We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, silly rules” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador in Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely location, silly rules”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, the hotel is lovely and is on the best part of white beach (in my opinion)- not too busy but close enough to walk to all the action for dinner if you wish.
the staff are all v.friendly but are unable to deviate from exact protocol and use their common sens, which is a bit frustrating at times.

The room was nice, but we stayed in 301 which is right beside the generator (401 is even closer). This meant we had the constant loud noise of this 24/7.

On arrival you are given a series of contracts to read and sign about all their rules and regulations, which was not the best start.

It is a nice hotel but for $270 per night I am not sure.

We also had issues with the reception double charging our credit card which then took more than a week to resolve, leaving us without access to funds. This was due to the girl on the desk just swiping our card for payment without 1st checking that we had already paid online.

The main issue we had is that you are not allowed to bring any drinks or food in from outside the hotel- including water. The water in the hotel costs 4-5times that of everywhere else and there is a security guard on the beach stopping everyone who enters and practically frisking you to check if you have any. The restaurant is good. very pricey compared to other places but it is nice. Again my only issue was that a beer costs 175 pesos but is only 50pesos right next door!!!

We did enjoy our stay and boracay itself is stunning. would I stay here again? I wouldn't rule it out but there is nothing that spectacular that would stop me from trying a neighbouring resort next time.

Room Tip: request not to have a room in the same block as 301 and 401 as it's right by the generator and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    27
    18
    21
See reviews for
87
126
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visit this resort several times a year. Just to relax and enjoy life. High service, great rooms and magnificant kitchen.. Try the Chateaubriand with a nice bottle of red wine and you will truly feel as if you are dining in paradise. The staff is wonderfall. Nice to see familiar faces again. Reason for us to return in a couple of months, like we always do!

Room Tip: Choose for a Casita on the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pretended to be rich and stayed in the executive suite. Didn't really need it. Great room, but the view from there was blocked by a palm tree. The only failing was the near darkness in the bathroom. No vanity for a lady, and too dark to see to shave. Location at the end of the beach was excellent as there was hardly any foot traffic from all the other vacationers. The game room above the restaurant is good for a couple of hours and has 2 free workstations. Wifi was good, too. Breakfast buffet was ok, with the usual items, but not a huge selection. However, the one meal had at the restaurant was the most expensive one of the stay, tasted of freezer burn, and gave acid indigestion. Enjoyed the nearby horseback ride, but felt overcharged on the dune buggy. Both have the same look out point destination, a do it once event. Overall, the sunset and white talc sand make it worth it.

Room Tip: Don't bother waiting for the hotel shuttle to carry you around. Walk or trike. And always ask ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Dear fellow travellers, me and my girlfriend dicided to go for a 10 day trip to boracay to escape the european winter. We had heard from friends that ambassador in paradise was a really nice resort. And it sure is! Because of ambassador we enjoyed every minute of our relaxing time at the island. It already started with the arrival we were collected at caticlan airport. The staff carried from that moment onward our luggage all the way into the room. Also we got a warm welcome on arrival with a refreshing drink. Rooms are located on the beach with magnificent vieuws! Rooms are with much detail decorated and are very spaciuos with a nice balcony from where you can see the sun go down in the sea in the evenings. Very romantic;-) The restaurant has a very good kitchen my favorite was the prawntermidor really nice! In our opinion a place where you can relax and averything is taken care off!

Room Tip: Casitas at the beach front look onederfull are a bit more expensive but if your travel budget allows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

our family spent New years eve for the 2nd year already here and we are always so happy with the service and the smile of the staffs. The third time we went my husband and I brought our German friend and he loved it too. Its kinda pricey. The room rate and the food at the resto. But the servings is quite big. Try their pizzas!!! its so delicious. We tried napolitana, margerita and four cheese. We stayed in a premium room with a jacuzzi in the bathroom. My kids enjoyed it so much.Every night they place a leaf with a good night note. cute.Best thing too is that they have free shuttle to and from the D Mall. My kids ages 11 and 13 would ask front desk to send driver to bring them to D Mall. We are happy that my kids are taken cared off. They also lend a cellphone so can call front desk for any need where ever you are in Boracay.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 603. Its on the second floor. No to high yet you have a good view of the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed here in december for one week. reception was great and easy check in. we had a ocean view suite on fourth floor (no lift). the room was great size, good ammenities, and great view. bathroom was huge aswell. if ( no.......when) i stay again i would book ground floor nearer the beach. the beach was wonderful. the staff were very friendly and attentive. management were very nice also. the best bit is the position; beautiful sea and sand, and away from the noisey second station. with free bus shuttle to town, only few mins. you could walk it but would take about 20 mins. overall a wonderful stay in brilliant hotel. few bad points: 1) no proper phone so had to go to reception when had a problem. they really need to get this sorted! 2) the price of a babysitter was sooooo expensive 600 pesos per hour!!!! we managed to find a nanny outside the complex who came every night for 500 pesos for the night.get in touch if you wish to know her details! 3) not allowed own food in room, which i understand, but the odd snack and drink should be ok.
when we come back we would definitely stay here again! an absoltue gem!!!
when

Room Tip: go for ground floor near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ambassador for the first half of a 10 day trip, with second half spent at the Astoria, about 10 mins further down the beach, both hotels in Station 1. A quick tip for anyone wanting peace and quiet while staying in Boracay-stay at the Ambassador. The beachfront is amazing, all pics you see on google of powdery white sand and unspoilt turquoise water are taken up the very end of Station 1 where the Ambassador is located. Station 2 onwards has horrible, dirty beachfronts with 1000 hawkers bothering you, and small boats picking and dropping people off all day long.

-The hotel itself was 4-5 star. Large comfortable rooms.
-The only downside was that the hotel staff were extremely procedure-oriented and appeared to have zero common sense if you had a complaint or query. It's probably a combination of cultural and language barriers if you're not an Asian tourist.
-A great fine dining restaurant for around USD$25-30 p.p. It's beach-side, so you can enjoy the sunset over the water while having a refreshing cocktail
-Excellent Moroccan restaurant right next door (sounds like mismatch for a tropical island but the food is great).
-The beach is clean, unpopulated and relatively few hawkers
-Some good restaurants within relatively close walking distance
-The pool is small but does the job. Mainly families took advantage.
-Overall, would gladly recommend this place for couples, families or singles.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms at the Ambassador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador in Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Address: Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador in Paradise Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador in Paradise Resort is nested in the best "White Beach" location here at Boracay Philippines. We'd love to accommodate conventions, weddings and guests like you who seeks paradise on earth! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador in Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador In Paradise Hotel Boracay
Ambassador In Paradise Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador in Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.