We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS TIME, SHANGRI-LA DID NOT DISAPPOINT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase: 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“THIS TIME, SHANGRI-LA DID NOT DISAPPOINT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Scarred with an unpleasant and a forgettable stay at Shangri-la Mactan, we did not expect much from our Shangri-la Boracay stay. Though we've heard that this place is by far one of the best of the Shangri-la chain, we left our expectations at the minimum also because we regularly visit the beautiful Boracay island.

Thankfully, for the price, this Shangri-la did not disappoint. Service was exemplary from our arrival in Caticlan up to our departure via Kalibo airport. The staff (at least most), were ever-gracious and eager to assist you in any way.



I have noted - at least, most of the staff - because there was this staff who appeared from nowhere, while I was talking to somebody in the conierge desk to request for assistance for the possible re-scheduling of our flight booking to an earlier time (same flight date). This other staff just suddenly popped-out of nowhere and remarked (without being asked) that we could actually just go straight to the airport early come flight date and try to be accommodated there for our request for an earlier flight. He must have seen my raised eyebrows and the attending staff's face and he closed his mouth but not before asking me if we want our bookings confirmed.

Suggest that they limit concierge services to be handled by legitimate staff trained for such and limit other staff to areas where they're assigned as this person seemed to have not belonged there.

Daily breakfast buffet was served at the Vintana. Food was the typical 5-star hotel food... Staff were very attentive to the needs of the guests. We've also tried having dinner at this same outlet on our first night and service was very impressive. I was running a fever then so I was not in the mood to eat. While my husband went for the buffet dinner, I opted to just order a small salad. I must have looked really sick that the staff (named PJ) gave me a complimentary hot bread basket and hot soup before my salad was served. Early on, he even brought me reading glasses when he noticed my difficulty reading the menu.

The beach waters were not very friendly during our visit so we spent most of our time in the pool. The staff at the Cielo bar by the pool area were all very nice and attentive.

We enjoyed our Shangri-la stay in Boracay especially since this was a welcome respite for us
after a crazy and grueling schedule the past 2 months. We have had enough of the hustle & bustle of the Boracay beat in the main area and we truly savored the much-more relaxed and serene atmosphere at this side of the island. Although Shangri-la Boracay has a very efficient free shuttle service to D-Mall, Boracay's main hub, first-timers in Boracay might actually feel otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    190
    56
    24
    15
See reviews for
412
495
38
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the deluxe sea view room. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. I found the bed a bit hard. The bathrooms are beautiful and well planned. And the VIEW…its breath taking. The staff is FANTASTIC. Also, we are vegetarian and at the breakfast buffet they really took care of us. The beach is really good too. We tried the tree top restaurant Rima which had really good food and obviously great staff.. They have some activities going on everyday. They also have a play area for kids.
In the main reception area there are lot of mini water pools which really add to the beauty of the hotel. Most of them have plants as a barrier. But there are some on the side which do not. The lighting there also isn't proper. My daughter ran into it. My husband was right behind thankfully. The staff rushed us to the in-house doctor and thank God everything was OK.
Getting there was quite an ordeal with our boisterous 20 month old. So if you are travelling with younger kid think again! I wish we had. First theres a flight change, then theres a bus to ferry pier, then a ferry and then the final bus to your hotel. And bad weather to top it all. Keep in mind all these things before you plan Boracay.

All in all the Shangri La, Boracay is a beautiful property no doubt, but its for people who want a relaxed holiday.. Its away from all the action. If you are into exploring the city you are better off staying somewhere in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Normally, I over plan family holidays, however, this time I left it up to the agent/quick flick through Tripadvisor. It was beyond our expectations, from arrival to departure this hotel was brilliant. The service, food, rooms, pool, beach, music and atmosphere was perfect. Loved it, loved it....
My husband and I were extremely relaxed as our daughters 5 and 8 were happy 24/7. We will definitely be returning while we are living in Shanghai and will also highly recommend to our families in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Perfect week long vacation with family - wife and two kids (2 year old and 9 month old). The hotel service was flawless and exceptional. Anything we need or asked they’ve solved and tried to go beyond. From simple things like baby-proof the room with corner protection, two cribs/baby cot in the room and etc to special care/help on transportation because of babies until we depart from airport. The beach and pool are fantastic, and they also have a nice kids zone. Food was good, they have good options from Asia and Western but they are not very cheap; baby food though was little challenge, sometimes we order an adult food to our old daughter (which of course was expensive for the amount she ate) or oatmeal to our young daughter (which cost as high as USD15). For beer, they have local one which was ok (ideally would offer other options), but not very cold, so we asked them to bring a bucket of ice with few beers and that promptly solve the problem.
The only challenge was to get there with the babies, given you need to connect in Manila, get another plane to Caticlan, then get a boat, then a van... so not easy, but after you arrive you will notice that worthwhile.

Room Tip: We stayed at seaview suite, which is a great and spacious room very close to the beach (the big one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Inconsistent in service. Cold towels and welcome drinks is a must to all incoming and outgoing guests. This is a five star resort this is basic in terms of giving exceptional service. Food at the bfast buffet wasnt really impressive but it was good. Waiters should be conscious about attentiveness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for an anniversary trip, and we had no regrets! From our arrival at the airport, to being checked in in our room (as opposed to the lobby), to the wonderful views, delicious food, comfortable room, beautiful pools and wonderful massage, everything was delightful.
On our first night, we booked a private dinner at the Sea Pavilion. A bit expensive but it was a perfect anniversary dinner. The place was decked in candles, we had the only table, personal chef and waiter, even a small dance floor. And the food from their grill was excellent, especially the lobster and prawns.
On our second day, we took the free shuttle to the main beach of Boracay. It was very easy and the shuttles come and go on a regular schedule so you can plan your time away. Walking through the main beach made me appreciate all the more the privacy at Shangri-La (even their public beach is very private).
We hope to go back someday with our kids. We had such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room and the view was gorgeous. It was very spacious and we loved how even the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is the best run I have ever experienced, the staff are the friendliest and helpful, room quality is exceptional, Shangri-La quality, we stayed initially in a Sea View Suite but moved after four days to a Pool Villa, Just Heaven.
All Hotel facilities are top class, the Breakfast has a choice for all pallets.
jUst a word of warning make sure your transport is booked in advance if flying into and out of Kalibo as you are about 11/2 hrs journey to the boat transfer to the resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.