We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Boracay

Save Saved
You added Astoria Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Boracay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Modern rooms and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family stayed for an over night after new year. We love the modern rooms and set-up . The layout of the hotel with its nice pool area compensated for a no beach front. The beach out side is kind of busy because that is where people go for their water activities. The location is great because it is near D'Mall. The buffet breakfast was good. Our family tried their dinner buffet at P520/head. It was so worth it. We stayed outside by the beach and they had a music band play the whole night. It was really fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The customer service in Astoria was brilliant! The staff was friendly, and we truly enjoyed our stay here. The pool in front of our room was wholesomely good! It was so pretty at night! Location is excellent! And when you're in Philippines, stuff yourself with Yellow Cab Pizza. One word - YUM!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here with a few of my friends in November a week after the huge typhoon. We were kinda surprised that there were not that many visible damage on the island itself. The hotel rooms were clean and big. We had to wait a little longer for our rooms since we were early but it gave us a chance to look around. The bathrooms are big and clean, the breakfast buffet was above average. Did not get the chance to taste their lunch or dinner. One thing I know is their coffee is expensive and they charge you for every cup. No refills! I was disappointed that their beachfront is actually the dock for the boats for island hopping. There's not much place for the guests to swim. We had to go a little farther to have swimming space. I don't think I will stay in this hotel the next time I'm in the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for approximately 4 days in October. Overall we had a decent stay but, as with most places, there were good and bad things about the hotel.

Good:
Hotel transfers were on-time and smooth although the day before we left we double-checked our return transfer to the airport and they had the wrong time down (had us leaving in the evening instead of first thing in the morning!) so be sure to confirm again. Welcome drink & towel was refreshing. Staff were all very friendly. The pool was small but adequate and we enjoyed cooling off there when we weren't at the beach. The room was clean and the shower was great. We loved the toiletries. The beach staff were attentive and if you needed beach chairs and umbrellas they would set it up for you.

Bad:
The room had no natural light at all. Although all the rooms required curtains to be completely drawn for privacy (the windows face the corridors), our room was on the ground floor where the elevator and stairs are located so there was no sunlight even if we chose to open the curtains (as opposed to rooms facing the courtyard or pool). When we first got to the room the smell of room spray/deodorizer was overpowering but once it disappated we realized it was covering up a dank & wet smell, similar to what you'd find in basements. This was not surprising given the humidity and lack of sunlight. Our room was one of those that could be an adjoining room and sound traveled a little too well between the door. We could hear our neighbours television even when it was on at a normal level. One night they had some people over and we could hear them talking and laughing late into the night. After they left a family with a baby moved in and we could hear the baby crying and hear the dishes and cutlery clattering around when they got up early to eat breakfast. The power went out a few times while we were in the room and we found out (after we started getting warmer and warmer) that if the power is off for a certain amount of time the thermostat doesn't just restart the air condition. This happened once during the night and I had to get up to turn the AC back on. We definitely had some poor nights of sleep here.

The pool had nice lounge chairs and hammocks but they were only good for lying down so for those who love to read by the pool it wasn't really possible. Some lounge chairs like the ones by the beach would be nice.

And as many have already pointed out, it is too bad that Astoria's location on the beach is so busy. It's good for people watching but not so much for enjoying the beautifully clear water. When the sailboats are out then it is slightly better but they are still constantly sailing in and out. Some days there are lots of tour boats loading and unloading people. Of course you can walk further up or down the beach where there is no boat traffic but then you are far away from the hotel beach chairs where you have your things set up. It's a shame that the hotel is stuck with this section of the beachfront.

We didn't eat at the hotel as there was so much to choose from along the strip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The service was excellent from start to finish. We were able to check-in early as we moved from another hotel in Borocay to Astoria. Check-in took a mere 5 minutes, it was so fast, we didnt even finish our welcome drink. Our room was spacious and overlook the pool. Toilet and bathroom was separated - convenient. Room was very clean. Balcony huge.

What was great about this hotel is that nothing was too big a trouble for them, they literally rush to ensure that your problem is fixed. We had problem with our air-con and it was fixed within 10 minutes, beach towels were plentiful, just have to get it from the "beach boys". Reception always had a smile.

Location was at white beach - super.

Loved the pool - in the night it would light up in different colours. loved this hotel and would definately stay here again on my next trip to borocay.

PS the massage service is super cheap-500 pesos!

Room Tip: We had rm 302 - two queens beds - great for massage services!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at Astoria on my first trip to Boracay with a group of friends in Feb 2013. Property is as advertised. This is a relatively new hotel in a quieter part of the white sand beach. For those not familiar - even though I've been to Boracay 3 times now I still don't know where station 1,2 & 3 begin/end - this is property is pretty much on the edge of Station 1 & 2. It's still relatively quiet within a 5 minute walk along the beach path to the bars, noise and D Mall.

The staff are very attentive and arranged pickup drop off for a big group with ease - although it's ALOT cheaper to sort yourself - given that this was my first trip I didnt mind the extras. Rooms are nice but a little too over the top for my personal taste but as mentioned, look just like the pictures. There were some confusion around the room type as I had opted for an upgraded balcony room but the balcony itself was simply the walk way ... not an actual private balcony and certainly no view. While this hotel is advertised as beach front - I doubt any of the rooms actually have a view of the ocean. When you are sitting outside on the restaurant, you are looking right at the water though so no complaints. The sun loungers are a bit scarce for the size of the hotel and although we never had any issues - despite hanging out there 4-5 people at time, this could be an issue.

I do feel that that it was overpriced compared to other properties but given the last minute booking I was fine with it - doubt I was stay there again as I very much enjoyed the stretch of beach and quiet side of station 1 of the kite suring beach and amazing views - See my review on Bahai Boracay.

All in all, I recommend this place for first timers to Boracay as it's well located and easy to get to the bars/restos.

Room Tip: - the stakehouse, 5 minutes down towards station 2 for an amazing stake and banana amaretto milkshak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo City, San Pablo, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location great staff and awesome services! Everything was fast and smooth from check in to check out! Will return and stay again. Near everything from water activities to food and dining even to shopping and especially the long stretch of white powder sand beach of boracay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Boracay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious contemporary resort sits on a 3,500 square meter beachfront prime location. Conveniently situated on the island's Station 1, it offers guests an ideal retreat on the world famous White Beach, within close proximity to shopping, popular restaurants and the hottest bars and lounges. The resort's 71 sound proof and non-smoking rooms and suites provide the perfect island setting, with an inspiring tropical atmosphere ideal for romantic getaways or lively nightlife activities. Astoria Boracay's spacious accommodations are all modern and stylishly designed with a local twist and range from 26-50 square meters that offer private balconies or terrace views, individual climate control air-conditioning, 32" LCD TV, DVD player, complimentary internet access, personal refrigerator, electronic room safe, telephone and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities and complete bathroom amenities. The resort offers it's unique Tropical Free-Style Cuisine and Fresh Catch of The Day at White Cafe, it's own al fresco restaurant and coffee shop. Relax, unwind and catch the breathtaking views at the end of the day at Vibe, providing the perfect ending to a day of activities with your favorite drink in hand. There are function rooms for social events, beach weddings and parties, corporate meetings and launches. In-room dining is also available at Astoria Boracay. Together with the beautifully landscaped gardens and unique cocoon loungers, guests can also enjoy the resort's 22-metre long swimming pool and laze on their wonderful crescent or submerged pool loungers. Astoria's Guest Service Agents can book reservations for all guests wanting to sample water sports activities (banana boat rides, jet skiing, wind surfing, snorkeling, kite-boarding, sailing, scuba diving and courses) island tours, trekking, hiking and local tours. The resort is currently fully accredited by the Philippine Department of Tourism and enjoys a AAA rating (equivalent to 5 star category). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Astoria Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Boracay Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;