We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front hotel in Boracay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boracay Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Boracay Sands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   White Beach, Manoc-Manoc, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
CUMBRIA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beach front hotel in Boracay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We walked into this hotel fed up, soaking wet with no luggage (left in Manila by Cebu Pacific - but arrived the same evening much to our relief) and although it was more than we wanted to pay as there were only suites left, I insisted we booked it for a night. When we saw the room we immediately booked it for 5 nights and got a discount. The room was modern, clean, great bathroom with bath and shower and huge glass doors onto a fabulous balcony only metres from the beach, i loved it. We found breakfast disappointing as it seemed to cater more for Asian taste - understandable as the hotel guests seemed mostly Japanese or Korean. There was an indoor pool which we didn't see anyone use and neither did we as we spent most of our time on the beach and wandering up and down the road full of shops, stalls, bars and massage areas! There were only a few sun-beds with beach umbrellas supplied by the hotel and it was worth getting up early to get an umbrella as we did get burnt (even through the cloud) when we didn't have one.
I'd say the hotel could do a lot more in terms of serving food and a decent bar (there was one but it was never staffed) however we didn't care because the room and location was fabulous.
Boracay was much busier than we expected and in hindsight maybe 3 days there would've been enough but overall we had a nice time. Although we thought the hotel was expensive it was probably ok value compared to everything else in Boracay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the sea-view rooms at the front with a massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This Hotel is beautiful and clean, we own a hotel so i know that this hotel use good quality materials and had a good workmaship, they had a good designers and engineers. There rooms had philip lcd tv and ipod docking radio. There room rates are very affordable. My only problem with them is that they have to change there aircondition, its extremely noisy!, every time the compressor turns on I woke up!. Regarding there hotel staff well they are very well mannered but they need more trainning, when I checked in it took the almost to hours to clean my room, I asked then why is it taking so long, the front desk personnel answered me "hindi ko ba alam sa kanila!" she was referring to the housekeeping :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3D2N in December 2011. Located in Station 3, this hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Station 2, thus, there are fewer people and much more fewer vendors here.

The rooms are great; the beds are comfy and big. The bathroom though could use a bath tub since there is ample space. Outside, the hotel looks like a gleaming white mansion.

As for the service, it's top-notch. The hotel arranged everything for us: the pick-up service from Caticlan Airport, where we were greeted by the hotel staff and driven to their own boat to ferry us over to the island and shuttle service to the hotel itself; the drop-off service going to the ferry station then to our shuttle bus going to Kalibo Airport; and our round-the-island boat ride. Everything was perfect; we didn't even have to lift a finger and all our needs have been catered to.

The furnishings of the hotel are tasteful; very chic. Since the hotel is just 3 floors, there is no need for an elevator. Plus, there is a small pool inside, and come night time, it lights up! Kids will have a blast when they see it.

I've noticed that a lot of the patrons of this hotel are East Asians: Chinese, Koreans, Japanese and Taiwanese. We were perhaps the only locals there.

While the hotel is quite a walk away from Station 2 where most restaurants, bars and people are, there are quite a number of nearby restaurants, too within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance. Plus, a small stretch of stalls selling an assortment of souvenirs, beach wears, and other merchandise can be found just behind the hotel.

So, if you'd like to have a relaxed and serene atmosphere, the Sands is definitely one of the hotels you should consider.

Room Tip: If choosing a room, choose the beach-front rooms on the 3rd floor so you'd have a balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Excellent choice in Boat Station 3. Exceeded expectations. Just got back. Enjoyed stay. Right on beach footpath in boat station 3. Nicest part of White Beach. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. I had first floor room near pool. Super quiet. Kinda cave-like since no view from room but I'm not the type to stay in room anyway. Well appointed. Clean. A bit of musty smell but normal on tropical island. Mostly caters to Korean tourists but good for all. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Excellent hotel. Clean, beautifully designed. Comfortable room. I am impressed with this hotel. I found this hotel here in tripadvisor and reading the good review I decided to book. Booking is quick and no hassle. I am very happy with the price considering the hotel’s triple A rating. The price is worth it. I booked for a deluxe room. Room is spacious, clean, well lighted and complete with the basics (toiletries, towels, umbrella, safe-box). The hotel’s location is just right for me. Beachfront and just at the border of station 2 and station 3. So it is not as busy as in the station 2 area.
The staffs are very kind, always smiling, friendly, and always helpful. Breakfast is very good. They prepare for all either you like Chinese, American, or Filipino style breakfast. Not much but good and just enough.
WiFi is free. Just ask at the reception for the access.
Welcome drinks when you arrive while checking-in. A staff helped us with our bags and showed us our room.
I stayed here 01-06 Oct and the first 2 days were raining due to the typhoon but I still did enjoy. Cloudy most of the time but the last 3 days were sunny. It is nice to swim at the pool after staying all day at the beach especially when it is really very hot.
This is a really good hotel and I very much enjoyed staying here.
Worth coming back to!

Note:
Bring adapters or extension for your electrical needs (such as chargers, laptop, etc.). There is only one electrical outlet available in my room and it is flat. I went out to the main road to buy one in the electrical hardware shop.
Swimming pool is not heated but it is not too cold.
No smoking in the room but can smoke outside and in the lobby. The staff will provide you an ashtray.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

we stayed here for 3 days and 2 night, upon check in, we were told that there was no available deluxe room. but right before i was about to explode (because cebu pacific left our luggages in manila and made us wait for 24 hours) the receptionist told me that we got a free upgrade to the presidential suite. she was very kind and always smiling no matter how ridiculous our requests were. even the house keeping staff, i asked for an extra bed, and gave her a tip afterwards, she didnt even accept it. every body was very kind and hospitable. love the hotel! i'll definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, good service! Location is also nice, have ice cream station outside hotel lobby and Yellow Cab pizza is just a few steps away. Elegant hotel exterior and classy room interior. Provides comfortable sleep after long day at the beach and exhausting activities. Swimming pool is small but still is nice especially during night time.

Room Tip: Big spacious room with nice and comfortable kingsize bed and fluffy pillows! Elegant room with class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boracay Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Sands Hotel

Address: White Beach, Manoc-Manoc, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boracay Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boracay Sands Hotel is located at Boracay Island, Philippines. Boracay is a tropical island located approximately 315 kilometers or 200 miles South of Manila, the Capital of the Philippines, and 2 kilometers off the northwest tip of the island of Panay in the Western Visayas region of the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Boracay Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.