We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good drank, great hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAMA's Bar, Restaurant, and Chillout Lounge

MAMA's Bar, Restaurant, and Chillout Lounge
Main Road, opposite Grand Vista Hotel, Hagdan, Yapak, Aklan Province, Philippines
9994670435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 211 Restaurants in Boracay
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, good drank, great hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Chill spot in Boracay worth visiting for schnitzel or some other Austrian/German grub. I had the chicken breast salad since after coming off a week of lots of pork parts. Lulz.

Anyway Marcus was very hospitable and the environment is laid back. We walked back to our hotel on the beach at night and it felt pretty safe.

BaM!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    42
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou, China
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Austrian Food - a must-try at least once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived to be seated near the road, because the place was mostly full, but after a few people left, the owner and the waitress welcomed us further into the restaurant.

After a few drinks, we ordered the Sausage Platter, including 4 different types of sausage, some french fries, and a mouth-watering sour crout. We were also given lots of mustard, and when we told the owner we ate sausage so that we could eat mustard, he promptly left to give use a very special concoction of mustard and horse-radish that was super spicy and really brought out the flavor in the pork!

I LOVE German-style, hearty food, based around pork and potatoes. I travel a lot and always seek it out, so I eat a lot of pork platters. This one is no disappointment. In fact, it was absolutely delicious and satisfying. It was perfectly cooked, and with the beer and the mustard, it gave me my heavenly fill.

Furthermore, it is nearly impossible to find beer on tap on the island, but the owner found a way to get fresh brew of local beers into his restaurant (although he admitted supplies are not always consistent). It wasn't a European beer, but it was still from the tap, and it wasn't that bad. That only added to satisfying some of my many vices at Mama's Bar.

There are two things about the restaurant that some may complain about: location and atmosphere. To reach Mama's, you have to pry yourself away from the beach by about 10 minutes on the main road (driving). Once you get there, you will notice it is fairly small and it is right on the road, so the sound of constant traffic may take away from the otherwise welcoming and authentic atmosphere. These are not things that bother me, however, and I found going out for dinner away from the beach was a nice change.

Finally, in reading other reviews, I can see that my fiance and I were not the only victim's to the owner's rounds of free Jager shots. I went toe-to-toe with him as long as I could, but I had to drop out of the race as my stomach was already so full of beer and pork! I had an excellent sleep that night.

Overall, Mama's is welcoming, authentic, and the food, in our experience, is excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and host ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went here not knowing what to expect but the food was amazing and the owner provided free shots of jäger. I would say it was win win.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food Excellent Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My favorite restaurant in Boracay. I've lived in Boracay for almost two years and Mama's is always the first restaurant I recommend to travelers. Marcus is a great host who makes sure all the diners have a good time (and leave tipsy). Try the kaese spaetzle and goulash!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wow... Just Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Loved this place. The food servings were huge - I felt like I was in a food coma when leaving. It was a bit of a trek from whitebeach but so worth it!!! Plus free Jager shots are always welcome & the Host is absolutely wonderful!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAMA's Bar, Restaurant, and Chillout Lounge also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to MAMA's Bar, Restaurant, and Chillout Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAMA's Bar, Restaurant, and Chillout Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.