We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy new hotel in Station 1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Boracay to your Saves list
Astoria Boracay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
QC, Phils
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trendy new hotel in Station 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

- This beachfront hotel is newly-renovated. (If I am not mistaken, Astoria is previously Boracay Gold Crowne.)
- Rooms are spotlessly clean.
- Service is impressive. We really felt at home during our stay.
- The pool is to die for !!! (Our son lost interest with the beach, which is just a few steps away.)
- Location: beach-front (in between Station 1 and 2)
- The only downside is the food. We made the mistake of availing their dinner buffet during our first night. Their choices are limited plus we discovered better restos nearby offering sumptuous buffet meals (Friday's, Guilly;s, etc.)

Overall, we had a grand time at Astoria. Our son is actually bugging us every so often as to when we are going back. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    98
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Centrally located along the white beach, close to d'mall, willy's rock. Nice, modern and spacious room which could have been much more comfortable if provided with a coffee table. High-speed wifi for free. Wonderful pool. Breakfast okay. Warm staff. Definitely be back if the price of their accomodation will not increase.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Very nice resort but house keeping needs much improvement
it's new and very well design, especially the pool, good secruity. Location is great, in between station 1 and station 2, easy to walk to Dmall (less than 10 mins) and walk to the beach in station 1 (water and sand are much better than in station 2 and 3) Breakfast is great as the food will be changed every day. (only repeat on the 5th day) Staff are nice, but not house keeping, no bath gel (only soap)is provided, shampoo/toothbrush will not be replaced after you used them up or throw it into the bin, though all we can get finally until we asked for. And there was a chewing gum in the bin at our room on the 2nd day(but we didn't have it), guess it's from the house keeping lady.. and they didn't replace 1 face towel.. and when we checked out, they claimed that we have taken it away and wanna charge us,, of cos, we refused but they still think you have taken it away but only waived the charge... how come, this is the fault of house keeping staff..anyway, we are leaving and don't wanna argue more... This is an excellent resort, except house keeping.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010 via mobile

I'm used to staying in budget backpackers, so this place was very luxurious but also pricey; I felt a bit too pricey at $522AUD for two rooms for four people for three nights during low season.

Rooms: I stayed in room 207 which over looked the garden. I orginally requested a seaview room, but none of the rooms do. The room was large and mostly clean - the bed runner was already stained when arrived. Everyday the room was cleaned which was essential
considering all the sand we brought into the room each day.

Facilities: pool was awsome about 30 long with comfy longe chairs both in and out of the water. My partner was a little disappointed he wasn't allowed go down the kid's slide. Breakfast was included in our accomodation package. It was good enough and no complaints. Breakfast was until 10am, however we got woken up one morning at 8:45am by the staff telling us it was last call for breakfast. When we asked why they called us so early they said something bizzar like it was because no one was there at breakfast at that time?! We were annoyed with the lie.

Staff: polite and helpful enough. The breakfast chef could have been a bit more cheery tho. There seemed to be a lot of promotional staff hanging out the front of the hotel of a night time trying to get other tourists into the hotel to sell them hotel shares or a hotel stay.

Location: ideal for us. It was far enough from the main concentration of hotels between station 1 and 2, but also walking distance to the quieter hotels down the other end. For lazy people i think they might find the walking distance slightly too far from d'mall, but i enjoyed the walk.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigan, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Astoria Boracay is indeed the BEST hotel along white sand shore of Boracay! Guests need not to walk on foot walk or ride a motor trike to reach the beach. Guests just take a few steps – a couple or three – behind the hotel, and presto – the world renowned Boracay beach!

Along with the world-class amenities of Astoria Boracay is its very noticeable immaculate white and lustrous glass design. In the event that night falls, the 22-meter swimming pool adds grandiose to the edifice as it is perfectly lit with blue-color lights submerged in the pool somehow imitating the azure hue of the sea. Strategically placed are CCTVs that monitors all angles of the vicinity for added security among guests.

Rooms are equally relaxing for its very comfy lighting system. Amidst the amenities of the room are as follows: high-speed wifi connection, personal-sized refrigerator, LCD television, kettle, slippers (hotel-complement), beach towels other than body, face and hand towels, three pillows in each bed (great buddies for pillow lovers), sufficient DC sockets, and large safety deposit box for security purposes. In addition to the characteristics of the vault, it is indeed spacious that had accommodated the reviewer’s two (2) laptops, one (1) videocam, one (1) digicam, mens’ wallet and accessories. Rest rooms are very much comfortable to fit vanity kits, toiletries and others. More so, it houses a tub that catches water from three water sources – the faucet and two types of showers.

Rooms are smoke-free but has balcony where nicotine-lover may play his smoke!

As to the food, they serve all buffet style. To late risers, worry not as breakfast is made available up to two hours before noon. A choice of local and western menus are also available to the preference of the guests. Bar is made just outside the hotel near the beach that offers acoustic, pop and mind-soothing tunes from live band of three or more. Just adjacent the outside bar is the location for the famous fire dancing exposition; a very suitable hotel to catch the gleaming fire at night!

As for the staff, very much recommendable! The hotel is sufficient with manpower! Anywhere of the hotel, you can grab (what-a-word!) a friendly, accommodating and apparently well-trained personnel for your needs and queries – be it in the room (the conventional Dial-Zero operator), the pool area, the bar and others! Seemingly, over staffed hotel! A great factor though!

What else??? As a guest checks-out, a short survey/questionnaire is offered. This certainly gives chance for retention of good service and improvement on some loopholes (which I think none as per our stay). Part of the survey asks what three things a guest desires for his comeback in Boracay; as for the reviewer, he simply answered the following – 1.) the white sand beach, 2.) the fire dance, and 3.) ASTORIA BORACAY!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I would like to correct that the location of Astoria Boracay, It is located on Beach Front Stn.1 Boracay Island. It's not with "Argao Cebu". That's it.

Will this is a Hotel with a simple Modern Architectural Design. So simple, White Buildings, Very elegant One in Boracay. Limited Rooms Only Book in Advance for Peak Seasons.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a newly renovated hotel and is brand spanking new!!! Rooms are tastefully decorated in a modern decor. Previous posts complained about workmen walking around the pool but though we saw a few each day it did not make us feel uncomfortable. They are 95% complete and their grand opening is this september. So expect prices to go up. The pool was what sold me and the pictures on the website don't lie. I spent most of my days in and around the pool The modern hammocks and loungers were very chic but the loungers could 've used some umbrellas. Don't bother getting , more expensive, pool access rooms in other hotels because Astoria's deluxe(cheapest) rooms are on the ground floor and might as well be pool access rooms. At night they have a beachside BBQ with a live band which was very cool. Food in general was OK and breakfast could have been more improved. The restaurant itself was open and airy but had a building cafeteria feel. The dinner BBQ is very good and selection of fish,meat was better than the other less expensive BBQ's you can find in around the Station 2 area. Astoria is touted as Station1 but it's very close to Station2 .One rather big misstep on their part was no beach front loungers. We used other restaurants/hotels loungers but we had to order something first and also because it was low season they didn't care soo much but I imagine that would change during other seasons. The room we had ( deluxe) were not large but as I said very new and modern and the bathroom was huge compared to the room(this made my wife happy) Water pressure was also on the iffy side as it would come and go. Overall a great stay and fantastic value for money at the current prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious contemporary resort sits on a 3,500 square meter beachfront prime location. Conveniently situated on the island's Station 1, it offers guests an ideal retreat on the world famous White Beach, within close proximity to shopping, popular restaurants and the hottest bars and lounges. The resort's 71 sound proof and non-smoking rooms and suites provide the perfect island setting, with an inspiring tropical atmosphere ideal for romantic getaways or lively nightlife activities. Astoria Boracay's spacious accommodations are all modern and stylishly designed with a local twist and range from 26-50 square meters that offer private balconies or terrace views, individual climate control air-conditioning, 32" LCD TV, DVD player, complimentary internet access, personal refrigerator, electronic room safe, telephone and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities and complete bathroom amenities. The resort offers it's unique Tropical Free-Style Cuisine and Fresh Catch of The Day at White Cafe, it's own al fresco restaurant and coffee shop. Relax, unwind and catch the breathtaking views at the end of the day at Vibe, providing the perfect ending to a day of activities with your favorite drink in hand. There are function rooms for social events, beach weddings and parties, corporate meetings and launches. In-room dining is also available at Astoria Boracay. Together with the beautifully landscaped gardens and unique cocoon loungers, guests can also enjoy the resort's 22-metre long swimming pool and laze on their wonderful crescent or submerged pool loungers. Astoria's Guest Service Agents can book reservations for all guests wanting to sample water sports activities (banana boat rides, jet skiing, wind surfing, snorkeling, kite-boarding, sailing, scuba diving and courses) island tours, trekking, hiking and local tours. The resort is currently fully accredited by the Philippine Department of Tourism and enjoys a AAA rating (equivalent to 5 star category). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Boracay Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.