We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer: 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Quality Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has to be on the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. We were there for a friends wedding and it truly was over the top. The views from the villas, the hot tubs, on the balcony/decks, the food, the butler service, need I go on? Definitely worth it and highly recommend to anyone visiting Boracay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    863
    174
    54
    23
    15
See reviews for
379
456
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location with two lovely private beaches, this hotel lives up to Shangri - La standards taking into account that it is located on a very small island in the Philippines. The hotel is built on a slope leading up from the sea and the higher rooms offer splendid views. But ..... expect friendly service rather than great efficiency and when we were there small children ruled the swimming pool and other public areas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Of all the hotels/resorts that I have stayed at, Shangri-La Boracay is definitely the best one I've been to. While it is also the most expensive among all my past bookings as well(even at a promotional rate), it surely felt worth it considering the quality of service we experienced. The state of the property also shows that no expense was spared. As an example, even the receiving area at the Caticlan jetty port was good enough to beat other hotels' main check-in lobbies. Once we got there, everything was taken cared for. It really added to the relaxing mood. Three days and two nights seemed to go by so fast for us to make most of the resort, let alone the rest of the island!

Some specifics though: the property is on the tip of the island, giving it good privacy and exclusivity. However, there are drawbacks such as the sand on its beachfront is not the same as the world famous powder-fine sand of White Beach Boracay (middle part of the island). If you want to sink your toes into that, hitch a ride in the hourly complimentary shuttle to D'Mall (sort of the island's city center/market) and have a stroll there (and while you're at it, go get yourself some Jonah's fruitshake). Also, if you're going for the nightlife, the last shuttle back to the hotel is at 1am. Beyond that, you'll have to arrange transport with them (for a fee) or hire one of the tricycles from the main road (there are a lot, so this won't be a problem).

I rate myself as a novice when it comes to traveling. Much of my experience only started picking up the past few years and I look forward to seeing what more the world has to offer. After experiencing such a spectacular stay in Shangri-La Boracay, this will definitely be my benchmark in what vacations should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment we landed to the time we left, nothing but absolute excellence. I can't say enough about this resort hotel that has not been mentioned by previous reviewers. The views from the hotel is simply magnificent. Having breakfast overlooking the beach is simply amazing. We did venture out to D'Mall and found it to be too crowded but that is where you'll find all sorts of adventure but for us having this "alone time" is more important. The gym is complete with all types of machines and free weights. We had a blast at the entertainment center, played billiards, ping pong, and air hockey. We even rented one of the karaoke rooms for a mere $17.50 which includes 3 drinks and a calamari dish. We were lucky that we stayed during the week as the private beach was not crowded at all. Our seaview room was on the 5th floor so our view was unobstructed by tall palm trees. My only regret is that we only stayed for 2 nights...not nearly enough to enjoy what the hotel has to offer. The cost is a little pricey for us but was worth every penny. I would highly recommend this hotel to experience Boracay for the very first time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed very much our four days here. The resort is really beautiful and luxurious. Our room, the one with a garden view, was huge, around 60 square meters.
The hotel has two private beaches that are way more peaceful than the crowded White Sand beach. It also has many different and large infinity pools in the garden.
The shuttle service to and from D'Mall worked well during our stay and we never had to wait long for their van.
Hotel's staff was nice and easygoing and breakfast OK. They really worked hard to serve nothing but the best. Couple of times we saw the head chef walking a around the restaurant. Once he took OJ back to kitchen after he had tasted it.
Only small letdown was the cutlery that felt plastic. And, of course, checking out and leaving the place wasn't that nice either. :) We could had stayed longer, and we can highly recommend to choose this luxurious heaven. This is, no doubt, the best hotel we have been to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the minute we arrived in Caticlan airport till the last second we left everything was taken care of. Excellent service, beautiful and comfortable room, lovely premises and good food. 10 points for the breakfast! Located in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We wanted somewhere different for honeymoon. Boracay had just won beach of the year. Shangri-La seemed to be the stand out hotel…..
Horrible beach(all broken shells), Greasy food, bad massages, smelly aircon, water pump to villa broke so had dirty water to shower in, no indoor areas to eat and drink, only beer was San Miguel (YUCK) pool scungy, etc, couldn’t wait to get home. Should have gone back to Intercon at Fiji.
Villa looked amazing but wasn’t up kept. Bugs got in on the upper level so couldn’t even enjoy in peace. Not worth anywhere near the price we paid. Could have gone to Bora Bora for same price and should have.
Will never return to Philippines and will probably never stay at another Shangri-La and won’t get another chance at our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit O, General Manager at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Travelin_Ge0rge, Thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us. We regret not meeting your expectations and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. I'd like to discuss this further with you through email. Please contact me directly at amit.oberoi@shangri-la.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.