We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect holiday spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Save Saved
You added Ambassador in Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Asiatravel.com
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We went to Boracay for one weekend and stayed in this real 5 star resort!
If you are looking for a trip you will remember as a romantic getaway which is arranged perfectly, then go to this place. When we arrived we already thought wow what will come next...
Our room was situated right on the beach so after waking up we could go straight for a walk on this perfectly white sandy beach:-) Also there is a nice gym with a lot of equipment. Rooms are very spacious and keept nice and tidy by the hotel staff all the time. Evening food from the kitchen is also good quality. All was taken care off so good that we will definitely go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    59
    20
    14
    20
See reviews for
69
110
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Visiting this hotel for the 3th time in 3 years,this time was januari 2012, its amazing that the staff and service, everytime is better than before. I like the friendly hospitality staff , breakfast is super and never found a more compleet breakfast else.
Rooms are big and clean, the bathroom is huge. I try 3 type`s of rooms and each room give me a good feeling, the manager gives me a upgrade to a bigger room for free, so i sleep at ,I think the best located room at the resort, named Casita , close at the beach, with a superior beach front, from were it is 20 meters from the clean beach and wonderfull blue water.
The restaurant is really 5 stars quality food with a range of fish and other european en Philipine meals, so even when you will be for more than 2 weeks a the hotel , you never have to eat the same, and every ordered meal was perfect, my compliments to the cook
Its located on the best part of Boracay.
For sure I will go back next year, I tryed several other hotels on Boracay in the past, but my number one is Ambassador in Paradise.
Thanks to the manager and the staff

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Haven't seen an owner of an establishment as rude as this guy who is always visible in the resort, not friendly at all to his guests.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Travelled all the way from Australia expecting paradise. I had food poisoning from the breakfast they served. Had bites from the bed bugs. And noticed mold on the utensils. Save yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Reprimands kids for playing around the beach with their beach towels. He should draw a line at the shore if he doesnt want his towels out! Owner rude to guests, accused us pf cheating a few thousands even if we paid 300k pesos! Miss communication w staff is being accused to us. Bad!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our unfortunate experience at Ambassador resort- new years day...

Spending the new year in Bora is an experience you will never forget.. The fireworks, the beach, the booze, The food, and the parties.... Our group consisting of 20+ adults and children decided to spend it there from December 28- January 1-expecting only the best and fun fun fun!

This is our first time to stay at Ambassador in Paradise Resort, Station 1, Boracay and we did not know what to expect. We usually stay at Discovery Shores Boracay but was unfortunately fully booked for the New Year holidays since the early part of this year, so we decided to try Ambassador even without any recommendations from anyone. We are a bit surprised to see how "OC" the owner, Mr. Van der Tak, is, from reprimanding our children with beach towels even if it were registered under our rooms even upto the billing/check out. The overpriced 5 star charges are not reflective of the substandard services they provide.

While checking out,we found ourselves in an unfortunate incident due to miscommunication within his staff. Let us explain what happened. Prior to our arrival, we already informed Ms. Lady Verrih Lanusga, the reservations officer, that we will be arranging our own transfer from caticlan airport. But when we reached caticlan, there was a guy wearing an Ambassador uniform holding a white board with our name on it. He insisted that we ride with him and said that there are no additional charges since it's all included in our room package. Therefore, we cancelled our prearranged transport. Mr van der tak was personally there to pick us up too- question is- why would he pick us up if it weren't included in the package, right?

We were not informed of the charges until we were inquiring about transport fees to kalibo going back to manila with the front desk. We were suprised to learn that we will be charged accordingly. As we talked to Ms. Lady, she agreed (via phone call) to waive all the transport charges & was very apologetic with the situation and even sent us an apology letter to our room before the eve of December 31.

You can just imagine how disappointed our group were despite the business we gave Ambassador. The way they treated their guests clearly reflects the service the resort provides. If he were a professional business owner, He should've had asked his staff first, clarified what really happened, before barging in on us like that. We were all clueless.. We thought he would thank us for staying that long in His resort, invite us to comeback, and wish us all a safe trip back... But no!!! He asked Us to leave right away leading us to the door... How dare he confronts us like that, in front of the innocent kids, in front of his staff and other guests. While walking away, he said we cheated him a few thousands. Honestly, right now, our group feels that Ambassador resort cheated on us- we paid more than 300,000 pesos not including food, massages, bar expenses, and tips- but we didn't get the service we expected and wished for.

Despite that, we would like to thank mr van der tak for the accomodations, but WE ARE NEVER COMING back to Ambassador- a supposedly 5 star resort in Boracay...

Were sharing this with you for whatever it is worth... Hopefully you don't experience the same treatment when you go to Boracay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our unfortunate experience at Ambassador resort- new years day...

Spending the new year in Bora is an experience you will never forget.. The fireworks, the beach, the booze, The food, and the parties.... Our group consisting of 20+ adults and children decided to spend it there from December 28- January 1-expecting only the best and fun fun fun!

This is our first time to stay at Ambassador in Paradise Resort, Station 1, Boracay and we did not know what to expect. We usually stay at Discovery Shores Boracay but was unfortunately fully booked for the New Year holidays since the early part of this year, so we decided to try Ambassador even without any recommendations from anyone. We are a bit surprised to see how "OC" the owner, Mr. Van der Tak, is, from reprimanding our children with beach towels even if it were registered under our rooms even upto the billing/check out. The overpriced 5 star charges are not reflective of the substandard services they provide.

While checking out,we found ourselves in an unfortunate incident due to miscommunication within his staff. Let us explain what happened. Prior to our arrival, we already informed Ms. Lady Verrih Lanusga, the reservations officer, that we will be arranging our own transfer from caticlan airport. But when we reached caticlan, there was a guy wearing an Ambassador uniform holding a white board with our name on it. He insisted that we ride with him and said that there are no additional charges since it's all included in our room package. Therefore, we cancelled our prearranged transport. Mr van der tak was personally there to pick us up too- question is- why would he pick us up if it weren't included in the package, right?

We were not informed of the charges until we were inquiring about transport fees to kalibo going back to manila with the front desk. We were suprised to learn that we will be charged accordingly. As we talked to Ms. Lady, she agreed (via phone call) to waive all the transport charges & was very apologetic with the situation and even sent us an apology letter to our room before the eve of December 31.

You can just imagine how disappointed our group were despite the business we gave Ambassador. The way they treated their guests clearly reflects the service the resort provides. If he were a professional business owner, He should've had asked his staff first, clarified what really happened, before barging in on us like that. We were all clueless.. We thought he would thank us for staying that long in His resort, invite us to comeback, and wish us all a safe trip back... But no!!! He asked Us to leave right away leading us to the door... How dare he confronts us like that, in front of the innocent kids, in front of his staff and other guests. While walking away, he said we cheated him a few thousands. Honestly, right now, our group feels that Ambassador resort cheated on us- we paid more than 300,000 pesos not including food, massages, bar expenses, and tips- but we didn't get the service we expected and wished for.

Despite that, we would like to thank mr van der tak for the accomodations, but WE ARE NEVER COMING back to Ambassador- a supposedly 5 star resort in Boracay...

Were sharing this with you for whatever it is worth... Hopefully you don't experience the same treatment when you go to Boracay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador in Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Also Known As:
Ambassador In Paradise Hotel
Ambassador In Paradise Hotel Boracay
Ambassador In Paradise Boracay
Address: Station One, Sitio Pinaongon | Barangay Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador in Paradise Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador in Paradise Resort is nested in the best "White Beach" location here at Boracay Philippines. We'd love to accommodate conventions, weddings and guests like you who seeks paradise on earth! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ambassador in Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador in Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.