We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Boracay but sadly our room wasn't..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The best of Boracay but sadly our room wasn't..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There's no doubt, if you're going to make the effort to get to Boracay then reward yourselves with a stay at the Shangri-la. It's attention to detail, beautiful location, design, pre-emptive and courteous staff, fantastic food and services all make it worth it.
We had a such a lovely 8 night stay and came away feeling that Shangri-la staff really are caring happy people that simply want the best for their guests. So it saddens me to stay the thing that tainted our stay was the room. Admittedly we chose a family room and off season rates to try and save a bit of money but still for $500 a night for the room, I wasn't happy to have floorboards that had lifted, in one section there as a hole that your foot fell through, a large ceiling stain above the bath and exceptionally thin walls it seemed that allowed us to be woken by noisy neighbors at 530am & 10pm most days and a few random 2-3am baths and furniture moves. We also got cigarette smoke through the wall where the bedhead is (I'm not sure of the smoking policy in the room but figured it wasn't allowed). We soldiered on with the disruptions as we had been told the hotel was full but it wasn't great. My suggestion is to maybe ask for a 6th floor room at least there's no one above you and just check that smoking policy.
On the good parts, the Adventure Zone was a huge hit with the kids, we actually had to stop them from going so we could have some family time with them. However parents please be sure to pack socks and long sleeve tops as the main part of the Zone is the slides and without protective wear they won't be allowed on.
The Dive Centre was terrific, Barbara who I was lucky enough to dive with for 2 dives was exceptionally knowledgeable and very safe. An all rounder when it comes to diving. The staff were helpful and co-ordinated and it felt like a good set up.
The Food & Beverage service was OUTSTANDING. Huge compliments to the chefs and wait staff. The buffets we went to were VERY fresh, well stocked, very tasty, creative and accommodating to the children's needs. The only debacle was the morning breakfast buffet where tables are at a premium and you need to sit and wait for one to become available. It took us by surprise but what choice do you have. I was a bit appalled with some guests attitudes, yelling at staff, creating scenes with their "hungry" children and generally being pushy. We had three hungry children every morning but they were encouraged to practice some patience. Please people, take a load off.
The private beach and the activities available were also great, we felt a lot more at ease with the huge presence of lifeguards available at the pools and beach. They weren't a decoration either they were actively watching and on guard. This is a fantastic incentive of the hotel and they should be applauded for it.
Advice -the best snorkeling we found was under the jetty.
Chi the Spa.. an impressive entrance, very serene and decorative. The treatment was ok, not outstanding. Maybe it was just the therapist I got but it was uncoordinated and repetitive and the products used were dry, disappointing especially after the facial.
The shuttle service was great, we went to D-Mall several times to get out and about. It's a great option if you're staying here for more than a few days.
As everyone says the scenery is magical, it's breathtaking from all angles and it just invites you to sit with the moment and enjoy the relaxation.
I would recommend people go but just be wary of your room placement.

Room Tip: 6th floor or try to afford a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    253
    78
    32
    21
See reviews for
527
630
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Staying at the Shangri-La with family is a true holiday. You get what you pay for (a lot). I can highly recommend the 7 day stay package, with transport and discount on F&B. Plenty action for Kids as well as for parents (even when the sun does not shine)..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was an amazing resort. I spent three nights here. The lush tropical grounds were so beautiful and the beach fantastic. I didn't want to do anything but just go to the beach and relax. I did go to D-Mall using the free shuttle bus and took a walk around White Beach and wasn't impressed. It is a beautiful beach marred by non-stop and chaotic development behind it. The Shangri-La resort, though, is beautiful and the north part of the island is very nice.

The room is terrific--large, luxurious, great bathroom, huge balcony. The whole resort was beautiful and the staff excellent. Breakfast was great, but the dinner buffet at the restaurant is too expensive at close to $45. I usually ordered a la carte, but I did have the Filipino buffet the last night, and it was very good.

The staff was very well-trained, friendly, and excellent. The concierges were helpful. If you are a Golden Circle member, you get perks like a fruit basket in the room on arrival and chocolates.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Although Shangrila Boracay is known for its expensive accomodation you will understand the reason why , when you experience it yourself. Service is just right for a five star hotel but Scenery leaves me in awe.. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the minute you arrive till the minute you leave, you are treated like royalty. Hotel shoukd take a leaf out of this hotels book. The staff, the food, the rooms and the ambience are exceptional. Can't praise this place enough. My favourite thing is every staff member says hello to you, no matter how busy they are......5 star across the board, will definitely be back!

Room Tip: A stay to remember.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very romantic resort and a treetop villa is really a great way to treat your love for a special occasion.

The entire place is very well thought of, very impressed again and again when going there.

My 4th stay there and every time fantastic.

Room Tip: A tree top villa is better that the villa closer to the pool as you have the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great place to stay. Everyone was very friendly and very helpfull. Beach was great and clean. Thought it would be a problem being further from town but with the hourly shuttle bus it was no problems at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.