We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could wish for in one place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cohiba Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cohiba Villas to your Saves list
Cohiba Villas
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Bolabog | Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could wish for in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Cohiba Villas provides accomodation of the highest standard in self contained units on the cliff tops overlooking the Bulabog bay. Maid servcice, transport to the shopping mall, on site restaurant, 25 metre pool with poolside service, warm and welcoming staff. A great place just to rest and recover or to use as a base to explore Boracay.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
66
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Extremely comfortable and spacious apartment on the cliffside with magnificent uninterupted views. Just wonderful. Great to watch the sunrise and the wonder of a full moon reflected on the water.
The staff were just so friendly and helpful - wish it were the same the worldover.
Enjoyed the pool which is exactly as shown on the webste. It didnt disappoint
This was my second visit and we appreciated the addition of the new retaurant/cafe.
Planning to go again next year. Excellent value for money surprised they don't charge more.(don't tell them tho')

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Boracay is a superb holiday destination, and Cohiba Villas are the ideal place to stay. A relaxed atmosphere with everything you could ask for. The apartments are fantastic - spacious, well-equipped, and with the most amazing views of the bay. The swimming pool is great, particularly for children, and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Nothing can disturb you in this fabulous resort! Large apartments with all modern accessories, with large terraces, all with sea view, clean rooms, exceptional service, friendly and smiling stuff, Olympic swimming pool, restaurant with a varied selection of Oriental and fusion dishes in an intimate and relaxing atmosphere. You're king for a price that you pay in Europe for a B&B motel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

The Cohiba was wonderful to us. The people were great. They loved our boys 2, 5, and 7. Our view was fantastic. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom places. It was huge. There are quite a few steps down to the bigger apartments, but well worth the view. We managed it just fine with 3 kids in tow. They is always someone to help :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Background:
A Very Delayed Flight at Manila Centennial Airport left the 8(5 guys 3 gals all mid to late 20's) of us in the dark without transportation.
Fortunately a contact number enabled us by mistake to reach the owner who was in the UK at the time. He was able to get the hotel manager to arrange ground transport from the port and a midnight check in.
Things you have to understand:
There are only 2 airports that get you close enough to the white sand beaches of boracay.
Kalibo and Caticlan Airports. No matter where you land via air you have to take a boat from the Caticlan Port to the Boracay Port. Trade off between Airports: Kalibo Airport is bigger so the bigger planes land there, not like the puddle jumpers that land at Caticlan. However there is a 2 hour van ride from the Kalibo Airport to the Caticlan Sea Port compared to a 20 minute ride from the Caticlan Airport to the Caticlan Sea Port. Remember these places are not cities that operate 24/ 7/ 365. The sea port closed before the air port closed on this visit, but the coast guard was contacted and they allowed us to travel after hours.

With that said we were hesitant to take a random van service(approx 11pm) from Caticlan Airport to the Caticlan Seaport in the middle of the night. The good people of Caticlan were honest and helpful. Phone signal on parts of the route to the seaport were scarce. We also had to contract our own boat service from the Caticlan Seaport to the Boracay Port.

Back to the Hotel:
The service was great: They had room service and at the time we were there they had a relatively small kitchen, staff and menu, but I have since heard that they invested in an in resort restaurant. The food they had was traditional filipino food that I was used to: Sinigang tasted like sinigang, tapsilog like tapsilog etc... I ate at a resort in bohol that changed up the dish so it was not what I expected.

The room/suite was huge:
1 master bedroom with jacuzzi in bathroom (air con)
1 bedroom with 2 full or queen beds and a bathroom, standing shower (air con access to balcony/deck)
1 bedroom with 2 full beds (aircon)
1 bathroom with standing shower (dont remember if it had a vent/fan)
1 kitchen( fridge, stove, oven but no microwave) that blended with the living room(no air con but access to balcony/deck)
1 big screen tv with audio system dont remember if they had a dvd player didn't stay in alot.
1 big L- shaped outdoor balcony (part of the L had a dining table and chairs) other part had nice wooden lounge furniture.

The place had a lot of trees and grass so with that came insects, especially ants and a spider. The spider was harmless, but when you are with a friend that is afraid of bugs it made for some funny moments. The ants found their way into our suite, so we called for the front desk to do something about it. Maintenance came immediately and swept them out of our room. I expected to see the ants again after the sweep, but I did not see them for the remainder of our trip.

We had an issue with the lock for one of the bath rooms, I got locked in thinking that the folks using it were exagerrating and after the repair person came. It was one of those situations were it failed when the person who was supposed to repair it was not around. It was not a deal breaker, we had a sock on the door system going for us.

The resort is a 10 minute ride from white beach. It is not advertised but you have to pay a small fee for each ride to D'Mall. They can take you anywhere you want, but D'mall seemed to be the main drop off point for all the resorts who needed service to the white sand beach.

The room did have internet access, but the connection was wired so only one laptop at a time unless you like carrying around a switch/ wireless router.

The infinity pool was great. It was large. It did not have a life guard, but it was not really deep enough for a diving board so you could almost walk/ hop around the whole pool. Because the pool had no lifegaurd and was well lit, you could use it at anytime. Late at night you have to bring your own towel. We were considerate when we drank our wine and smoked our cigars late at night as we cleaned up after ourselves. I'm sure they would have cleaned it, but we didn't want the risk of being banned from the pool at night.

All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would go back because it was affordable, comfortable and gave you options for meals. You have the option of going out with personal pick up, staying in the resort with room service or cook your own meal in the suite.

Side note we went with someone fluent in tagalog and visayan. Most of the staff did understand english and were able to speak/understand, but I didn't try to have a full english conversation with each of them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I traveled to the Philippines with our son, his parents, my mother, his sister, two aunts, and a cousin for three weeks. We spent most of our time in the Metro Manila area, but we took 5 days to travel to Boracay. Getting to and from the island was not easy - we flew an inexpensive but far-from-luxurious local airline, hauled our luggage for several blocks to the shore, were carried on men's shoulders out to the motorboat (since there was no dock), and then had a very bumpy ride to the beach nearest to our resort. By the time we reached our hotel, I was soaked from the waves that splashed into the boat, and I was grateful I didn't have anything fragile in my suitcase. Access to the hotel was a bit daunting for my in-laws - there was a very long flight of stairs down to the Cohiba resort, and since they have trouble walking even on flat surfaces, it was a slow and arduous journey. Once we reached the bottom of the stairs, however, the gorgeous view made all the inconveniences of travel worthwhile. The large infinity pool was surrounded by brilliant white buildings, and the view down to the water was breathtaking. After staying in no-frills hotels in Makati and Matabunkay, we were thrilled by the lovely accommodations. We had a lot of space, even with so many people in our party, and I cried when I had to leave behind the luxurious master suite with it's floor to ceiling windows, which offered stunning views of the sunrise and the water below. The bathroom alone was twice the size of our bedroom at home.
We went into town several times to shop, and there were wonderful bargains to be had. It certainly helped that my husband and his family are Filipino, and they are all much better negotiators than I will ever be. Everyone we met was friendly and accommodating. We hired a boat to take us to four beaches, which was very relaxing and gave us a nice overview of the island. We were a bit isolated from the main beaches and tourist areas, and I think we had the best of both worlds. We could visit the busy parts of the island for a few hours, then head back to our own peaceful paradise on the cliffs.
I would definitely recommend packing light if possible - we left most of our luggage in Manila, which saved us much trouble in getting to and from Boracay. We also hired a cook, which made our stay even more relaxing. It was much less expensive than eating out at restaurants, and we were able to spend more time simply hanging out at our resort. The one drawback was that there was no easily accessible beach for swimming, but having the pool (which almost no one else at the hotel used while we were there) definitely made up for it.
Boracay may not be a good destination if you have limited mobility (my in-laws struggled with getting to/from and around the island), but if you are an adventurous traveler, I would highly recommend it. I could easily have spent a month there, and it was a welcome break from the crowds and chaos of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cohiba Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohiba Villas

Address: Bolabog | Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cohiba Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cohiba Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cohiba Villas Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cohiba Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.