We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Get 15% Off
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Kudos to the staffs of Boracay Shangrila! :) We really had a great stay. We were really taken care of by the staffs. The place is heaven! Great service, Great food, Perfect beach and pool. We will definitely come back next year probably longer. Im sure it will be worth it. Two nights is a bit short for us to explore all the facilities of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    214
    63
    27
    19
See reviews for
454
547
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three night in Jan 2013, and had a very relaxing, wonderful time. Starting with the very convenient boat trip from the airport, swift and convenient check in and smiling and helpful staff we were able to completely relax. The breakfast buffet is indescribable with more variety than you can imagine. We were particularly impressed with the variety of tropical fruits, and when we mentioned which ones we particularly liked, those same fruits began appearing in our room daily. The spa was incredible. Beautiful and totally relaxing. This was one of the best vacation stops we've ever had, and we won't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a short visit earlier this month just to try out the number one resort on Boracay. This exclusive, off public property is rather vastly spread and nestled in a semi forested area. It has a calm and peaceful surroundings and gives us a badly needed short reprieve away from the busy and loud boat stations downtown... While exploring this huge resort, we somehow felt that this place really lacks the exclusive character of a world class resort. The pool attendants and security guards were a little wary and suspicious of our presence there... we were even being asked for our room number at one point while admiring the beach front and strolling in the beautiful gardens. Kind of intimidating for us! Apart from the mentioned unpleasant encounter, other services rendered by the other staff ranging from the Housekeeping, Concierge up to the Guest Relations Officers were of excellence standards... Overall I feel that this resort is too expensive and over rated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a week at Discovery Shores (also highly recommended) we moved into a Loft Villa at the Shangri-La. Amazing from start to finish. Expectations were set high for this stay and the Shangri-La delivered. From a welcoming check-in to a warm good-bye the stay was of the highest quality. The Loft Villas are very large with an infinity pool that was bigger than the plunge pool I thought it was going to be. Butler service (thank you Mike) is wonderful, and I especially enjoyed being taken around and shown the resort and facilities on arrival. Room service is speedy. The property is incredible and so well designed. Our villa had amazing views of the beach. The staff and their warmth are a key part of making it such a memorable place. Nothing was too much trouble as Butler Mike took on responsibility for booking whatever we wanted from dining to activities. Yes, the dining and drinks are more expensive than the main parts of White Beach, but you are paying for quality, service and convenience. For Australian travellers, it is comparable to a decent restaurant with much cheaper beer and cocktails. (Wine as may be expected is on the pricier side). Sirena's seafood platter was bliss, as was the dining at Rima. Having an abundance of Italian food in Australia, we weren't all that keen to try it, but Rima's food was original and far beyond pasta and pizza only. The Alona bar by the pool has the best service and cocktails on the island. (Thank you Roland for the chats and recommendations). Solana near Sirena is amazing for tapas and sunset cocktails.
I even braved cheating on my hairdresser and had my hair cut and coloured at the salon (about half the price one would pay in Australia) and came out with one of the best cuts and colours ever. (Thank you Russell!)

Butler Mike organised our transfers in Manila (travel between terminals can take over an hour in peak traffic) and thank goodness as I don't think we would have made our flight without the wonderful driver who got us to our departure terminal safely and in record time.
The property is a little removed from the main stretch of Boracay so up to each traveller to decide if they even want to leave the property or spend their entire stay at the 'La'.
A huge thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable stay - we are so looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The loft villas are amazing and Villa 25 is set just that little bit higher (and so offers more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have chosen Shangri-La Boracay for our honeymoon destination. My H2B then made a detailed list of requests to make our stay extra special. Much to my surprise, they were accommodating enough to exchange emails with my H2B, as if two good friends exchanging hellos. And mind you, at no extra charge! I loved the part where the staff gave us a tour of the resort and of the rooms and when we finally reached the honeymoon suite, the staff said, " welcome to your honeymoon home!"
I so loved the ocean view from our bed, it made me cry. We can even hear the waves in the evening.
We've been to Boracay dozens of times, but this is the best experience so far. The staff and the duty managers are very warm and accommodating. Great food. Great Resto. Great view. Great Place. Great People.
Though, I have to admit that the private beach sand is not as fine as that of the main island. I also have to mention that the pillow is so soft, as if it's air filled that I had trouble getting a sleep. Four (4) pillows helped though. The basketball booths in the Entertainment Area are not functioning properly. BUT we were there to rest and enjoy the view, and we certainly got what we expected.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious and VERY expensive. Read the descriptions, ask if you must, before choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed in the resort last weekend and up until now, my family could not stop reminiscing about it. The experience was truly top notch, from the transport to/from the hotel, the room amenities, and the service. I loved how they made us feel so spoiled, from providing free bottled water, assisting the kids wearing the floaters, giving us free fruits while lounging, little chit chats with the staff and so much more. We have been to Boracay many times and I can say that this is, by far, the most relaxed trip we've had there.

I came across a couple of problems though. My luggage got lost upon arrival and I waited an hour before they delivered it to my door. Same thing happened with my parents' stuff. Another was how some of the staff were whining about how basic their wages are to hint for a tip. I mean, we get it and I'm sure patrons of such a classy resort can afford to tip them, granted that they do their jobs well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Yes perfect paradise location and a must if you can stretch the budget.

Standard Rooms still great size for family of 2 adults and 2 kids, all to shanghai la standard. Service is impeccable, the staff are all very attentive and genuinely friendly. Our poolside waiter is their current star employee and no wonder, he never stopped!

The great shuttle bus service gets you to white beach day and night action however the restaurants and nightly buffet options are great at the hotel, just a little pricier than white beach obviously.

Breakfast buffet is staggeringly good and if you get there late enough, there's no need to do lunch!

We did the spa as an anniversary treat and although very expensive (the triple tax and service charges are abhorrent) its really is a fine treat indeed. Private, palatial, calming, and the feeling that you are really a star beating pampered. We took some family friends who have travelled extensively in this region, they said its the best resort they have stayed in by far.

Would go again definitely!

Room Tip: The villas are stunning but the standard rooms are excellent too. Huge, modern and stylish, views to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.