We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyma

Cyma
D'Mall Plaza, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 206 restaurants in Boracay
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
boracay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greek cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wish there was a Turkish cuisine or Aegean cuisine around but it is the closest one to it,have OK lamb and grape vine leaves,also have the tasty gyros with yogurt souce the yogurt comes from Manila since it is nearyl impossible to find yogurt products in Boracay they don consume yogurt or chees these filipinos !!!((

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    83
    67
    27
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Opa! Don't burn your eyebrows.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Must try the paidakia excellent value for money ribs. Food was good and tasty and servings were large. The restaurant is very small and seating is very close to other people sitting next to you. Recommended you book before you go. Unfortunately there are no greek wines on the menu, which is disappointing for a Greek restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ah, this takes me back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came from the main road entrance to D Mall. At the ferris wheel turn left and go straight ahead, enter a narrower alley and you’ve found it. It’s a hole in the wall reminiscent of our backpacking days in Greece. It was about 8.30pm on a Sunday night in January and the place was packed but they quickly squeezed us in. All of the waiting staff were cheerful. After a short wait the service was quick and efficient. We had three lamb yiros, very tasty, and they put the honey mustard on the side thankfully! Once we saw the flaming cheese we couldn’t resist ordering it – and taking a photo and joining in the noise when the flame is lit. We soaked it in lemon juice and mopped up the juices with pita bread. The Greek Salad had capers, which we couldn’t remember experiencing before, but it was delicious and the dressing with the addition of the tomato juices was tangy and we mopped that up with bread as well. We were in an out within an hour, well fed and the kids were as happy as we were. The bill was about P1850 (including two soft drinks, a beer and a gin and tonic). If you think it’s too expensive, there are other alternatives so don’t mark it down for that. And I can’t vouch for the more substantial food but what we saw coming out of the kitchen looked appetizing. When we return to Boracay next, we will be glad to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Too Small Too Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place is too small, can't eat comfortably. No air con so when it is summer, you are eating in a very heated place. I also find that the price is a little too expensive and you don't to feel full after eating. :-(

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Different for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Cyma is a very crowded restaurant in the crowded DMall area.

The food is pleasant, though rather overpriced. If you are staying in Boracay for a little while and get bored of the choice that White Beach offers, I would definitely recommend to use this place to enjoy a different scene and different tastes.

I had hummus, tzatziki, and two lamb dishes. The Lamb Chops were not great, but the skewers were moist and tasty. The two starters however were really not impressive.
Wine selection is very limited, although this is not unusual on the island. If you can, bring your own bottle. Not sure it's allowed, but the setting is so informal that I would be surprised if someone complains.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyma also viewed

 
Boracay, Visayas
Boracay, Visayas
 

Been to Cyma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.