We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways & Bluewater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairways & Bluewater to your Saves list
Fairways & Bluewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Reading the other reviews of this hotel/resort I find it hard to believe I stayed in teh same place. One recurring theme is that the staff are fantastic. Not the most professional nor experienced I have come across, but their friendliness and keenness to assist could not be faulted.

The resort appears to be undergoing some kind of expansion programme, though it was far from clear how realistic this is. There is a model of the proposed expansion in the reception area, but this looked at least 5 years old and probably a lot older. It seemed as if there were groups of people (largely from mainland China would be my guess) who were there as part of some sort of marketing exercise (smacked of time-share sales techniques to me). The overall impression of the current facilities is that they are badly in need of renovation and renewal. Many concreted areas and the major buildings themselves were crumbling. The impression is that the owners will not invest until/unless they secure sufficient interest in the expansion. One of the two swimming pools (the larger of the two) was closed "for maintenance", but there did not appear to be any work taking place and, in any event, it looked in dire need of a lot more than maintenance.

As others have commented, breakfast is a chaotic scrum, but this is really the only time when the other guests were visible. In the evenings, for example, the bar and restaurant (serving only basic, but wholesome dishes) were almost totally deserted. Where do all the people who take (the inclusive) breakfast go for the rest of the day? The beach rarely had more than a handful of people on it, nor was there ever more than 10 or so using the only pool (which is also very tired looking).

The golf course was not at all busy, but at well over US$100 per round, that is not surprising.

In summary, if you are looking for luxury and/or tranquility, this is not the place for you. We paid an average of US$125 per night for two of us for B&B in the week leading up to Easter and that compares favourably with the upmarket properties on Boracay. In short, you pays your money and takes your choice, but don't be fooled by the professional photos of this place. The property is very tired, but the staff can sooth most woes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    123
    58
    30
    36
See reviews for
101
106
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In summary we had a pleasant stay in Fairways and will most definitely stay again here with my family. I highly recommend this for families with small children or old people, or those who just wants to relax, feel the ocean breeze, away from the hustle and bustle of white beach.

would have given a rating of 5 if not for small nuisances i will mention here. however will definitely go back here again

We stayed in Mulligan building for 5 nights. We booked thru Asiatravel and got good rates. I traveled with my 5 yo daughter, her nanny, and her dad who joined us on our 3rd day. We were booked in a spacious corner room on the 3rd floor with large balcony and great view of golf course/mountain.


Rooms.
Pros: very spacious. great view. Large balcony. 2 double beds. Has cable TV with decent channel offerings (Disney junior for my little one); Lighting was all soft lights. Housekeeping everyday, new towels every day. There’s a phone in our room (past reviews complained lack of phone)
Cons:
-no full body mirror (could have put this in the inside one of the cabinet doors). There is only 1 mirror in the room (bathroom mirror)
-aircon is noisy and doesnt go cold (thermostat is already at 10 degrees but it felt only 22 degrees.
-lack of white light (all yellow pin light/lamps)
-The shower area’s drainage is a little clogged - the water takes a while to go down… same with the bathroom sink.
-The light in our balcony was broken upon check in and was only fixed during our second day.
-no round table in our balcony when we checked in, I had to request it– I saw the other corner rooms’ balconies have it.
-old TV, I wonder why when LCD TVs now come very cheap.
-No daily replenishment of toiletries like soap, shampoo, etc.
-broken window blinds. The maintenance guys did not replace it, they just put it back up when the blinds crashed when I tried to raise the blinds.
-room is partly carpeted. This is a personal preference – carpets for me invite dirt, dustmites, I personally prefer non-carpeted rooms as its easier to clean.

Building:
Pros: Fairways is composed of many villas, and ours (mulligan) is I think the one nearest to lobby, pool and beach. building is old but overall clean and appears well maintained. Cons:
-the right pathway (going to the rooms if you’re facing the building) is not completely lighted at night.
-On our 4th day there was generator maintenance so our building along with the lobby had no power from 1pm to 5pm. However it wasn’t totally hot in the room as fresh air can circulate if we open the windows and balcony.


Facilities
Pros:
-clean, good sized pool (great for children and adults)
-ample day beds and tables in the poolside and beach
-beach area is clean and has enough umbrella and day beds.
-there is free shuttle service every 30 minutes going to White Beach area.
Cons
-breakfast area is small and crowded especially during our stay.
-Lobby is small, cluttered, poorly lighted, dark and not too welcoming. I hope they renovate this. Make it high ceiling, put lots of windows to let natural light in, etc.
-shuttle is only until 10pm. Maybe they should extend it until 12PM. Say, every thirty minutes, then after 10PM, shuttle will be every hour so next shuttle from white beach will be 11PM and 12MN

Food/Service
Pros
-free buffet breakfast was decent enough, we were expecting anything grand, and we were satisfied.
-the staff are generally responsive of guests’ needs. they were able to address my requests, (for light in the balcony, table in the balcony, repair of window blinds, etc.). also whenever they could, they make sure people only wait a short while for the shuttle. They also let you get off in Station 1 although officially the drop off point is in station 2 (Budget mart)
-decent price for beers and alcoholic drinks
-superp staff - very courteous, always smiling, all accommodating.


Other suggestions:
-Maybe the resort can tie up with those people organizing activities in White Beach (WB), so their guests wouldn’t have to go to WB just to ride jetski, banana boat, etc. Since Fairways have their own beach, maybe the activity organizers can offer to pick up hotel guests from fairways beach, going to the actual activity area/s
-No more carpets in the rooms pls.
-Simple acoustic band in the resto area every night. We would have wanted to stay in the resort at night if they had an acoustic singer at the least.
-extended shuttle hours (say after 10PM, next shuttle will be 11PM / 12MN . etc. this is to take care of those who opt to stay longer in white beach to party, drink, hang out, etc.

Room Tip: If booking in Mulligan building, choose room 22309 or any a corner room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good day! We stayed at your hotel from 19/02 to 05/03 at the check we forgot in the room in the closet 19109 vehnyuyu clothes. Please kindly contact us at this email address for sending stuff to Russia at index 680051 Khabarovsk Voroshilov Street apartment to 9 180.

Thank you.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A very beautiful resort, with their own private beach and fantastic service. My best recommendations to Fairways and Bluewater. I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean and very nice. The hotel has its own free shuttle service which was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in January 2013 as a part of Interval International program. Wow what a disappointment! Got told upon check-in that the rooms had not yet been fully finished. This meant - no cooking facilities in the room apart from a microwave oven (but no microwave proof bowls or washing up or cleaning equipment supplied). No Cd/DVD Player. No second TV as stated on our confirmation either and No Internet available in the rooms. Wifi they said would be available at reception. In the 14 nights that we stayed we could only get WIFI 5 times at reception. Either because "it was down at the moment", "There's been a fire on the island somewhere and our WIFI is out", "Bad Reception" or "Must be too many people on it in the foyer". We had only every second shower with hot water as it automatically cut out and we had to constantly press the "reboot" button up under the vanity basin. I must say the staff were amazingly friendly at all times but they obviously only have so much "pull" in the operation (note next to none). The whole place will be far better with the new reception being built out on the front row, but still, management needs to look after its clients and provide for them if they are going to claim to be 5 star. We were so keen to play golf every day of our holiday but at over $170 for a round for both of us it was totally unaffordable. Dearer that any golf course we have played in Australia. Never to return.......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week at Fairways Bluewater to experience the island, its environs and hotel facilities. I did not regret staying away from the D Mall, stations 1,2 areas as they have lost its island holiday feel compared to early 2000 when I was there last, as now, the area is too commercialised and teeming with jostling and loud tourists. Comparatively, Fairways, have the warm service and attentiveness of its excellent local staff who are very knowledgeable about the island, language, culture and which more than compensate for the resort being away from the entertainment and restaurant areas. Unfortunately, while fairways was advertised as having units with cooking facilities, it failed quite short of expectations, as there are NO cooking facilities in the villa unit, where we stayed, only a microwave, which, a family staying for a week has no choice but eat out every meal or heat carton food. Again, the beach was advertised with beautiful swimming areas, is not a swimming beach, as we were told not to swim most times,due to strong current and presence of sea urchins. The one swimming pool is filled with screaming kids who dominated the people from morning to pm. It is unfortunate that the guests staying at fairways were utterly rude as they push and shove their way into Fairways free shuttle, to town, even with the patient and smiling drivers. Perhaps, a sign at the shuttle stating "Respect and Give Way" will assist. I also strongly recommend that the resort apply and deliver what it advertised, eg, have cooking facilities, appropriate swimming areas, else, you will lose guests to the chain of hotels in town. Thus, apart from the clean, quietness and open space environment of Fairways, it is primarily the resourcefulness and attentiveness of the local Filipino staff like the security guard Ronnel (Sycamore) and Concierge Donell Aducal, accomodating housekeeping, plus the security guards at the main gate, smiling drivers who made our stay quite pleasant and enjoyable. The local Filipino staff are the PLUS side to this resort, as they truly understand the meaning of service. . ..Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Ask again before arrival, regarding the facilities for the room / unit you will be assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We are absolutely overwhelemed!! The hotel is situated ideally. The staff is extremely friendly and obliging w/ Donell of Guest Services anticipating all our needs, speaks very well english and helpful and attentive all the time. The rooms are just fantastic, spotless and equipped with everything you possibly need. Breakfast -> I have been around the world and have never seen any better breakfast buffet than in Fairways and Bluewater. Liked the egg station!
Conclusion: I am a very demanding customer and I advise everybody who travels to the Philippines especially Boracay Island to stay in Fairways and Bluewater. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is a 150-hectare eco-friendly vacation destination in the famed Boracay Island in the Philippines.The resort features private white sand beaches and an 18-hole golf course, the only fairway in the island. It also has 3 swimming pools, 5 food and beverage outlets, and modern, spacious rooms.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast, Boracay’s over 300 air-conditioned rooms have views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with a safe, cable/satellite TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. A private bathroom includes free toiletries, hairdryer and a shower. Laundry services are available. A free hourly pick up from the mall is also provided until 10pm.Fitness and wellness facilities found in the resort include a complete gym and massage, Jacuzzi and sauna and steam bath. Various activities that can be experienced at Fairways and Bluewater are the zipline, horseback riding, buggy car and Segway rides. La Terraza and Veranda feature a variety local and international menu. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via a 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan. It is a 20-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways & Bluewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.