We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different Boracay Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Suites de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Suites de Boracay to your Saves list
Monaco Suites de Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
December Early Bird!
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Different Boracay Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When we booked at monaco suites we knew the resort wouldnt be at the white beach and would be at another part of the island but we didnt expect it to be that far. For the good points: we booked a family suite and it was huge. It had a masters bedroom with its own toilet and bath and 2 smaller rooms with a common tb the suite had a small kitchen complete w oven pots n pans and cooking utensils and a ref. It had a dining table and sala with a 42 inch TV. Our unit had a spacious balcony facing the sea with garden sets and a roof deck where u can hold parties
The rooms were clean and well maintained and there's an intercom so you can call the frontdesk for anything. The resort had several huge pools with lounge chairs and a short beach front with not so fine and white sand. the breakfast buffet was impressive and The service at the restaurant was nice n fast. the staff were friendly n corteous. The suites are well spaced apart so it affords enough privacy and the gardens and lawns are well kept. For the downside. The nice and huge rooms come with a price. the place is so far from the white beach and although they have a regular shuttle to n from "d mall" the trip takes around 30mins. When going back to the resort, the line for the shuttle can also be long during peak season. The last trip of the shuttle is 9pm so if u plan to party late at the white beach, you have to take the tricycle back to d resort. Once we did this and we were charged P100 by d tricycle driver for 3 persons. the place is also not friendly for Persons w disability or senior citizens since the walk from the road to the suites is far and on a steep winding path there is an electric golf cart service up to a cerain point only but a guest has to walk up and down d hilly terrain or climb stairs to get to the suites, the pool and even the beach area. Overall, the place is nice but far from the boracay beach strip. If you have been to boracay before and is expecting a "party / market place atmosphere, you wont get that at monaco suites. but if you want peace and quiet with a luxurius setting and great ocean views then go stay at monaco suites


Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    84
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
88
100
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really nice, quieter place to stay. Would ABSOLUTELY come back to this place.

Our family stayed here 5 nights at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was a bit skeptical of the place before I arrived, being that it was on the other side of the island. But once we figured out that it's 5-10 minutes to white beach via shuttle, no big deal. We appreciated the fantastic views and quieter atmosphere in the evening. We spent days on white beach and nights back at the resort, for the most part.

Pros: location, location, location. Views could not be beat. Absolute paradise. We had a 2 br/2 bath suite, and it was perfect for a family of 4. Pool was cool, bar area was a nice place to have dinner outside with a gentle breeze in the evening, overlooking the bay. Fantastic service, although I would have appreciated a bit more proactiveness in replenishing our bottled water supplies.

Cons: the shuttle to CocoLoco (station 3) stops at 5pm. There needs to be a better way to get back to the hotel from there after 5. The last night I paid a local 100pp ($2.50) for a ride back up the hill on the back of his motorbike. The rest of my family did the same with a "tricycle" (i.e. tuk tuk in Thailand). I didn't want to walk 20 minutes to station 2 through party central to wait for the next hourly van. If the hotel is serious about having a beachfront station at CocoLoco, they really should do it right and man it, not just have a few chase lounges, umbrellas, and bar service, which is what it was.

Highly recommend having the hotel arrange transfers from Caticlan. Flawless. The airport is not one where you can just walk out and get on a water taxi. Having the hotel do it was great - van, waiting boat, van, hotel with waiting golf cart. Perfect. When they popped a bottle of bubbly on the 7 minute boat ride, I knew we had made the right choice!

Room Tip: Higher room=better view Suites=much more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived and every day after the staff went out of their way to accomodate our stay. The view, the room/suite was more than we expected. Although on the east coast getting anywhere on the island is easy. A little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: If you want the roof top deck you will have to request third floor. All rooms (i think) have an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Boracay Island has been the subject of numerous reviews of late - best island, best beach, etc. Having just completed my first visit there, I think the island is slightly overhyped, but suggest that if you go - stay at this hotel. It's the best place on Boracay! Situated in a quiet corner of the island, it's removed from the madness of the White Beach, but the hotel provides shuttle service to and from every hour, and it's only a 15-minute drive. So, you get to have your cake (bars, restaurants, massages on the beach) on the White Beach, while so enjoying the quiet, beauty of the Monaco Suites site. Gorgeous design, nice big rooms, all with a view of the sea and a staff that can't be beat. Ally in the front office, JR in the dining room greeting you with a smile as big as all outdoors every morning, Ervin at the bar. Terrific team. Breakfast buffets are huge, of high quality and immense variety. Eat on the balcony overlooking the pool and the gorgeous seaside view - what's not to like? Family atmosphere, but gay friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is built as a series of villas going up a fairly steep hill, so all units have a view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was checked in here last February. We enjoy it so much! Beautiful view, clean facilities and mostly nice and approachable staffs.

Every money we spent in Monaco was worth it! We stayed in one bedroom suite that have kitchen, dining, living room, bathroom, bedroom and my most favorite part of the room was the balcony!

Beside from the hotel, what I love most in Monaco was their staffs, they were really friendly specially Cherry and Carlo who were always smiling and did a great job on maintaining the cleanliness of our room and they were very approachable. Thank you guys!

We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my first trip to the Philippines and Boracay. I selected the Monaco Suites based on the previous trip advisor reviews. I am so glad that I did! I visited with my husband and young daughter and we all agreed that Monaco Suites is heavenly. The resort is built on a hill with magnificent ocean views. Each spacious suite has a balcony overlooking the water. My husband I enjoyed sitting together on the balcony simply staring at the view. You have the same view from the swimming pool which also overlooks the ocean. My favorite activity was to swim in the pool at night, looking at the bright stars above and the ocean below.

Monaco Suites has a small private beach and dock. The beach is beautifully maintained by a lovely crew who are out every morning. Our family enjoyed searching for shells each morning and swimming in the crystal clear water. If you desire to go the long stretch of White Beach, there are frequent, simple shuttle rides from the resort. I preferred to the tranquility of Monaco Suites and could have stayed happily stayed there for our entire visit.

We would like to say a special thanks to Florence who met us at the airport and helped us arrange several special activities including a private boat for "island hopping". I highly recommend taking a boat tour of the island with a stop for snorkeling and a trip to Puka Beach. The staff at Monaco Suites are exceptionally kind and attentive.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean have no noise from the main road. Super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends over the new year period and overall we were very happy with the accommodation and service.

Things started on a great note with our transfer: we were collected from the airport then dropped off at the beach for a fabulous speed boat transfer (about 10 mins) over to the other side, accompanied by a glass of bubbles! It was a lovely start to the break after our flight and was very well organised.

We had a 2 bedroom suite, which included a small, separate 'maids room' so the 5 of us were able to sleep comfortably. There were some issues when we checked in as we had booked a twin and were placed in a double, but after initially telling us they had no other rooms, a load of guys turned up and started to move furniture around and before you knew it we had twin beds instead of a double!

It was a sizeable suite, with 2 nice bathrooms and all facilities you could ask for, including a well-stocked kitchen if you wanted to go down the self-catering route. The view from our suite was stunning, out over a lovely bay and quite often there were kitesurfers to watch while sunbathing. We had a balcony with a small table and chairs to enjoy the view from. The hotel is set in a very quiet area and as it's out of town there is no late night disturbance.

Breakfast was included in the price and there was truly something for everyone! From pancakes to freshly cooked eggs, to muffins to Asian dishes, there was plenty of choice to set you up for the day! We only ate breakfast in the resort so I can't comment on any other meals.

The pool area was nice with lovely views, all areas of the hotel were kept very clean.

The hotel is about 10 mins out of the main town. There is a regular shuttle service or for the more daring, guys with tuk-tuks and motorbikes wait at the end of the long hotel drive and will run you into town for the equivalent of about £1 one-way. This won't be for everyone, but we found that they drove carefully and they can't go that fast with 2 of you on the bike anyway! We loved it!

The shuttle has a couple of drop-off points; one of these is on a private beach area owned by the hotel where it is really nice to have a cocktail and watch the sunset.

Boracay itself is an incredibly long strip of beach, with bars and restaurants pretty much along the entire length. There is every type of food going, we had a recommendation for Dos Mestizos (Spanish tapas) and that was great, plus you must try chilli crab if you see it on special offer along the beach front! San Miguel beer is pretty much everywhere and if you like mango try a mango shake, they're addictive!

For those looking for a bit of late night dancing, try Summer Place, it's where a lot of the European dive instructors recommend and is lively most evenings.

While in Boracay we did lots of scuba diving. Our chosen dive school was Calypso and we weren't disappointed, they were so helpful with all our arrangements and the dive guides were all really friendly and knowledgeable. There are some great dive sites around this area and we saw some beautiful fish with good visibility levels. A must-try activity if you visit Boracay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Monaco Suites de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Suites de Boracay

Address: Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco Suites de Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Monaco Suites on Boracay IslandMonaco Suites de Boracay is the only luxurious exclusive all-suite resort on the island under German Management. Situated in a 16,000 square meter estate in Boracay’s finest location along a seaside hill, Monaco Suites boasts of spacious units sprawling out across well-maintained landscaped tropical gardens, with a panoramic view of Bulabog Beach and Mt. Luho (the highest elevation on the Island) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Monaco Suites de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Suites De Boracay Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Suites de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.