We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beach Sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Boracay to your Saves list
Astoria Boracay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Beach Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arriving from our Cebu Pacific Flight from Caticlan, we took the tricycle to the jetty port which is a mere five minutes away. The fare is P 50 per ride. At the port, we paid the Terminal Fee, Environmental Fee and Boat fare before taking the ten-minute boat ride to Boracay's White Beach. Then, we rode another tricycle going to Astoria Boracay. The fare is P 100 for the entire trip. Astoria offers airport transfers but the cost was about five times more than if we just commute by ourselves. And having been to Boracay a couple of times, we decided to forego the hotel transfers.

The reception area is not as grand as one would expect especially from the pictures of the hotel. It is small and very utilitarian save for two overstuffed chairs. The view from the reception however, is a teaser to the lovely sight that will welcome you as you get to the main area of the hotel. The small garden is adorned with lounge swings that are shaded by trees.

Upon arrival, we were served Pandan Juice with Lemongrass and Honey and a damp towel. Both gave us a refreshing feeling inside and out.

Construction was on-going in the remaining clusters of the property so we encountered not only noise but on certain instances some annoying stares from undisciplined workers who ogle at the guests swimming in the pool. They expect to finish the expansion works by the end of 2012 so hopefully you won't have to endure the above if you visit it now.

Anyway, we arrived way before the 2pm prescribed check-in time and the resort seemed to be fully booked so we did not get to check-in immediately. We opted to have lunch at Gerry's Grill first with the promise of the Front Desk personnel to call us as soon as the room becomes available. We got the call about 30minutes into lunch.

Our room was located at the second floor of the building near the garden. The keycard operated door opens to the spacious bedroom with two queen sized beds. We specifically requested this arrangement since we were vacationing with my parents. The color palette of turquoise and white found on the walls and valance lends a cool and relaxing feel. To the claustrophobic, the room might be a bit stifling as there are no windows in it.

The room was equipped with a 32" LCD TV, microwave oven, coffee and tea making facility, mini-ref, kitchen utensils and a safety deposit box. Our complimentary water bottles, coffee and tea were replenished daily. A mini-dining table seemed to be missing and would have been handy for when we felt like eating in.

The bathroom was equally spacious. In it is a bathtub, a toilet with a bidet, and a sink which had a huge mirror extending to the vanity contributing to the illusion of space. However, the absence of a shower curtain in the bath area caused a bit of a problem as the water when taking a shower tend to cascade over the glass partition soaking the bath mats and eventually, creating water puddles on the floor. We also had a slight issue with the shower which was not working properly and it took them an hour to have it fixed. I hope that they do regular maintenance checks and even ensure that everything in the room is in mint condition before turning it over for guests' use.

Archive branded bath sets were generously provided and replenished on a daily basis.

I particularly loved the complimentary white rubber slippers which was really a versatile piece considering we can use it not only inside the room but also outside while walking along the beach - flip flops being the footwear of choice in Boracay.

Astoria Boracay's centerpiece is undoubtedly the pool which despite the small scale is made grand and indulgent through the carefully chosen and beautifully positioned sun loungers and modern hammocks.

The shower stands inconspicuously in between the garden and the pool area, I actually had difficulty finding it. That was how well it blended with the the resort's over-all design aesthetic which emanates a modern, tropical feel.

The swimming pool is seamlessly divided into a toddler's/kids splash pool where the slide is located and the lap pool with its deepest level at only six feet. At night, it is transformed into alternate shades of red, green and blue through its underwater lighting. The pool is not heated but somehow felt warm enough for a night swim. The scorching hot weather during the day may be to blame for the ideal swimming temperature and our son couldn't be any happier. A lifeguard, who doubles up as a pool attendant is usually on duty and is responsible for dispensing the pool towels.

The hotel also has an in-house restaurant, which we did not try at all throughout our five-day stay for two reasons. One, part of our treat for my parents is paying for all meals throughout our stay. Hence, a P 400/head price tag is out of our budget. Second, the buffet selection was not enticing and seemed very limited. Nevertheless, the restaurant had the same great design albeit a bit too crowded in terms of table configuration.

With the aggressive campaign of Astoria's Sales Staff in place, they usually make use of the second floor dining space as a place for the sales presentation for potential club members. At night, they set-up a buffet table outside the beach area and offer a barbecue or grill spread and some live entertainment such as live bands and fire dancers, an attraction peculiar to Boracay.

The property is indeed Station Two beachfront. They have about twelve sun loungers set-up outside for exclusive use of Astoria guests. There are some instances however, when we found the place to be too crowded. The problem lies in the fact that it is where boats dock and is the designated jump off point for most beach activities in the island like banana boat rides, paraw sailing, etc. They did cordon off the beach. Most likely to address guests complaining about the lack of easily accessible space for swimming in the big blue. After all, it is not a Boracay vacation if you cannot enjoy swimming in its crystal clear, shallow waters.

Access to D'Mall, where most of the affordable dining options and even some of the island's necessities (from ATMs, convenience stores and drugstores) are located, is a ten minute walk and is not exactly a thrill for aging companions like we had. Although, looking at the bright side, the walking can serve as a good source of daily exercise.

Service is very good, with staff having plastered smiles all over their faces every time we pass by. Most requests are addressed immediately including drying of clothes. Astoria Boracay does not allow hanging of clothes/swim wear/beach stuff/towels outside the rooms, so they offer free clothes drying where they commit to return the items at least three hours after you had it serviced. It is solely for drying and not for washing or cleaning, which incidentally comes with a fee.

Complimentary wi-fi access is not as fast and reliable. I reckon, the room location plays a part in the limitation. As mentioned earlier, our room did not have any windows and it was located at the far end corner of the resort. The signal goes on and off. Sometimes, we had to go outside to get connected.

This trip was a really memorable one. It was a celebration of firsts - my son's and parent's first time to visit this major tourist destination and the first time I celebrated my birthday in Boracay. It was made even better by our choice of hotel.

Astoria Boracay, while not perfect, became a true beach sanctuary in the Philippine's paradise island of Boracay. (onelifetolivelearnlove.blogpost.com)

Room Tip: Poolside rooms may seem ideal but it can cost you a bit of your privacy and even a restful and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    98
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here during our very first trip to Boracay for our family reunion/vacation. We were a big party of 18 (kids and adults). The choice of Astoria for this rare "big family" trip did not disappoint. It was a very enjoyable, relaxing and rejuvenating stay.

Astoria is just perfect for our taste. Classy, modern, clean, and quite pricey but not luxuriously stiff nor ultra-expensive. Size is small and cozy, which leads to a very personalized service and gives you your much-desired privacy. Except for the loud entertainment at the open restaurant behind the hotel every night, there is a serene atmosphere within the hotel itself, in contrast to the hustle and bustle of the beachfront just a few steps from the backdoor. Rooms are clean, spacious and have a modern minimalist but very chic design, with a lock-free bathroom.The rooms are oriented in a rectangular pattern with a small but lovely infinity pool at the center, complete with native "beach chairs" in the pool itself. We got the rooms on the first floor fronting the pool itself. So the kids were thrilled to wake up each day, open the door of the room, take less than 10 steps and dive into the pool straight away! It's literally having the pool at your doorstep! Fantastic! But more importantly of course is the beautiful beach right behind the hotel. It is not as cluttered as other parts of the island.

Service was excellent as staff is always smiling and ready to help. Just one day into the stay and they know you by name.

The only improvement area is the food. They do need to add more variety to their dishes from breakfast to dinner.

Overall, our stay was very very pleasant. I will not think twice about returning to this hotel on our next Boracay trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

You will surely enjoy the services of Astoria Boracay. When you enter the reception counter, staffs are ready to greet you with a big smile. When you are in the dinning area, waiter and waitress are always ready to serve with a big smile. Area in the resort and dinning area is always clean and they have a very nice swimming pool even though it is small. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our first stay here in Astoria. The location is terrific and staff very accommodating and you genuinely feel that they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. We look forward to coming back to this property.

They had entertainment during their dinner buffets. The fire dancers got tiring to watch every night...

But overall this place is worth the visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We instantly warmed up to the very accommodating staff led by Von, who handled our check in and check out efficiently. We appreciate the upgrade to a bigger room and we felt well taken care of. The hotel provides for clean and complete utensils, dishes and other necessities.

Breakfast (a la carte, not the buffet) was served in huge portions so be warned. Considering the entire strip, including D-Mall restaurants, Astoria's quality food is reasonably priced and well presented. Service was superb (thank you, Toto)!

The beachfront is now far better from the one we were horrified with last year. Although we didn't spend much time there, it was obviously less cluttered. The loading/unloading point for water sports was moved a few meters away. Thank you, Astoria, for the effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The place is great and we did had a great deal for dinner. We were eight adults to come here but only paid for two. Amazing right?! For 400php each for buffet dinner, it should be 3200php if my math is correct. But we paid 800php only. But of course, something in return, watch a short presentation from hotel. Not bad for me. Food is great, above average.

Place is great for those who loves to party. But if you want peaceful environment, find other place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel, well appointed rooms and amazing breakfasts.
The beachside buffet is great value for money with live band and fire show.
Terrific staff who are very eager to please.
Pool area is lovely however if there are kids there or noisy adults it can detract from the experience.
Would recommend this as a place for couples but not groups or families.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious contemporary resort sits on a 3,500 square meter beachfront prime location. Conveniently situated on the island's Station 1, it offers guests an ideal retreat on the world famous White Beach, within close proximity to shopping, popular restaurants and the hottest bars and lounges. The resort's 71 sound proof and non-smoking rooms and suites provide the perfect island setting, with an inspiring tropical atmosphere ideal for romantic getaways or lively nightlife activities. Astoria Boracay's spacious accommodations are all modern and stylishly designed with a local twist and range from 26-50 square meters that offer private balconies or terrace views, individual climate control air-conditioning, 32" LCD TV, DVD player, complimentary internet access, personal refrigerator, electronic room safe, telephone and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities and complete bathroom amenities. The resort offers it's unique Tropical Free-Style Cuisine and Fresh Catch of The Day at White Cafe, it's own al fresco restaurant and coffee shop. Relax, unwind and catch the breathtaking views at the end of the day at Vibe, providing the perfect ending to a day of activities with your favorite drink in hand. There are function rooms for social events, beach weddings and parties, corporate meetings and launches. In-room dining is also available at Astoria Boracay. Together with the beautifully landscaped gardens and unique cocoon loungers, guests can also enjoy the resort's 22-metre long swimming pool and laze on their wonderful crescent or submerged pool loungers. Astoria's Guest Service Agents can book reservations for all guests wanting to sample water sports activities (banana boat rides, jet skiing, wind surfing, snorkeling, kite-boarding, sailing, scuba diving and courses) island tours, trekking, hiking and local tours. The resort is currently fully accredited by the Philippine Department of Tourism and enjoys a AAA rating (equivalent to 5 star category). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Boracay Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.