We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Villa Indulgence
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I consider my experience at Shangri-La Boracay Resort and Spa as one of the best travelling moments, as far as beach resorts are concerned. I went to Boracay with my wife after a hectic week in Malaysia. Really needed to chill out and Shang really delivered.
Right after the plane touched down at Caticlan, we were greeted by the resort staff just at the edge of the tarmac! Within 3 minutes, we were already comfortably seated in a minivan and driven to the resort's reception building at the jetty. It was only the two of us and the crew on the speedboat to the resort. Felt like I'm travelling 1st class :)
The resort is beautifully landscaped and fairly new. Think its only 2 years old. We booked the sea-view room and was rewarded with the most amazing sunset. Most of the rooms face the west but I think only the sea-view ones get the famous Boracay sunsets. Definitely worth the premium.
Only ventured out of the resort for a brief 2 hour trip to town (D'mall). On hindsight, I would rather stay in the resort the entire time.
Food quality was acceptable.
The Chi Spa is out of this world!
We even get to enjoy evening fireworks as there was a wedding event on one of the nights! The corner table at the Lobby Lounge will offer the best view.
Overall, I think Shangri-La is good value for $.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    275
    95
    34
    24
See reviews for
584
679
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Shangri-La Boracay is a very nice property. I had booked a south beach suite and negotiated an upgrade to a pool villa for $150/night. It was money well spent. The grounds of the property are very well kept and it is nice to get around to all areas.

The breakfast (included) is not to be missed, it has something for everyone regardless of where you from in the world. The private beach is nice because you are not bothered by all the vendors trying to sell you things.

The only problem I had was with the bar staff in the Lobby Lounge. One night I ordered a martini and it took 30 minutes to make, same time for my second martini - and we were the ONLY ones in the bar. If you want a drink, I suggest you go up to the bar at the seafood restruarant by the ocean - great bartenders.

The shuttle to D'Mall is realiable and strongly suggested to get back and forth. Just reserve your space with the staff when leaving the hotel. One dinner at the property was Rima - a good meal - and properly priced.

Overall, we had a great experience and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel property is huge and impressive. The room we got is alright , nothing great. The beach area is clean but the sand is rough, it isn't what boracay is known for. The staff are generally polite and helpful. They are trained to smile and greet but no sincere intention to delight the customer. We had a problem on early check in , which was committed to us but upon arrival . We could have booked a later flight if not for that commitment. No desire to resolve the concern, we were left with no choice but to wait for 4 hours. The manager in charge of arrivals was pretending to be nice but did nt care to delight..the italian restaurant has terrible food!! the restaurant manager was so worried because everything we ordered was bad. he even had to replace the fd with an equally bad tasting dish. The manager was apologetic through and through and even asked for our names and room number. We thought something will be done to resolve like a basket of fruitsor chocolate with a note. But nothing. The food in this hotel is so bad and pricey. We had all our meals outside the hotel, along the white beach. We have tried once for the education but will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

In fairness to the hotel, the structure is very good - impeccable gym, fantastic facilities for children, outstanding suites. The staff are helpful and strive to service each request and greet you on every possible occasion; they are pretty friendly consequently, although sometimes show that they need more training. The suite is fantastic in all aspects – size, state of conservation, furniture, decoration, equipment, bathroom, linens, view, balcony, bed turndown service; all make justice to a luxury hotel.
The location is great, away from the hustle and bustle of White Beach and with 2 nice beaches at the guest’s disposal, with very good beach service. The menu of water sports is also very good.
All this excellence is stained though by the food. If one spends a significant amount of time in the hotel (as we did, for 7 nights) they would expect to have a good variety of food and at good (or excellent in a Shangri-La) quality. The reality couldn’t be more different. Starting by the poolside restaurant, where we had lunch 5 times: food normally took at least 1 hour to reach the table and orders where often mistaken. The quality was just fair but it was OK since it was relaxed lunch. We tried the Barbecue On The Beach once for dinner and once for lunch: service was confused and startling little variety of food. No beef for lunch (cost control?). Italian restaurant: it took more than 1 hour to have all orders reaching the table, although the restaurant was not full. Contrary to the poolside restaurant, this happened during dinner and this is supposed to be a fancy (and expensive) restaurant, where such a delay is unforgivable. Tired of waiting interminable hours at the other restaurants we tried the buffet for dinner for 4 nights. We insisted just for the sake of practicality, because the variety of savoury dishes was dire and the quality terrible. The food always tasted old and reheated. The staff at the food counters looked bored and didn’t even bother to know whether a dish was fish, pork or chicken. They offer a free flow of drinks at the buffet restaurant, but the Coke tasted old and lacked gas; when I asked for a can of Coke I found out that the can is not included in the free flow and that my Coke was being poured from a family-size bottle. No wonder it was gas-less (it is a real shame for a Shangri-La to make this type of cost cut). Moreover, the beer was warm.
To add insult to injury, 4 out of 8 in our party had diarrhoea after a few days there (what suggests that what caused it was something consumed in the hotel – yes, we all had only bottled water). In summary, an otherwise good experience was tainted by a very bad Food & Beverages management. For the brand they represent and the price they charge, this Shangri-La unit must take immediate action.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Shangri La for 1 week over Chinese New Year. The resort is very well run as evidenced by the professional and caring staff. This is a large resort yet many staff members greeted us by name and remembered our preferences. Outstanding! The pool is terrific and the two beaches are very nice. The private beach has more wind and surf,it is still very pleasant. While the hotel was fairly busy during our stay, we never felt crowded. I think their food is good- there is a good variety in all dining options but certainly the food is not the strongest point for this resort. I tried the spa, salon and all the dining ooptions. Spa is nicely done- worth a treatment during your stay. Also, the Entertainment Center was a huge hit with our family for after dinner fun. The aesthetics of the resort won me over as well. Well designed rooms and villas with good attention to details. (complimentary juices on the beach, cold towels, cookies etc. ) I would recoomend an upgraded room if possible- they have better views but most have sea views.
This is a good choice for a family looking for an elegant but family friendly break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

BAD: the road to the hotel. Our plane could not land in Catislan was the first shuttle 2.5 hours before the lounge, then a boat to the hotel. Fly-bus-boat - it's very tiring. Also did not like the quality of food in restaurants. For example, ordered the soup in a fish restaurant - brought in Sauce ketchup poured into a bowl, sprinkle half the shrimp. Real ketchup, no difference. Very expensive drinks, even for a hotel of this level. Services SPA - is a separate issue. Price absolutely does not correspond to quality. Before installing the price for the services needed to inspect their quality level. I say this as an experienced user and the expert. People should get over the high cost of high quality profi, not just a beach masseuse who were hired in an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

RUN as fast as you can to the Boracay Shangri-la. The rooms are expansive the staff is there right when you need them, the food is outstanding - OUTSTANDING and the grounds are gorgeous. It was romantic and relaxing...just what we needed. I traveled 250M miles last year- I needed a break- harder than hell to get to but once you are there....Into manila then to a small airport then a boat for 15 min ride then heaven. Head into town and walk the beach (the most beautiful beach in the world - and it is called that for a reason...then to D'Mall for local flavor (the hotel has a a shuttle or the local tricycles will take you back to the hotel at anytime) ...don't think you'll find gourmet food down there but it is a lot of fun. There is even a Starbucks in "town."

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
3.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#4 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Discovery Shores Boracay
#9 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#20 of 139 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.