We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Place on a So-So Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Save Saved
You added Ambassador in Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Northern CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid Place on a So-So Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights here (Nov 17-20). Here are some of the Pros and Cons of the Ambassador:

Pros:
1. Big rooms and spacious bathrooms
2. Excellent beach location in Station 1
3. Nice beach-front restaurant (although this comes with flies on a non-windy day)
4. Nice hotel staff
5. Comfortable, memory-foam type of beds

Cons:
1. Took 20 minutes to check-in
2. Lobby is a "sweatbox" with little ventiliation
3. Hotel key card wouldn't open door 3 or 4 times
4. Toilet water kept running after flushing
5. AC had to run constantly to keep the room fairly cool (seemed under-powered)

Boracay in general:
We flew into Manila and then connected into Caticlan where you are shuttled a short distance to a boat loading spot. The loading spot made an awful first impression. It's a small building in a dirt parking lot with shacks next to it. The beach where you are picked up is a bee-hive of industrial activity and looks like an eco-disaster.

We then took a 10-minute boat ride from Panay to Boracay and proceeded to hit another Banca boat on the way to the pier. A crash that left a hole in the other boat's hull. After you arrive at the next pier, we then shuttled up to station 1 (probably a 20 ride) on a narrow, congested road. If you have never been to a developing country before, be prepared for a shock of stray dogs, people walking inches from vehicles, motorized tricycles and cobwebs of power lines. Again, it does not make a good impression.

Boracay is a Beauty and the Beast story to me. It's physically beautiful with great white sand, gradually sloped, warm water with hardly any waves. Lots of hawkers (vendors) selling things but thankfully they were not pushy. The people are nice and English is widely spoken (easy if you are an English speaker). On the other hand, Boracay (and other places in the PI) has been developed un-checked without any sort of master plan. The beach side is fine, the service road is a dump and D'Mall is a bit chaotic.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    65
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
76
117
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
千葉
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stuff are quite friendly and nice young persons.
Hotel has some electric vehicles and they bring me to anywhere in island. On back way, also they will pick-up me wherever you like by call with a hotel's cell-phone they have given me. It was very useful.
After fun in beach, straight access to my room with sandy sandal. Also a huge shower space is just locate next to front door, therefor room will not become sandy.
If you want to use free Wi-Fi in a room, you should get a information about login ID and pass.

Room Tip: The ground floor room must be in plain view from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort for 3 nights for our first trip to Boracay in October 2012 and loved the entire experience. We took this trip for my wife's birthday, and when I informed the hotel they did everything possible to make the stay as romantic, comfortable and memorable as possible. We arrived to flowers on the bed and chocolate cake (for a small cost), rose pedals strewn around the room and every set up romantically. The staff were incredibly accommodating to our every need and wished my wife a happy birthday every chance they got. We were very impressed.

The location of this resort is perfect as well. It is one of the only truly beachfront properties on the island and has it's own stretch of beach, lounge chairs and a bar/restaurant right on the beachfront (serves great food and even better drinks). The hotel has a great, lively vibe, but is perfectly quiet at night. They provide all the services and activities you could want on the island from a kiosk on the beach. They also provide a free shuttle to get to any other part of the island (we took it to Station 2 numerous times and to the Shangri La for a drink at sunset, which I HIGHLY recommend).

You can't get a better location or service for the value of the Ambassador Resort. I highly recommend staying here, and we might even come back for an encore next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my partner were at ambassador on boracay for 3 nights and loved every second of it. the thing that really makes this place special is the staff! They were always very attentive and would do anything for you. breakfast, although it is a buffet is served right to your table, just ask them for anything and they will bring it with a smile.
also it was such a pleasure to return to our room after an few hours on the beach and to see it made up so nicely and smelling so beautiful. our bathroom was like our own personal spa! and we also loved the extra touch of the turndown service with a nice note nightly from the room cleaners.
we really enjoyed the complimentary cocktails and canapees served each night at sundown. It was a perfect way to end the day enjoying the beautiful views and world famous sunset over white beach sat on a lounger on the beach sipping a delicious strawberry daquari and day dreaming!
we asked, and they clean the beach 5x a day and you can really tell. it honestly is the best beach on the island and we would know as we live on a neighboring island and go to boracay on average every 3 weeks either for business or for a short break so we have seen all of it and the sand in front of ambassador is devine and perfect for those all important pictures!
the food is fantastic in ambassador, we eat here at some point most times when we come because it doesnt get much better on the island. you wont be dissapointed with anything on the menu.
the only things i could recommend is that it would be a nice touch to have some sort of rinsing facility closer to the beach for when you get out of the salty sea and want to sunbathe. there is a shower near the pool which is very close though so this is not a big issue, it would just be a nice touch. and also an urn outside of the bedrooms with some water in it to rinse sand off of your feet would be nice, or else as it is so powdery you inevitably end up with it on your sheets, even after taking a shower.
all in all, we really enjoyed our stay and will return again in a few weeks hopefully, and if not to stay, definately at least for some of that great food!
thanks to all the staff for a great time :)

Room Tip: we were in room 101 on the ground floor near the pool and right next door to the bar. even though we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

During the middle of a typhoon a friend and I stayed here. We were enjoying the friendly service and comfortable accommodations, until a member of the housekeeping/service staff entered our room while we were sleeping! What a fright to wake up to see a stranger our doorway! We called the front desk and they said they would investigate. They called back to say they found out whom had entered and that he was doing so to turn off our patio lights! Why wouldn't housekeeping knock before entering to turn off lights? And why didn't he turn off anyone else's lights (we checked and others had their lights on). There were no real apologies and no concessions were made for this harrowing experience. I would not recommend staying here for safety reasons if you are a woman. Terrible experience for a "top" resort.

The hotel itself was nice, and the shuttle into the main part of town was great. The happy hour was also cute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Ambassador is a fantastic value property. The beach it is located on is quite stunning and the layout of the property is easy. Not a luxury 5 star by international standards (although the bathroom is amazing), but very comfortable, extremely large rooms each containing a balcony and a wonderful staff. Great bed, good sitting area, powerful Ac. There are fancier properties but you pay accordingly. Located in station 1, literally right next to Discovery Boracay. The staff is also amazing with all the children at the property I would definitely feel good about bringing the whole family here. Initially they met us at the airport (Caticlan), we took a private boat to Boracay and then private van to the property. I would certainly recommend this property and would love to stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a terrible experience at the Ambassador In Paradise Resort and will never return—even though we will be returning to Boracay. We stayed at the Boracay Beach Club for eight days prior and enjoyed every minute of our time their. Not so the Ambassador.

We were walk-ins, having scoped out a few places at the top of White Beach to stay after BBC. The area is quiet, with the best sand and less noise and foor traffic. We thought it would be a great way to splurge before heading home. How wrong we were. When we were looking, sales staff Joy and Lady were very helpful, if somewhat aggressive. They were booked up for the nights we were looking, but offered us a deal on one of their executive suites, which they offered to show us and if we were interested we could negotiate some more. They showed us a great looking suite with a view of the ocean, and because of that we decided to take it at the same price as their junior executive. When we arrived, they had our room ready, but it was nothing like the room we had seen. It was off to the side, with no view except of the tin shacks at the side of the hotel and someone else's name on the welcome card. We complained and they offered to move us—but it took them until 4pm (we checked in around 11:30am). Also, before checking in to the room, they ask you to sign a form agreeing not to bring outside food and drink into the hotel or they will charge you a fee as they want you to purchase their ridiculously overpriced in-room and bar/resto food (that includes water, beer, whisky, chips, nuts—anything, really). I've seen this before, but the prices at the Ambassador are so ridiculous (PHP 190 for San Miguel beer, PHP 120 for a small water, etc) compared to what other places are charging it was almost like they were having a laugh at us. If you do decide to stay, don't sign the form or bring stuff in and throw the bottles/containers away before they make up your room. Better yet: avoid staying altogether!

For the USD $400 or so we spent, they gave us complimentary drink coupons (four, in total). Great. Except you can only use them from 5pm to 5:05pm. Yes, you read that right: you can use the coupons for five minutes from 5 to 5:05! At 5pm the bartender rings a bell. You fill out a slip with your drink choices (basics: beer, soda, some pre-made cocktails) and bring it up to the bar where they hand you your drink. At precisely 5:05pm he rings the bell again, and that's it! If you miss it, you miss it. Not only was this cheap and insulting after the money we spent on the rooms—it's downright rude! Whoever thought of this idea should be fired. Quire frankly, the owner and management should be ashamed of themselves. Added to this is the fact that their menu is horrendously, ridiculously overpriced. I work in Tokyo and the menu prices are similar! The prices are so high compared to what else is around, it's like they are trying to trap you.

Other things:

- Our suited was appointed with an electric kettle—but the cord wasn't long enough to reach any outlet! I ended up plugging it in under the desk that had an outlet close to the floor.

- The bathroom amenities are of the cheapest quality I have ever seen in a "resort." The single blade razor and "shaving cream" (really just liquid soap!) have no place in a hotel that considers themselves "5 stars."

- Service both to the room and at the restaurant was average at best. They would ask if you want some more coffee (for example) and after saying yes, just disappear. Calling the front office to have things like ice delivered to the room is an exercise in patience.

- They're happy to drive you down to d-Mall or wherever and they give you cellular phone to use to call them for pick-up. Good luck! We waited at Talipapa for over 30 minutes after calling but nobody showed up (there was not much traffic and it is only a 5-minute drive). We ended up hopping on a trike to get back. When we asked them what happened they said they had not received a call from us—even though I had called for pick-up and was told it would be about ten to fifteen minutes!

Finally, on our transfer back to Caticlan (we could have had Boracay Beach Club transfer us because we had paid for it there, too) which was included in our fee, they put us on the cheapest outrigger to to the mainland. Even BBC had brought us over on a decent boat. Not that we care about the quality of the boat, but we paid MORE for LESS from the Ambassador!

I just can't say enough how terrible the experience was for us. We were looking forward to a nice room and relaxation at the end of our trip, and basically got the complete opposite. We should have stayed at BBC. Better yet: stay at Friday's which is next door.

Shame on the owner and management for so outrageously treating their customers as money machines—and not even providing great services and amenities in the first place. We'll never go back and will never recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
Pool, Beach, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
#29 of 131 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Discovery Shores Boracay
#5 of 131 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#4 of 131 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Boracay Uptown
Boracay Uptown
#44 of 131 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Beach, Free int...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Monaco Suites de Boracay
Monaco Suites de Boracay
#10 of 131 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador in Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Address: Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador in Paradise Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador in Paradise Resort is nested in the best "White Beach" location here at Boracay Philippines. We'd love to accommodate conventions, weddings and guests like you who seeks paradise on earth! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador in Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador In Paradise Hotel Boracay
Ambassador In Paradise Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador in Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.