We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fantastic location, peaceful with a lot of activities not disturbing the tranquility of the resort. Friendly staff. Only the food quality considering the price should improve especially the taste. We eat a deleciuos butter chicken at the shangri la makati and at boracay more or less tasteless without the accompanies of the traditional bread

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    253
    78
    32
    21
See reviews for
527
631
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a slightly late review, based on an 8-day stay in early April of 2013, so ignore if looking for more up to date stuff.

Arrival: Like the reception and boat ride out to the hotel. Check in was good, fast, helpful and informative.

Accomodation: The room was a standard sea view room. Really nice balcony looking out over the beach and sea, with full view of the sunset. Great bed, always sleep like the dead in Shangri La hotels. Large room, comfortable, good housekeeping, clean. Big enough mini bar to stock my own beers purchased in the Budget Mart in town in there...

Location: The grounds and the setting are top. When you're in the resort it feels a bit like the hotel is out in the sticks on its own. Great beaches and great service form the staff on the beach. A note of interest: If you swim around from the southern beach, you can actually swim into and through a cave under the rock outcropping and arrive at the next beach (need to do a short stretch underwater). Was positively surprised by the fact that some small patches of hard corals just off the beach still appeared to be surviving. Used to only seeing dead and dying ones anywhere anywhere near towns/resorts. Also liked the pool area, and the bar by the pool/beach. The other bar is also nice if you can get one of the cabanas facing the sea. However, during our 8 day stay we didn't stand a chance... High occupancy, and they presumably hold them for the people staying in the villas.

Facilities: The facilities are also good, as they should be for a resort hotel. The entertainment room is great for a break and shooting some pool, the gym is maybe a bit under equipped for when occupancy is high, and the instructor stood around watching everything I was doing, which sort of put me off using the gym... There are also outdoor tennis courts, though I have a hard time imagining them being used much since it's far too hot all year round in Boracay. The dive/water sports center offers just about all the water activities that people go to Boracay for. However, if you take the shuttle bus to town, you can do most of them for half the price...
Also a note on closing times: After spending the day in Boracay town/White Beach, when we got back in the evening, the bar down by the pool/beach would be closing already...

Food: Don't bother, just eat in town. Tried the evening buffet on the beach, which was just downright poor. Overcooked everything (soggy pasta and veg, dry seafood, rock hard and dry tuna steaks etc.). The bar food was decent enough, but not good enough to defend the price. Also tried the seafood restaurant, which was good, but compared to the price of a meal there you can eat better food for a week at D'Talipapa by the fish market in town. We also found breakfast a bit of a turn off. Again, the cooked food was generally overcooked, and service was a bit chaotic due to the hotel being pretty full at the time. Several mornings I had to ask anything up to three times to get my coffee, and then sometimes only a single cup, when I like to drink about a liter of coffee in the morning... My wife eventually just stopped going to breakfast, even if it was included in the room rate.

Departure: The check out service here was top notch. They boated us back to the mainland, let me use their computer at their mainland lounge to print out boarding cards, bussed us to the airport, and then an extremely helpful guy got us through check in and into the hotel departure lounge to wait for the flight to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Luxurious, tranquil, beachside bliss! We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back! Exceptional service, beautiful surroundings and divine accommodation made our stay relaxing, stress free and positively memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

i decided to treat myself to this big ticket item for my birthday. i was greeted at the caticlan airport by an unsuspecting staff member. i guess he was not expecting someone in flipflops, shorts and shirt with just a backpack to be a guest at their hotel. this is not his fault, with the hotel's high price, most of their guests would be foreigners and the locals that do stay there would be very conspicuous with nannies and large suitcases in tow.

anyway, he shuttled me to their welcome office which is a short ride from the airport. i received my welcome drink there while waiting for their private speed boat to the island. since it was just past 7, i was the only guest in the boat.

upon arrival at their private jetty, i waited a while before a golf buggy whisked me off to the main lobby. check in was a breeze, but the room was not available (i booked the cheapest room ~15k pesos) so i went around the property and checked the two beaches out. the beaches as not as white nor fine as that of the main white beach. but the rock formations on the longer beach provides a surprise for fish lovers.

the smaller more private beach also had a lot of marine life. this is home for the bigger types of fishes. in fact i saw a few schools of fishes. i was told by the staff that they don't allow fish feeding as it pollutes the beach. which is a good thing as these fishes looks big and would be scary if they expect people to feed them.

after the swim at the beach, i rinsed off at the fitness center, which was again deserted except for the staff. i'am not sure if the facilities are really used, but they do have a decent sized gym, the jacuzzi inside the locker room was also a good sized. though it was off, as well as the sauna. what i noticed that was out of place was a very cheap looking washing machine. i think the purpose is to have it as a spin dryer. when i tried to use it, the whole thing was moving. it was a total fail. cmon guys, for the price of a night's stay you can get a decent wall mounted spin dryer. the toiletries in the locker were in cheap looking dispensers. the nearest cubicle even have no shampoo. this is really a disappointment for a resort at this price point.

it was now around noon when i went back to the lobby to check if my room was ready, but they told me that it was not as they were fully booked, which was weird because i see very few guest around the place. so i decided to go to the main strip for lunch.

the van service was comfortable eventhough the van was full of guests going to d'mall. i went back to the hotel around three and by then they said that the room was ready and my bags was already in my room. room was big, the blinds in the bathroom was not working, i pulled it up, and could not pull it back down. good thing i was alone.

buffet breakfast at the hotel was good, but nothing spectacular. there was some vip guest whom the staff has reserved seats for. which is a bane for us lowly customers.

checkout was sloooow. i dunno, i guess I am just used to the express checkouts. the boat going back to caticlan was full. this time, i was departing from kalibo. i was pleasantly surprised that eventhough they do not have a private lounge unlike in caticlan, that they have staff in kalibo that will assist you in the horrendous queue that awaits you there. this is something that the hotel cannot control, but kudos for them for their effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am so glad that I chose to stay at this property. You are made to feel like a VIP right from the airport, where someone greets you and takes your luggage for you, brings it to the awaiting van. You are then taken to a lounge, given a cold towel and served juice while waiting for the speed boat that wisks you away to the property. Upon arrival you are greeted by a lovely lady, this was Macy in my case who took care of checking me in while I was seated and appreciating the view. She was the one who went to the guest service agent to check me in and handed me my room keys. She also escorted me to my room. As soon as I was settled in, I immediately hit the beach and was able to do SUP (stand up paddling) which was super! Neil was very helpful there.
The next day my friends joined me and Ryan of housekeeping was so great getting the room ready early before my friends arrived.
We all had such a wonderful time.. We went for Zumba, massage at the Chi Spa which was superb and many happy hours! Breakfast buffet was also everything you could want. We also tried the Riva Restaurant and met your lovely Chef from Milan. Great cuisine. We all had a wonderful time..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

stunning resort in shangri-la best ocean experience, island hoping, snorkeling, endless pool, buffet for lunch everyday. something interesting this hotel has a salon also. and they give you l'ocitaine amenities. they have five star dive centre also, i hope that time i already got my ssi license.. very good buggy service in here also, and have free shuttle to town daily

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staying at the Shangri La was a different experience for me, You are quite aware of being in Asia, and Asians know how to make guests feel like royalty.






I enjoyed my stay at the Shangri La very much and would recommend your establishment to anyone going to Asia. It was my first time at your hotel, because i was not familiar with your chain. If ever I find myself on that side of the world again, be assured I will look towards your chain for accommodation.



Room Tip: My room was satisfactory. The size, the maintenance. Bathrooms are a big concern for me and yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.