We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Best resort in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase: 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW! Best resort in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 6 fabulous nights at the beautiful Shangri-La Boracay Resort & Spa. From our arrival at the airport we were treated like royalty. Every staff member was friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Our Deluxe Sea View room was fantastic. The decor superb - the outlook - spectacular. The restaurants were of the finest quality. The rooftop experience of Rima - Italian cuisine - was amazing. The food and staff were exceptional. Our sunset BBQ beach dinner was one you only read about - we experienced a gourmet BBQ right on the beach. Candlelit tables, gourmet food, extensive wine list and A+ class service. A truly romantic experience. The Chi Spa where we had a couples massage was a treat. The staff once again were very friendly and very professional and the surroundings very tranquil. Our best experience of the whole resort was the Alon Bar. Happy hour greeted us every evening from 5.00 p.m. where we watched the sunset whilst sipping superb cocktails. The "best barman in the world" Nathaniel was a wealth of knowledge about the area, was very friendly and professional and most obliging in every sense of his job. He was aptly assisted by the beautiful JesseBell who has the most gorgeous melting eyes and beautiful smile. Not only were these two professional in all aspects of the ''bar" but they were friendly, funny and nothing was ever too hard. There were many others at the bar who were also very professional and I commend them on their excellent service as well. I have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful island resort to those who wish to relax and enjoy the tranquility that the resort has to offer. If you like fine dining, magic cocktails and peace and quiet - this resort is for you! Remember if you do go there make sure you head to the Alon bar and ask for Nathaniel who will make you the best cocktail in the world and tell him that M & M sent you.....In a word, well 3 words actually PARADISE PARADISE PARADISE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    190
    56
    24
    15
See reviews for
412
494
38
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just spent 4 days in a pool bungalow In Boracay and would highly recommend this place for a short beach getaway in Asia. In the past four years we have stayed at Amanpulo, Fourseasons Ko Samui, Four seasons Bali and Four seasons Kona and I would have to say the shangri-la is right up their with those top places to stay. Quality of beach front - Nothing could be as good as amanpulo, but SLBoracay comes close. There are two very nice swiming beaches the one side gets a bit crowded but the other there are very few people. In comparison Amanpulo has better beaches with no one on them. The beach at the Four seasons on Bali is unswimable and stinky, at Ko Samui Four seasons the beach looks great but is kind of hard to swim. On Kona at the four seasons you are swiming in a walled off piece of ocean. The bungalow at SLBoracay is huge, the bathroom is great and the pool attached to the villa with an outdoor shower is a great touch. In comparison the villas at Bali 4seasons probalby have a better fit and finish with some great bali craftwork built in. For the same price at the Kona Four seasons you just get a nice hotel room. The Amanpulo Villa we stayed in was very nice, but no pool attached for perhpas 50% more cost. All in all the villa at SLBoracay was perhpas a bit lower on the fit and finish than some others but still pretty nice. As for the resort pool hands down SLBoracay had the better pool than those other high end Asian resorts. Its a pool with lots of little private space. I do like the Kings pond at FS Kona a lot, but the other places FS Bali, FS Samui have relatively unintersting main pool areas....as for the food..not bad at the SLBoracay, but nothing special. To be honest there are 10 restaurants within 10 minutes walk of my house in Tokyo that have better food than any of these resort hotels. If you want good food, stay home..In conclusion I would say that if money is no object go for the Amanpulo. Otherwise I though the SLBoracay is better for a short beach holiday than FS Kona, FS Bali, or FS Koh Samui.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Point Nsw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I chose this resort based on pictures, friends experiences, trip advisor feedback and Shangri La reputation. Our expectations were high and we were still blown away by our holiday experience.
We stayed 8 days and ventured outside the resort only once for a brief look at Boracay. We spent most of our holiday in a very comfortable cabana by the pool overlooking the beach and reading.
The facilities are excellent, the staff are amazing in their ability to be attentive and thoughtful without intruding. We are Sydney based and the restaurants to us offered very good value with high quality food at about half the price of an equivalent meal in Sydney. There were low priced options in each restaurant that were excellent value ranging from pizza to curries to top quality steak and lobster at still reasonable prices. The wines were similar prices to Sydney restaurants with a good range from a variety of countries. The beers are very cheap and I am a fan.
The breakfast buffet is the best we have seen with a wide choice reflecting the diverse mix of guests without any compromise to quality.
Although we did not bring our family the facilities for all ages of children from toddlers to teenagers are impressive. We will return with our family.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa overlooking the beach. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Before we traveled to Boracay I did a lot of research on where to stay. The Shangri-la consistently come up number one. The only bad thing I found in the reviews was that someone once accidentally stepped into the water feature in the lobby. Having seen the water feature I now understand and having stayed at the shangri-la I now have no choice but to write a review saying its the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
We had one of the villas on the hill - the view was EXACTLY the same as in their promotional photos. Our butler was Anthony who was charming if not a bit bemused by our antics (we called him katut - Australians will understand the joke). The staff were warm and friendly and quickly adapted to the fact that myself and my travelling companions were not their average honeymooning couple.
The private beach was beautiful with good snorkelling directly off the beach and while we had our own pool in our villa we really enjoyed our time at the main pool and ate a lot of meals there.
The room was perfect in every way.
The one word of caution (in addition to the water feature in the lobby) is to ask if there is a wedding booked, or being prepared for during your stay. We had a day of pergola building and sound checks next to the pool which was really not what we wanted from our luxury holiday. That said, they managed us well when we complained.
I will never forget our "movie star exit" (resulting from flight changes leading to tight transfer times to the airport) in which we got whisked through security and checkin at the airport (after checkin had closed). A fitting way to depart paradise.
If you can afford this place - Go. If you can't - stop buying groceries and paying your bills, default on your mortgage and go anyway.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a villa on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has to be on the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. We were there for a friends wedding and it truly was over the top. The views from the villas, the hot tubs, on the balcony/decks, the food, the butler service, need I go on? Definitely worth it and highly recommend to anyone visiting Boracay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location with two lovely private beaches, this hotel lives up to Shangri - La standards taking into account that it is located on a very small island in the Philippines. The hotel is built on a slope leading up from the sea and the higher rooms offer splendid views. But ..... expect friendly service rather than great efficiency and when we were there small children ruled the swimming pool and other public areas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Of all the hotels/resorts that I have stayed at, Shangri-La Boracay is definitely the best one I've been to. While it is also the most expensive among all my past bookings as well(even at a promotional rate), it surely felt worth it considering the quality of service we experienced. The state of the property also shows that no expense was spared. As an example, even the receiving area at the Caticlan jetty port was good enough to beat other hotels' main check-in lobbies. Once we got there, everything was taken cared for. It really added to the relaxing mood. Three days and two nights seemed to go by so fast for us to make most of the resort, let alone the rest of the island!

Some specifics though: the property is on the tip of the island, giving it good privacy and exclusivity. However, there are drawbacks such as the sand on its beachfront is not the same as the world famous powder-fine sand of White Beach Boracay (middle part of the island). If you want to sink your toes into that, hitch a ride in the hourly complimentary shuttle to D'Mall (sort of the island's city center/market) and have a stroll there (and while you're at it, go get yourself some Jonah's fruitshake). Also, if you're going for the nightlife, the last shuttle back to the hotel is at 1am. Beyond that, you'll have to arrange transport with them (for a fee) or hire one of the tricycles from the main road (there are a lot, so this won't be a problem).

I rate myself as a novice when it comes to traveling. Much of my experience only started picking up the past few years and I look forward to seeing what more the world has to offer. After experiencing such a spectacular stay in Shangri-La Boracay, this will definitely be my benchmark in what vacations should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.