. You also need to get a key in order to open the fridge in the room.

Got abruptly woken up on our first morning by a jack-hammer going away at it on a wall a couple feet from our room. The hotel was in the middle of construction. Half of the hotel still needed to be built. I had to complain to get us moved to another room. The breakfast was lackluster. Nothing too appetizing w/ flies swarming around. The staff also needs to be better trained.

As for stuff the hotel can't fix, the location is far off from the center of action. Boat station #2 is more lively, with the bars and restaurants. Boat station #1 is much nicer. I'm avoiding this hotel and the area the next time I'm in Boracay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Where would you like me to start...
a) Forgot to pick my friends & I up at airport... yet still charged us for the transfer
b) After booking 2 months in advance... Room was not ready upon arrival
c) No King size bed available... Their solution was to push to single beds together.
d) Rooms infested with mosquitoes and ants... After asking for spray, was then advised we had to purchase from hotel and it was charged to room bill.
e) After complaining several times... The staff fail to realize I spoke both Tagalog and Visayas... And spoke about my friends and I in a disgusting manner.
f) No consistency with room service... some days we received towels some days we didn't!
g) failed to empty bin... left food scraps including chicken bones and women's sanitary items
h) reception staff are rude... enough said!
i) pool area and pool are not cleaned on a daily basis... rubbish floating in pool
j) feral cats roaming through hotel
k) no one advised us of the construction of the new building... after sleepless nights no one apologized to us or even advised us of this occurring
l) no tv and no wifi for 1 day and no one apologized or even gave a reason as to why it occurred

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay

Address: Boat Station 3 Area, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.