We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Suites de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monaco Suites de Boracay to your Saves list
Monaco Suites de Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Classic Vivendi - 30% off
Ranked #12 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I simply loved this place! We got this place via a Groupon voucher, and it included the airport transfer and all. Our first flight was delayed, resulting in us missing the connecting flight. By the time we arrived at Caticlan airport, it was already 3 hours after our initially scheduled arrival time. The guy from Monaco had apparently waited for us at the airport for nearly 4 hours by then!

All the staff were really friendly and helpful. I think the most important thing is that you could tell they were genuinely sincere and happy working here. I didn't quite get all the names, but off the top of my head, there was the housekeeping guy Joel, the guy who brought us to/from airport Florence, and the good-looking dude at the restaurant who seemed to work 24/7.

Because of the rainy weather (it keeps drizzling in June) and my brother was also unwell (the shuttle van driver also dropped us off at the clinic along the way, thanks!), we ended up spending most of the time in the resort itself. But I must say that on a positive note, at least we were spending our time at THIS resort which was pretty much self-contained with all the necessary facilities than anywhere else. If we couldn't get pretty pictures of the beautiful beach, at least we got pretty pictures of the resort!

Restaurant food was great, (the only day when we ate out resulted in my brother falling sick) but tend to come in larger portions than what we could finish. Sorry about the leftovers.

Only grumble I had was on the day before our departure. We went down to reception at about 4pm to ask if they were still able to arrange for us to do helmet diving on that evening. My brother had finally felt slightly better and we were trying to do a last-minute salvage of our holiday you see. Anyway, the receptionist said yes, there was still time for us to do helmet diving and a Monaco representative immediately put us on a van and drove all the way to the beach. However, upon arrival, he checked with the counter and told us that helmet diving booking was already closed. Asked us if we wanted to do parasailing for 1500 pesos instead, which I refused flatly. I think we were more annoyed by the waste of time and getting our hopes up for nothing. Surely he could have just checked by calling them first, instead of driving us all the way there? He then took us back to the hotel by a tricycle, and to his credit, he later tried to make up for it by arranging for a 8am helmet diving experience the next day (we had to leave the hotel by 11am). When we got back to the hotel that evening though, and asked for snorkelling gear which are apparently free to borrow within the resort premises, we were told that they were spoiled, which added to that sour evening.

But other than that slightly annoying evening, we were pretty much happy with the service they provided throughout our stay, so I'm still giving it a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    58
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
62
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saudi arabia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took the two bedroom apartment, it is about 132sqm , with large living room and good size kitchen
The resort is excellent in term of apartment’s size, friendly staff, especially the hotel manger, there breakfast is also good with variety of food, the resort restaurant is also good
excellent horizontal swimming pool , it is a great place for people who like see view , the resort is in the beach , but the beach is not good for swimming , they have shuttle bus to the D mall

Room Tip: Great size for families apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

OK. Rooms are old, bed sheets old and it gives a feeling like It's dirty.

Bathroom is ugly and it leaks. And I saw insects in the bathroom ceiling.

View is decent, But location is far from everything.

Food here is bad and only one restaurant. This place is like an insect magnet and They need some pest control.

Worst of all, we wanted to go to front beach at 11.30pm. We asked them to call us a taxi (tricycle ), and They said They cannot and asked me to walk down to the main road. For God's sake, It's a 20 minutes walk on a dark and scary road.

I own one of the largest tour agencies in USA, and I will never recommend this place to anyone. For the amount of money They charge, this is a ripoff.

NOt a five star. I give them 2 stars at most!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I so love this hotel. Although it's a bit off the white beach, it's very tranquil and peaceful. The one bedroom suite is so big that I can even dance wherever I want. The kitchen is well equipped. The bath tub is separated to the shower. Even the bathroom is so spacious. Love the mango juice that they offer as welcome drinks. The breakfast is ok, but I expect more given the price. The swimming pool and jacuzzi is to die for! It's worth the price. Although we stayed just for one night. Mostly because I only wanted a peaceful place after traveling from Manila to here. We then went to white beach for some night life. :)

Room Tip: If you love party and the night life, choose a good hotel in white beach. Just make sure to choose o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The congestion of White Beach can be a bit overwhelming travelling with small children - thankfully Monaco Suites is set back on the hills away from the noise and madness, but with direct transfers to White Beach and D Mall as required. The suite we stayed in was quite large, great bedrooms, and a fantastic view! The staff were all excellent, and the pool was lovely. Breakfasts were fine, and room service was available as required. Overall though, the staff were the highlight of our stay - courteous, cheerful and always willing to help!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in a hotel 6 nights, but I rested as if for a month. Since in my view the hotel has a lot of advantages, I'll try to briefly describe them:
1. Hotel is located in a quiet part of the island - you only hear the birds and crickets,
2. comfortable airport transfer from airport to hotel and back,
3. comfortable free shuttle service between the hotel and the shopping and entertainment destination Dmall near White Beach. Minivan runs throughout the day from 8:00 to 11:15 every 45 minutes,
4. The hotel has a private beach area on the White beach with free shuttle service to both sides,
5. The presence of stable wifi throughout the hotel including land on White Beach - access to the Internet under a palm tree with no problems,
6. A wide range of activities: jet skis, sailing, diving, speed boats, different types of massage, including Filipino, etc.
7. Price - similar 5 Star hotels in Boracay are 2 times more expensive.
8. You are not accommodated in the room, but in a separate villa with a spacious living room with kitchen and breakfast bar, a bedroom, a spacious bathroom and a large balcony overlooking the sea. Each room has air conditioning and a plasma TV. The kitchen is equipped with absolutely everything: a full refrigerator, dishwasher, extractor fan, ceramic hob, utensils (pots, pans, cutlery, tea and coffee maker, etc.). The design of all rooms is very thought out and implemented in a similar style. The interior furniture made of natural materials (cabinets, chests, chairs), silk carpet, real paintings on the walls.
9. The hotel grounds are like an oasis - everything is thought of landscape specialists: along all paths planted with a variety of tropical flowers (hibiscus, etc.), shrubs and palm trees in a very harmonious compositions. In the middle of all this is a swimming pool in the shape of a dolphin. 10. Very high level of cooking restaurant meals - I have never have any desire to eat outside the hotel, 11. And most importantly - extremely professional, friendly but not intrusive staff and management, from the guides to the staff in the hotel restaurant and front office.
Many thanks to all team of the hotel!

Room Tip: My room was in the lower tiers of the villas. The paths leading to the shuttle stop are significant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is by far not five star, maybe a 3 star. It has old decore and is situated far away from station one and two, the air con did not work and the room smelt musty and old. Shower room terrible with shower over bath that was so high to step into that leaked everywhere.
If you have mobility problems than this s not the place for you there are stairs and more stairs.
No sand to bath on as its rock face, with a peri only. Terrible food it had only one restraunt to eat at.
Go to discovery it's self rated at four stars and is completely on the other end scale in everyway, very modern, clean, great restraunt and has sand. It's situated on beautiful white sand.

You will waste your money here, stay at Disvovery or Estascio Una absolutely beautiful.

I would not recommend this place to friends or my dog.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monacosuites, Manager at Monaco Suites de Boracay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Travelers,

We were surprised for such kind of review that these guest’s provide to our hotel. They threatened us of this negative review that they will create if we will not refund their payment because they want to cancel their booking on the same day that they step inside the hotel. All the things that they mentioned in the review is lie. Based on the other reviews that we received from other guest’s that stayed in our hotel, it was the opposite of what they were saying on their review.

They check-in to our hotel and they were assisted to their suites, but after a few minutes they immediately complain about their suites, facilities and other things which they didn’t even check by themselves. As a Manager of the hotel I assist them personally and proceed directly to their rooms and checked for myself if the room was up to the highest standards. We offer them to transfer to other rooms which they denied and they want to move out of the hotel. They just stayed for 30 minutes and move out from the hotel. Even on their review they were saying that the food is terrible. From the time that they were assisted to their suites they never step inside the restaurant or order food for room service. How they can evaluate something which they haven’t tried. Also they complain that our Hotel is far from the Center of Boracay, but why they transfer to Discovery which is more far than our Hotel to the Center and this Hotel have also only one Restaurant which they were looking for 20 restaurants inside the hotel.
My staff and myself offered VIP upgrades, room change and upgrade, and various complimentary items in order to make the guest happy. These were all denied with an aggressive and rude response. Myself and our Hotel doesn’t like being threatened with negative reviews, we know that we did everything to 5 star standards.
Our hotel prides itself on cleanliness and service in which they were both at 5 star standard, we have the excellence award in sanitation standard.

If you would like to see our reviews you can look at any of our online travel agents in order to prove that this review is not only false, but completely a lie.

Monaco Suites De Boracay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Suites de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Suites de Boracay

Address: Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#6 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco Suites de Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Monaco Suites on Boracay IslandMonaco Suites de Boracay is the only luxurious exclusive all-suite resort on the island under German Management. Situated in a 16,000 square meter estate in Boracay’s finest location along a seaside hill, Monaco Suites boasts of spacious units sprawling out across well-maintained landscaped tropical gardens, with a panoramic view of Bulabog Beach and Mt. Luho (the highest elevation on the Island) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Suites de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Suites De Boracay Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Suites de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.