We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Suites de Boracay

Save Saved
You added Monaco Suites de Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Monaco Suites de Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location is very beautiful and quiet. You can sleep with open windows, no air condition and hear the surf of the waves! It seems to be located on a place with constant breeze as there are always many kytesurfers around. The premises are very well maintained, exceptionally clean and everything is functioning. The rooms are large, the bed is very good and the bathrooms are nice and clean. Almost all rooms have have a nice view of the sea.
The hotel has a frequent and free shuttle service to the center, so we found it preferable not to be in the middle of the action and crowd. You can get there and back easily within 15 minutes.
The restaurant is OK to good and pricing is reasonable. It fits the place. Breakfast good, but could offer a little more variety. Restaurant decoration is 1950's mediterranean style, quite sober, but its location is spectacular. If you have a special wish, the staff will be happy to cook it for you.
The pool is fantastic. The Jacuzzi should be heated to be enjoyed. There are plenty of quite spots to withdraw along the sea.
All members of the staff were very nice, helpful and competent.
We recommend this place and will definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    46
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one week at Monaco Suites and loved it! We had room 294, a one-bedroom suite, which I highly recommend specifically as we had a roof-top terrace that gives you a view of the whole island. No need to go to White Beach for sunset! In some units, the 2-bedroom is the top floor (with view deck), in others it's the 1-bedroom.

Breakfast is great. Staff is great. Decent and above average food menu, and room service arrives quite promptly. Gorgeous pool. Small but nice beach. Amazing views.

Summary of pros and cons:

+ quiet for Boracay (which has grown overly busy over the years), relaxing, lovely views and nice facility.

- expensive (we heard Agoda is the cheapest way to book and admit high season was part of the problem), shuttle to dmall required for access to White Beach and kitesurfing (Dmall is chaos and you have to plan for shuttles), toilets don't always flush properly.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor of one of the villas as you will have a roof deck to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over Xmas and Monaco Suites was well below expectations. Similar priced properties in Thailand/Bali are a far superior proposition. This place is nowhere near 5 star

Pro's: The property itself is very impressive and perfectly maintained, the rooms are large and quiet, and the view is one of the best in Boracay. They also have a very efficient airport shuttle service (this is a must) as well as hourly mini-bus to/from the beach (so the location is not an issue). The beach club & spa linkup in Station 3, room ammenities and fittings are not consistent with a 5* hotel, but the property does have everything you could possibly need.

Con's: there is only one restaurant - cheaply fitted, featuring tacky decor and music - average food, particularly the buffet breakfast that was always served on dirty tablecloths. Every staff member I met was aloof and not knowledgable (food / activities / room ammenities) and orders were constantly mixed up (not to mention, staff socialize in the public areas). In the room (231) the wi-fi barely works, there were unusual power-related noises in the night and outages in the day.

The online pictures are an accurate representation of the hotel but its a shame the experience was such a letdown sice we paid a lot of money and this was our annual vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for water facing or not near the back where they are constructing new villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

All in all a good stay. The strengths in the hotel are the following:
1) the pool is beautiful. I would comment however on the need for heating facilities particularly the jacuzzi. This would really assist the hotel as most of our stay it was windy and the heating facility would have made the experience more enjoyable.
2) the room service was outstanding. Our deepest thanks to Tess who made our stay very comfortable. Nothing was difficult for her at all. She treated our children with care, love and high nurture. We thank you Tess for making our stay enjoyable.
3) the breakfast was good. I felt perhaps the variety of food can be increased and more suited for breakfast dishes. It seemed as if there was more lunch options than breakfast options. All in all however, good quality food

The weaknesses:
1) the pool definitely needs heating facilities
2) the spa treatment needs much improvement. The masseuse was very good however the facilities was not high end to compliment a 5* hotel. The hotel definitely needs a spa treatment facility. My wife also commented on her pedicure and manicure as being of low standard also. My advice is to restructure the spa options to be more organised with proper facilities rather than unprofessional room to room service.
3) Not enough children friendly activities (heating facilities in the pool or jacuzzi would have definitely let our 6 month year old child stayed longer in the pool). Perhaps a further suggestion could be a playground or a child park with toys etc
All in all, a good stay. If management do the above, I am confident it would be on the highest level of resort in Boricay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed Christmas and Boxing Day 2012. As with pretty much all customer service in the Philippines, service here is perfect - professional, friendly, helpful. The suite we had was large and the view, facing north and on the other side of Boracay from White Beach more than makes up for the fact that the hotel isn't on White Beach (there's a very efficient shuttle service anyway). It isn't a huge resort - maybe 30 or so suites, which makes it quiet but without being too quiet - there are still people around the pool, in the restaurant, etc. Good hotel gym facilities as well.

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room here. It seems that all the suites have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco Suites for 3 days and had an awesome time there! we will definitely stay there again since there are several things that made it an awesome trip. Its away from the hustle and bustle of the Stations, but easy to get everywhere because of the shuttle.

Our arrival was quick and efficient, and even though we arrived early we were accommodated into our room. The room was a 2-BR suite and was so nice... great furnished kitchen, huge living area and an equally huge outdoor patio area, both with an amazing view of the ocean. Beds were a little hard for my taste, but not too bad. Note that this side of is usually breezy/windy, but it was nice enough to leave the windows open most of the time.

Really nice infinity pool and plenty of lounge space. Good wifi reception throughout the resort. No real beach to speak of, but you could still do some exploring in at low tide. A really nice touch was the free hotel shuttle that runs to D'Mall and back every hour on the hour... really convenient and really reliable. Food at the resort was good.

Service was excellent at the resort, especially our concierge who put together a great island hopping/snorkeling outing. What made him memorable was the personal effort he took to get our gear and take us to the boat and fetch us again when done, and he did the same for our early morning departure when we left. He was really a great guy. We had average service at the pool at first, but when we called attention to it, it was great for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

From the pictures, it seemed to be a beautiful hotel.Thus even though I had to pay almost SGD 400 for a one night stay, I thought it was worth the stay.
First disappointment was due to the fact that just because I was a solo traveller, I had to pay for 2 pax for the yatch boat transfer as it needed a min of 2 pax.It was not fair for a solo traveller like me travelling first time to Boracay.I tried to justify that I paid the same price for the room just like other couples or group travellers.Yet the staff insisted it was their policy.
Second disappointment was because I did not specify a room with bathtub, mine had only shower.I paid so much and demanded I get a room transfer.(Which I did).I arranged for my own transport , the least I could expect was great service.But the staff although polite, were not pro active.
Free shuttle bus were provided as it was not walking distance from D'Mall.I conclude this is better for families who wants to spend time far from the city but not for solo travellers.Its too much hassle just for a magnificient view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Suites de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Suites de Boracay

Also Known As:
Monaco Suites De Boracay Hotel
Monaco Suites De Boracay Hotel Boracay
Address: Tulubhan Manoc Manoc, 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco Suites de Boracay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Monaco Suites on Boracay IslandMonaco Suites de Boracay is the only luxurious exclusive all-suite resort on the island under German Management. Situated in a 16,000 square meter estate in Boracay’s finest location along a seaside hill, Monaco Suites boasts of spacious units sprawling out across well-maintained landscaped tropical gardens, with a panoramic view of Bulabog Beach and Mt. Luho (the highest elevation on the Island) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Monaco Suites de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Suites de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.