We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Great Scuba Diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer: 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 131 hotels in Boracay
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Great Scuba Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

First, the hotel opened in mid-2009, so any comments of the hotel being tired are off base.

Located at the very tip of the small island, you are certainly isolated from the town of Boracay. While some might want to go visit the main town, we found it a bit of a miss. The beach is very nice however.

The Good:
- The scuba diving
- The Gym
- Pool Area
- Rooms (see below)

Items to consider
- Not all rooms are created equally. you want to be on the left side of the resort or in a bungalow. If you can swing it, you really only want to be in a Bungalow
- really is a family resort: If your looking to get away from the kids, (your or others), this isn't your place. The hotel has a massive multi-level play area/day care facility. Making it a perfect location for a family.
- Private beach is small, so there isn't much seclusion.
- two biggest guest segments are Russians and Koreans.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    848
    170
    54
    23
    15
See reviews for
371
443
37
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was our first experience of the Philippines and if you never see anything else you wont leave disappointed!
From the second you land (make sure you fly to Caticlan Aipport) you are greeted with some of the friendliest people I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet.

It’s a great touch arriving at the hotel via speed boat to their own private pier, and upon docking each group was met by their own member of staff for check in, which was when we found out we’d been upgraded to a Tree top Villa, which is probably the nicest room I have ever staying in, certainly no room has been able to deliver a better view!!!
We were also given our own personal butler, and while people may say you would expect the service to be exceptional if you have a butler, getting that personal touch right without being intrusive is a skill and our butler, Gil, did that perfectly.

The island apparently has zero crime and I can see why as there are numerous security staff on 24hr patrol of the Shangri-La and this also something they manage to achieve in a very un-intimidating way by employing great people.

The food in the resort is great, especially in the Italian restaurant where the chef will come and personally greet you and walk you through the menu, as well as tweaking any dishes or creating something off menu so long as he has the ingredients.

There is a private bay which really is the picture post card of white sand, and the clearest sea i have ever seen (I’m not a massive fan of swimming in the sea but it was so beautiful here I couldn’t get enough of it).

I’d definitely recommend a venture into the centre of the island for a stroll along White beach and look around the bars and shops in the D Mall area, and the Hotel offer free shuttles service ever 30 mins (though again I’d recommend coming back via tricycle which is the main mode of transport on the island, and very cheap).

We stayed 4 nights in what was our 4 week honeymoon around Malaysia & the Philippines, and I can safely say that this was the one place I just wished we’d had a bit more time........it’s a long way to go from the UK but i really do recommend you make the journey.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2020
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Wonderful Loft Villa.
Utmost Privacy. Amazing Views. Great Design.

The Private Infinity pool at the Villa was out of this world. You could literally stay there for hours soaking up the view of Boracay and the turquoise water and blue sky.

Great service. You get a butler for the villa to bring you anything you need.

Villas are well designed. Very comfortable, even with kids.

The Resort is 20 mins away from the Main Boracay strip, but it does provide a very good shuttle service.

The beach of the resort is 3-star. Sand was not fine, unlike the powder white sand of the Main Boracay beach.

All in all, Great Resort. Wonderful Facilities. The Beach could have been better, but the Amazing Loft Villa compensates for it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

A few friends and I travelled to Boracay for a weekend getaway. Boracay is an amazing island and the Shangri La hotel is great. The Shangri la is located away from the populated area and if you are looking for a relaxed trip to leave the hustle bustle of a city behind than look no further. The private beach is what is great about the hotel. Just relax on the beach sip on a few drinks watch the sunset.
The hotel has regular pick-ups and drops to the main town area. Which otherwise can cost about 150pesos for a tricycle.
We stayed in the garden view rooms which were spacious and same with wifi. The rooms also had a small balcony with lounge chairs and a small coffee table to enjoy the morning coffee or tea while enjoying the view.
Though we did get a slightly raw pancake in the room service which we returned and the hotel cancelled from our bill. The hotel also made up for it by sending us a bottle of wine. The service is great and what is expected out the Shangri la.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We arrived to the hotel on February 23rd and we are still here. Arrival and check in went alright. However the service is lacking. At the pool they do not do up your sunbed for you there is no pool side server that check if you want anything and if you go to the bar it may take 20 minutes to get Juice. My wife and I went down to the pool at 10 am in order to have a choice of where to be. After we found out were to be my wife asked for water, the message back was that the complimentary water does not start before 11am so no water...strike one. Later I order two drinks both are supposed to be frozen drinks, however when I get served it is one Strawberry Daquri that looks like thin strawberry juice and another that looks like the the scrap icecubes from the bottom of a bag of ice cubes. Also no garnish what so ever so no tropical looking treat or worth the 400 pesos that I had to pay per drink (In town you get two frozen drinks for 170 during happy hour)...strike two. The wife orders a drink of fresh mango juice and it takes 20 minutes and she have to go to the bar and remind them and stand there to make sure that they actually gets it to her ... strike three. So do not expect great things from the beach/pool side bar.
Restaurants are OK not great and for the price not worth it. The italian restaurant over cooked the fried chicken for my kid and it took 90 minutes for us to get all our orders, it was only three tables with guests in the resaurant so the chef should not be that busy.
In the seafood restaurant we arrived at 525 had a drink after waiting for them to open at 530pm. Then when we asked for the menue for ordering food we were told that the kitchen would not open before 530pm (it was 6pm) so yeah not sure what the staff is doing in their spare time but it is not training their sharp minds. The food was OK my dish was great the wife did not get great dish. The buffet is OK, its buffet but I have to say that breakfast is better than dinner. All in all if you paid half the price for the restaurants then it would be worth it.
The room is nice the location is great and my son loves it here as they have a big garden where he can run and nice pools. The beach is nice but the sand is not as nice as the long beach in Boracay town but more than good enough.

All in all we are having a good time but the service is well below par for 5 stars. The staff need additional training and they also need to employ more staff if that is the main problems to all the delays

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

It was worth having tiring 12hour-journey from Singapore to Boracay Island.
As soon as we arrived at Caticlan Airport, a staff whose name is Alllan John welcomed us with warm smile and led us to the lounge to wait for the boat to the hotel.
The lounge is highly secured, yet relaxing and the staffs there are helpful.

Check-in was smooth, escourted by Guest Relation Officer, Jen. We enjoyed welcome drink and conversation, and she recommended some water activities that we planned to do for the next day.

The room is clean, cozy and I was happy that I could watch Japanese and Singaporean TV programme. We enjoyed watching beautiful sunset from our room.
We had wonderful dinner at Italian restaurant, rima. Wendyn was very polite and helpful to arrange the menu for us and the staffs gave me unforgettable surprise for my birthday! I enjoyed every dish and of course, special birthday cake and song by the cheerful staffs.

The restaurant manager took care of us very well and we were very satisfied with the service that really extended to extra mile.

All the staffs are very friendly and polite, and especially Jason and Nards helped us about many things such as billing arrangements and show-rooms. We are always amazed by Shangri-La Hospitality.

And I want to thank Alrine, Front Office Manager for her hospitality and humility that made our vacation so special.

At Caticlan Airport, we were seen off by Allan John again. He checked in ticket counter for us and also gave information about Manila Airport where we transit. What's more, he helped us pay the excess baggage fee! He literally put smile on us until we departed the airport.

3nights and 4days stay in Shangri-La Boracay passed really fast and we enjoyed being in everywhere-entertainment centre, swimming pool and sandy beach...

And we would like to recommend this hotel as the best of the best destination in Boracay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Loved every minute of our 4d3n stay! Service was superb...all the staff went out of their way to make us feel like we're in paradise.We even had a grand tour of all the facilities using their golf carts and having the driver / photographer take our pictures. The whole place was so peaceful & secured that we even allowed our 8 yr old child to roam around & swim by himself. Everybody, especially the lifeguards made us feel this way! Lucky for us, we had the whole time to relax & enjoy the sun!

Every good thing said in previous reviews were true!!! Can't wait to go back soon...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.