We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what I call SERVICE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase: 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Boracay
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This is what I call SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Awesome stay, awesome food...Totally an amazing experience from head to toe...Value for your hard earned money is what they can do for you. Simply the best hotel in Boracay. Service is the name of there game!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    183
    56
    24
    15
See reviews for
397
479
37
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the best hotel where you can stay in Boracay. its rate is justified by what you are getting if you stay here. about 15 mins ride to the main beach via van. food is superb!(buffet breakfast and at the italian resto on a treetop) definitely staying here when I visit Boracay again.

Room Tip: seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a couple who decided to spend some quality time at a resort along Boracay's renowned beach.

First off, the convenience of having your baggage and transport from Caticlan Airport to the resort covered is a huge plus. They had drinks and a cold towel waiting for us as their boat prepared to shuttle us to the resort site where the service crew was on hand to welcome us.

We had our room assignment altered because of the peak season. Our first night was an upgrade but our succeeding ones were downgraded. We were charged the lower rate and given a bottle of wine in-room as additional compensation. I need to stress that the service crew was very supportive throughout this inconvenience.

The rooms had all the basic essentials. We didn't come for the rooms though so we spent a lot of the time at both beaches in the resort complex. Punta Bunga is the larger of the two. The service crew was extra attentive here. Cold bottled water was always on hand. Towels were abundant and if you were EARLY enough (10am) you could easily find an umbrella-shaded pair of pool chairs. The sand was excellent and the water was crystal clear. There was a noticeable amount of seaweed but much less compared to other places in Boracay. Some activities include paddle boarding, kayaking and snorkeling but some have to be reserved/planned at the dive center beforehand.

The second smaller beach 'Banyugan' was much more intimate. It was closer to the pools and Cielo bar and was packed with people by 10am. After this, you would likely not find any chairs by the beach and would have to stay by the pool instead. We decided to have lunch served by the beach. Their burgers were good but the star would be Happy Hour Cocktails from 5pm to 7pm. Special mention to Jeson who was very attentive to our needs. They also had a live band perform during this time. They were alert enough to warn us when the 2minute window to observe the sunset came. Wifi Internet access was free and available throughout the beach and the resort so that was never an issue.

Breakfast at Vintana was as expected but we could also have breakfast at the Lobby lounge if we wanted a more outdoor experience.

Our dinner at Sirena seafood restaurant was pricey but certainly of exceptional quality. The seafood is fresh and not overdone.

We made use of the Fitness Center which was well staffed and maintained. There was an entertainment center for kids as well but they seemed understaffed at the time unless they are actively requested. (there were more adults than children when we were there after all)

We came for a quiet, relaxing time by the beach with good service and, for the most part of our 4 days and 3 nights, this is what we got. If you are looking for an exciting nightlife, you will have to take a shuttle out to another part of Boracay. If you are looking for a tranquil haven to read, sleep or appreciate the atmosphere and you have the cash to spare, then Shangri-La Boracay is your best bet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We hoped and expected the Shangri-la Boracay to be one of the highlights of our trip. The property and grounds are fantastic and the staff is exceptionally friendly (i.e. you are immediately greeted with a sense of warmth and welcoming that makes the you very special). Our disappointed, however, was with the food and cold (water temperature) pool. Given the cost and star rating of this property we expected the food to be significantly better than what we experienced (the breakfast buffet was a solid "B", but the Korean BBQ a and Filipino/local food was pretty greasy as well as fatty). Some of the more positive highlights of the property include a first class game room for the kids and young adults (pool table/ping pong/Karaoke (private) room/etc.), private beach, and amazing ocean front views from most of the hotel rooms.

As far as the island, Boracay is simply growing faster than the local government can keep up (green slime/algae is found consistently on the beaches) and you should expect to find traffic in all forms and shapes. The Island reminds me of Cancun (after it started to get over-crowded) and is VERY touristy. Make sure to give yourself extra travel time to/from the airport as you must take a water taxi (private, provided by the Shangri-la (at a cost)) and should budget close to three hours. We left Boracay and went to Palawan (Palawan and El Nido = AMAZING!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my first time in Shangrila Boracay and although it really does seem like paradise, I felt that the place looks older than it should be.

It is big with most of the amenities that one would need.

The chi spa was amazing :)

Food was so so.

It was the service that really didn't impress me much. I came from Discovery Boracay the day prior and the warmth of the staff there was more real and consistent. The staff in shangrila weren't rude. They were nice and friendly but there is a big room for improvement. There were some of them that delivered the service that I was hoping for but not all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 6 fabulous nights at the beautiful Shangri-La Boracay Resort & Spa. From our arrival at the airport we were treated like royalty. Every staff member was friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Our Deluxe Sea View room was fantastic. The decor superb - the outlook - spectacular. The restaurants were of the finest quality. The rooftop experience of Rima - Italian cuisine - was amazing. The food and staff were exceptional. Our sunset BBQ beach dinner was one you only read about - we experienced a gourmet BBQ right on the beach. Candlelit tables, gourmet food, extensive wine list and A+ class service. A truly romantic experience. The Chi Spa where we had a couples massage was a treat. The staff once again were very friendly and very professional and the surroundings very tranquil. Our best experience of the whole resort was the Alon Bar. Happy hour greeted us every evening from 5.00 p.m. where we watched the sunset whilst sipping superb cocktails. The "best barman in the world" Nathaniel was a wealth of knowledge about the area, was very friendly and professional and most obliging in every sense of his job. He was aptly assisted by the beautiful JesseBell who has the most gorgeous melting eyes and beautiful smile. Not only were these two professional in all aspects of the ''bar" but they were friendly, funny and nothing was ever too hard. There were many others at the bar who were also very professional and I commend them on their excellent service as well. I have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful island resort to those who wish to relax and enjoy the tranquility that the resort has to offer. If you like fine dining, magic cocktails and peace and quiet - this resort is for you! Remember if you do go there make sure you head to the Alon bar and ask for Nathaniel who will make you the best cocktail in the world and tell him that M & M sent you.....In a word, well 3 words actually PARADISE PARADISE PARADISE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just spent 4 days in a pool bungalow In Boracay and would highly recommend this place for a short beach getaway in Asia. In the past four years we have stayed at Amanpulo, Fourseasons Ko Samui, Four seasons Bali and Four seasons Kona and I would have to say the shangri-la is right up their with those top places to stay. Quality of beach front - Nothing could be as good as amanpulo, but SLBoracay comes close. There are two very nice swiming beaches the one side gets a bit crowded but the other there are very few people. In comparison Amanpulo has better beaches with no one on them. The beach at the Four seasons on Bali is unswimable and stinky, at Ko Samui Four seasons the beach looks great but is kind of hard to swim. On Kona at the four seasons you are swiming in a walled off piece of ocean. The bungalow at SLBoracay is huge, the bathroom is great and the pool attached to the villa with an outdoor shower is a great touch. In comparison the villas at Bali 4seasons probalby have a better fit and finish with some great bali craftwork built in. For the same price at the Kona Four seasons you just get a nice hotel room. The Amanpulo Villa we stayed in was very nice, but no pool attached for perhpas 50% more cost. All in all the villa at SLBoracay was perhpas a bit lower on the fit and finish than some others but still pretty nice. As for the resort pool hands down SLBoracay had the better pool than those other high end Asian resorts. Its a pool with lots of little private space. I do like the Kings pond at FS Kona a lot, but the other places FS Bali, FS Samui have relatively unintersting main pool areas....as for the food..not bad at the SLBoracay, but nothing special. To be honest there are 10 restaurants within 10 minutes walk of my house in Tokyo that have better food than any of these resort hotels. If you want good food, stay home..In conclusion I would say that if money is no object go for the Amanpulo. Otherwise I though the SLBoracay is better for a short beach holiday than FS Kona, FS Bali, or FS Koh Samui.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.