We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay & Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Real Maris Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Real Maris Resort to your Saves list
Real Maris Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Station 1, Balabag | Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 188 Boracay B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible stay & Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Warning! This is not a beach front resort as advised by their booking office. There is a small patio that you have to go thru before you see the beach. There is NO place in front of the beach where you can relax because it is located in a very busy area... CHAOS!
If you need a place just to sleep then probably this will be ok BUT STILL its expensive given the location, there's a lot of resort that has better location and worth the same price that they offer.
Also they need to refurbish, like the window of our room its broken but I cannot keep it open because the neighboring resort will see me, take note this hotel is just 1yr old as they told me.

At the back, the hallway going to the room the view is very terrible you can see the hanging clothes and dirty area of the neighboring resort... IF YOU DONT WANT TO MESS YOUR VACATION DONT STAY HERE!

Not worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I booked the V.I.P deluxe room for our honeymoon on this hotel because I read some of the good reviews about this hotel. Of course I came across to some bad reviews saying that the hotel was located in the partying area in boracay where a good rest seems just like a dream to happen. But, upon arriving to the hotel, their staff were very accommodating, but we have to wait for our room to be available because of the ongoing housekeeping. Upon entering our room, the bed was so romantically set up with drapes and the bathroom is so clean and organized, and well maintained by the housekeepers. The room has its own ref so being thirsty in the middle of the night won't be a problem. At night, the place is quiet compared to other hotels in the area namely RED COCONUT, LA CARMELA ETC...I am really looking forward to be back in this hotel. Great place and a great value for money..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayers here 3 nights. When we arrived and asked For the priced, which where a lot more expensive than booking throug agoda. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfy. We where surprised to see the reviews on tripadvisor, as we really enjoyed our time here. Of course there are venders on the beach for sail trips but that is on the whole beach! Boracay is super touristy so don't expect to have a very quiete and serene holiday. With all that said I would recommend this hotel if the prices where a bit lower!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I chose this hotel because it's right on the beach and it has patios where you can sit and watch the pool. Unfortunately, I couldn't use the patio much since the sun was shining directly on the bench making it very warm. The rooms are nice and big, the beds decorated romantically. Bathrooms are big and modern. The pool is attractive and stylish. A few minor quibbles; the hotel restaurant is mediocre. We ate our free breakfast only the first morning. I liked going to Real Coffee down the beach. Excellent muffins! There are only 4 beach lounge chairs around the pool. These were usually staked out by someone leaving you to sit in a restaurant chair or on the ground. It seems to me they could have put out chairs. The staff was efficient but not too clued in to whats in the city. A lady I asked where a restaurant in D'Mall was had no idea and didn't bother to ask someone else.

Room Tip: Some patios are directly exposed to the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

It's quite far from the main road where your transfer can drop you off. The path going the hotel was dirty and a mess, and I was a bit shocked because the resort was really worn out. Like they did not care to maintain the place. It was very far from their pictures in the website. We arrived around 1pm but they said they still cannot give the room? Which is weird since its not really peak and I assume they have the room ready but still followed the standard check-in time at 2pm. So we left our bags in their front desk and decided to have lunch first. Customer Service was quite poor.

When we got back to check-in, it took them awhile before they could let us in. The room was very spacious, the interior was not arranged well and not maximized. It had a bathtub and spacious bathroom. But the wooden chair in the balcony looked very old and dirty, the should replace it already. What I loved was their nets in the four poster beds. We actually liked that there were food stands outside because their food (breakfast was so-so) and we liked to buy other food nearby. Location was near to bars and restaurants and to the boat dock for island hopping and water sports. It was also walking distance to D'mall and the road. Many food establishments were nearby like Yellow Cab and Hawaiian BBQ. Although the resort did not have a beach front area. We also never tried swimming as I'm afraid they might have forgotten to maintain that also. The place had ref, cable (old) TV, SDB, huge cabinets for your clothes , balcony, table and chairs but it could have been better if they renovated the place. Some of the windows were also broken already in our room. We were out most of the time so we weren't so much concerned about their flaws.

But for the price your paying, I think there are other resorts in Boracay who can satisfy your needs than Real Maris. They may have a pool but one that is not worth dipping in, you have to weigh the cons and read reviews.

Room Tip: Make a list of what you want or your priorities in booking a resort first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila,Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

well my experienced in real maris is just good enough for me and my friends.The staffs were very accommodating. It is actually located a steps away from the beach front, most probably 20 steps but we passes houses before getting into the resort coz its in the beach area. We got a promo from our travel agent that is not that expensive, a hotel type resort like this is really worth it. What I like in this resort is that: rooms are clean and the location , its almost perfect. why? coz its very accessible in willy's rock (5minutes walk) , in 'D mall (7minutes walk) and in bolabog (the backside of boracay where aqua activities happens,its just 10minutes walk) .
Those people who sells pearls,offers massage,and banana boat; those were normal in the island of Boracay and you cannot avoid them, that is a bit annoying but if you want more secluded place, better find resorts in the northern part of station 1. According to people in boracay, real maris belongs to station 1 and I guess they are not lying about their location. In regards of refund, good thing that we were advised by our agent that once we finalize our booking, we may not get any refund anymore. So, I guess we should know every rules and policies when we book to any hotel or resort. I just want this review be helpful to those who need help. food cart and the stalls in front of the resort blocked the views and I guess this should be given an attention by their management.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Real Maris is what it is. It is a cheap hotel in an overpriced area on a busy annoying beach. But depending on what you are looking for, it may not be a bad thing.

The hotel is small and difficult to get to. When we arrived, we got dropped off on the main street then carried our bags about 200 meters through a winding maze of alleys to get to the check-in counter. The people were nice enough but the whole check-in process seemed really cheap and uninviting.

The pool and pool area is a bit of a joke. I never even bothered to get in or sit there as it was dirty and cheap looking.

The restaurant was a slight step up from a street food vendor, with a small kitchen attached to an open area that looks like a BBQ area at a poorly maintained public park. But, if you like flies on your buffet food, this place is for you.

The rooms were surprisingly quaint. The beds, while pretty hard and not terribly comfortable, had this nice little princess bed curtain on it. Pretty romantic for couples. The views from the rooms are horrible. You cant see the beach through the rusty, tin roofs and shops.

The walk to the beach is dreadful. Not that it is far, as one contributor mentions… instead, the problem is that there are a flock of vendors sitting outside the gate waiting for you to come out to the beach so they can pounce on you and attack you with various tours and activities.

The beach itself is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!!!! By far the best beach I have been on from Saipan to Thailand. And the hotel has their own little area with chairs that are free to hotel guests. Unfortunately, you can’t enjoy it.. because you are constantly hounded by some guy selling a boat tour. When he leaves, its some kids selling fruit or cheap jewelry. When they leave, its someone selling a massage, manicure, pedicure or anything else on the island that can be sold. And when that doesn't work, no less than 30 sail boats will come in with the tide and block your natural view so they can sell a trip. They are more annoying than the flies on the buffet line.

The shopping area only a hundred meters from the hotel gate is pretty nice. Unfortunately, it is WAY overpriced and the people there must be rich because there is NO customer service. They couldn’t seem less interested in your shopping needs.

But I am not some uppity person who can’t see value in this hotel. The hotel actually has it’s place. It is a cheap solution for someone who wants to visit the area. It sits in a decent spot on the island and has access to some cool little night spots (a karaoke bar right outside the gate, some awesome little restaurants with live music with seats built into the beach).

For example, if you are a group of young guys looking to head to a busy tropical island, have fun drinking and meeting girls from around Asia… and don’t have a lot of money to do it… this may be your place.

If you are looking for a beautiful resort on a peaceful, romantic, secluded beach with great service, food and spa’s… don’t be fooled by the pictures. This is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Real Maris Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Maris Resort

Address: Station 1, Balabag | Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Maris Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Maris Resort is a luxurious Boracay hotel for more bliss in paradise. Their air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a cable TV, DVD player, Internet access, room safe, mini-bar, and refrigerator. Some of their facilities are restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, a beach bar, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Real Maris Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Maris Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Maris Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.