We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: TYPHOON HAIYAN—HOW TO HELP More info

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Boracay
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. It has the most fantastic private beach, and the water is really similar to the Maldives - warm and so clean. The resort facilities are fantastic and there is so much on offer. Several restaurants to chose from and we tried all of them and all were great. I will definately be going back to this place...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    726
    154
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
321
381
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the dock, until the end, the service is first rate. Everyone at the hotel is eager to help and at your service 24/7. Cannot forget how wonderful their smiles are and how they made us forget about your worries. Our kids loved the pool and the beach is excellent. Although the island has a public beach that has the "talcum-powder"like sand, the private treatment you get at the Shangri-la is just perfect. The color of water is so pretty, I couldn't help it but to click away my camera. The transfer service is also, excellent even towards the end. The attendants from the hotel made sure we are all ready to go until we entered the security check. We arrived at Manila and found out then, that our luggage was handled priority, despite our economy seats. That's some detail-oriented service! We are definitely visiting the place again and would stongly recommend Shangri-la Boracay.

Room Tip: If you have more than one child, try upgrading your room to 2 queen size room, which has lot more ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This resort, tucked away in a secluded part of Boracay, is spectacular. I was very impressed and highly recommend it. The resort offers a private beach, and the swimming in the clear, blue water was glorious. There are many activites through the resort or available outside the resort so there is plenty to do. Also, the resort offers a shuttle to the famous White Sand Beach which offers shopping, restaurants, bars and good people watching.

If possible, fly into Caticlan Airport, the closer of the two airports (the other is an hours dirve away, but it is a larger more modern airport). From Caticlan, it is a quick drive to the boat terminal,and then a beautiful ten minute motor boat ride to the hotel's jetty

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been to this resort during June this year. Although the flight was delay and it took almost 10 hours journey from Manila, but the resort is awesome! It is located a bit way up of the Aklan city, but Hotel provide complimentary shuttle from the resort to D-Mall. Last shuttle to pick the guest up from D-Mall is at 1:15am!

Love the resort, love the villas, love the rooms! Friendly staffs and great views! Definitely will back again soon!

Room Tip: Beach front villa that have the direct access to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

- Airport lounge,cold towels,fresh juice drink, quick transfer to boat to hotel
- quick check in, breathtaking location,convenient complimentary shuttles to town,
- excellent staff very courteous and helpful
- one of the best spas in the world I would think
- outstanding breakfast buffet
- quick room service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

How should we start....WOW!!! Impressed. Relaxing. Impeccable Service. Awesome facilities and rooms. The list goes on and on. To say that Shangri-La Boracay is a great resort is an understatement. We stayed at the Shangri-La Boracay from Nov23-26 to celebrate my darling's birthday and an excellent choice it was.

I am going to be very unbiased in my review here and tell how they recovered what would have been a 4star review. Our experience with the Shangri-La Boracay started on a bad note when I was emailing them with enquiries and I needed the answers before I proceeded with my booking. First email was replied promptly, but my 2nd email was not replied for 5 days and I subsequently sent another 3 emails during that period with no replies. Honestly I was very disappointed at that point of time because I have read so many great reviews on their service. I made a phone call personally to them and Angela(Reservations Manager) apologised and replied my enquiries as well as all other correspondence very promptly from there on. She also took proactive actions for some of my special requests and private dinner arrangements. From that point onwards, everything was flawless.

We had our flight to Caticlan from Manila cancelled and got diverted to Kalibo Airport with no monetary compensation at all. I could rant about this forever but I shall leave that out. Basically we lost about 5 precious hours and it was also much more tiring. I emailed Angela whilst at NAIA Terminal 3 and she told me not to worry as a Shangri-La representative will be at Kalibo to receive us. We were greeted by name at Kalibo Airport and after a tiring 1hr45min ride provided by the airline to Caticlan, we arrived at Shangri-La's own lounge at Caticlan Jetty.

Cold towels and juices were given to all guests checking in at their lounge and this really freshened us up after the flight diversion and coach ride. A short 15min private speedboat ride got us to the Shangri-La Boracay and when we got there, for a moment we totally forgot about all the angst and frustration that clouded us earlier. Upon reaching the lobby reception by buggy from the jetty, Katrina welcomed us personally and led us to our seaview room for check-in there. Quick, effiicient and comfortable check-in. After 12hrs of flights, coach ride and boat, it makes a BIG difference when you get your check-in done in your room.

The room was lovely, very spacious and though it was dark, we anticipated a beautiful view in the morning. Linen was very comfortable. Woke up the next morning to a gorgeous seaview and also the Punta Bunga private beach of Shangri-La's. Breakfast buffet is very good with a nice spread, the fruits are awesome. Banyugan private beach, which is beside their swimming pool was great as we lounged there and just relax away. Condition of the facilities and equipment, eg. the sunbeds were all in excellent condition. We also lounged by Punta Bunga Beach, which is even quieter and very suitable for couples.

Basically, all the good reviews previously posted on the Shangri-La Boracay, we find it pretty much true. I had a private dinner arranged at the Sea Pavilion for the birthday surprise and it was absolutely awesome. Food was good, the set-up was very romantic, and the service from Nicholson, our personal waiter, was exceptional. He was attentive without being instrusive, humourous without being over, and ever-so-willing to take photos for us. Nicholson and Mitch sang a birthday song that we could feel came from their hearts and was filled with sincerity. How much better can the service be at this resort?! In fact, the dude at Banyugan Beach took so many great photos for us and even when we said it's enough, he couldn't stop! LoL~~

How much better can the service be? It gets even better that's what we can say. My darling's sandal sole came loose and we rang guest services for super glue or some strong adhesive. In 5mins, a technician turns up outside our room, politely requested to come in and fixed it in the room!! He not only fixed one sole, but also checked on the other to make sure it would be fine. Now really, we were very very impressed.

We also visited Chi, the spa, which is oh-so-gorgeous, for Hilot massage and I knocked out dead asleep, which simply means it was so-very-relaxing. Watched the sunset at Solana Bar sipping on a cocktail, had dinner there(food from Sirena) listening to the waves gently coming against the shore. Coupled with food that was tasty(we ordered clam chowder, mussel gratin and grilled lapu lapu), and service from Wynn, who was very entertaining and professional, it was indeed perfect. Every moment at any corner in Shangri-La Boracay felt magical. Every single staff greets u warmly with a smile. We also saw a private wedding at Punta Bunga beach from our room and you can tell how awesome a wedding it was with everyone dancing away and enjoying themselves. We did receive a note to inform that there would be fireworks but we missed it as we were too engrossed at playing table-tennis at the entertainment centre. Haha~

Shuttles to D'Mall are frequent enough(hourly till 1am or thereabouts) and it only takes 10-15mins each way. You could party at white beach and when you get back to the Shang, you would just melt away in relaxation and get a great rest. The Shang is also great for families with kids as there's a adventure zone for kids and they would also love the pool and beach.

Many have mentioned that White Beach is prettier, perhaps many years ago we feel, as the waters are not as clear as the private beach at Shangri-La. But the sand at White Beach is indeed softer. If you are after relaxation and luxury lounging by the beach, you will return to Shang's beaches after you reach White Beach. It's just too many tourists, too many vendors, too many boats. However, sunset sailing on a paraw at White Beach is a must.

The rates at Shangri La Boracay Resort and Spa are not cheap, in fact pretty much the most expensive accomodation on the island. BUT, and this is a huge BUT, it's really worth every penny, down to the very last. Thanx to ALL the staff, with special mention to Angela, Nicholson, Mitch, Wynn and Katrina, our stay was 101% relaxed and enjoyed.

WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms on 4th floor, which is on the same level as the lobby. And the treehouse villa or othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

service flawless. We had a wedding to attend at The Discovery Shores and while that was also a nice resort, it doesn't come close to the La. The private beach was beautiful, pools clean and beautifully designed, the grounds exceptional. It is quite a way from station one but that was good! A 10 minute drive and frequent shuttles. The staff was so endlessly friendly and polite. Food brilliant. Breakfast buffet unbelievable. Our housekeeper was so attentive, he arranged our boys toys in a new way each day which was a delight.
The staff live on site and often only see their families three or four times a year; they deserve your full respect as they are so lovely. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort
Address: Barangay Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites; comprehensive leisure facilities; 350 meters of secluded beach front; and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.