We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways & Bluewater

Save Saved
You added Fairways & Bluewater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A very beautiful resort, with their own private beach and fantastic service. My best recommendations to Fairways and Bluewater. I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean and very nice. The hotel has its own free shuttle service which was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    52
    27
    33
See reviews for
91
94
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in January 2013 as a part of Interval International program. Wow what a disappointment! Got told upon check-in that the rooms had not yet been fully finished. This meant - no cooking facilities in the room apart from a microwave oven (but no microwave proof bowls or washing up or cleaning equipment supplied). No Cd/DVD Player. No second TV as stated on our confirmation either and No Internet available in the rooms. Wifi they said would be available at reception. In the 14 nights that we stayed we could only get WIFI 5 times at reception. Either because "it was down at the moment", "There's been a fire on the island somewhere and our WIFI is out", "Bad Reception" or "Must be too many people on it in the foyer". We had only every second shower with hot water as it automatically cut out and we had to constantly press the "reboot" button up under the vanity basin. I must say the staff were amazingly friendly at all times but they obviously only have so much "pull" in the operation (note next to none). The whole place will be far better with the new reception being built out on the front row, but still, management needs to look after its clients and provide for them if they are going to claim to be 5 star. We were so keen to play golf every day of our holiday but at over $170 for a round for both of us it was totally unaffordable. Dearer that any golf course we have played in Australia. Never to return.......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week at Fairways Bluewater to experience the island, its environs and hotel facilities. I did not regret staying away from the D Mall, stations 1,2 areas as they have lost its island holiday feel compared to early 2000 when I was there last, as now, the area is too commercialised and teeming with jostling and loud tourists. Comparatively, Fairways, have the warm service and attentiveness of its excellent local staff who are very knowledgeable about the island, language, culture and which more than compensate for the resort being away from the entertainment and restaurant areas. Unfortunately, while fairways was advertised as having units with cooking facilities, it failed quite short of expectations, as there are NO cooking facilities in the villa unit, where we stayed, only a microwave, which, a family staying for a week has no choice but eat out every meal or heat carton food. Again, the beach was advertised with beautiful swimming areas, is not a swimming beach, as we were told not to swim most times,due to strong current and presence of sea urchins. The one swimming pool is filled with screaming kids who dominated the people from morning to pm. It is unfortunate that the guests staying at fairways were utterly rude as they push and shove their way into Fairways free shuttle, to town, even with the patient and smiling drivers. Perhaps, a sign at the shuttle stating "Respect and Give Way" will assist. I also strongly recommend that the resort apply and deliver what it advertised, eg, have cooking facilities, appropriate swimming areas, else, you will lose guests to the chain of hotels in town. Thus, apart from the clean, quietness and open space environment of Fairways, it is primarily the resourcefulness and attentiveness of the local Filipino staff like the security guard Ronnel (Sycamore) and Concierge Donell Aducal, accomodating housekeeping, plus the security guards at the main gate, smiling drivers who made our stay quite pleasant and enjoyable. The local Filipino staff are the PLUS side to this resort, as they truly understand the meaning of service. . ..Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Ask again before arrival, regarding the facilities for the room / unit you will be assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We are absolutely overwhelemed!! The hotel is situated ideally. The staff is extremely friendly and obliging w/ Donell of Guest Services anticipating all our needs, speaks very well english and helpful and attentive all the time. The rooms are just fantastic, spotless and equipped with everything you possibly need. Breakfast -> I have been around the world and have never seen any better breakfast buffet than in Fairways and Bluewater. Liked the egg station!
Conclusion: I am a very demanding customer and I advise everybody who travels to the Philippines especially Boracay Island to stay in Fairways and Bluewater. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are a family of 4 & we stayed at Fairways & Bluewater for 1 week.
The whole resort & the room was very nice & luxury.
The beds were very good as well & the view out over the golf course were amazing.

The staff were extremely nice, kind & helpful. And the security guards were very watchful, in a good way ofcourse.
I never felt unsafe, uncomfortable or worried at the resort & I don't think anybody else did either.

The breakfast was good & tasty, but I thought it was a little disorganized & the restaurant was too small to accommodate so many people. But I heard that the breakfast would move to the new main building, which I think will be good & better.

The pool area was fantastic with the view out over the ocean. The private beach was really good with nice sand & blue water.
There were always chairs you could find, otherwise they fixed you one immideately.
Unfortunatley the toilets were a bit unclean..

The shuttlebuses were good & it was only 1 morning we thought it took a little more time than usually, but otherwise it was good & they showed up fast.
A simple way to get to the lobby & golf club.

We lived just by the course & one day I stood on the balcony & watched some people play.
I got so irritated when I saw that the caddies had to run after the golfcars. And I can guess that it is both down- & uphills. Well, all I can say about that is: very bad, fix that.

But as I said, the staff was very kind & helpful. They were social, nice & happy, which made us happy!

I also want to say thanks to my friend Donell!

We had some really great days at Fairways & Bluewater. The staff, the resort, the pool, the beach, the food & more; was very good & nice!

Thank you.
Sincerely, Maja. Sweden

Room Tip: We lived in Villa Victoria, the new main building. It was a very nice room with comfy beds, big bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I highly appreciate opinions of all the other guests of Fairways, but actually while reading I sometimes thought they were talking about a different place) As for me, I cannot find anything to complain about. I stayed in Fairways and Bluewater for 15 days from February 19 till March 6 and enjoyed everything. The location is perfect for those who prefer to have some rest from hustle and bustle of the Dmall. After spending all day at White Beach (the shuttle to bring you there is available every 30 mins) you can enjoy calmness and natural beauty of that remote place, as well as nicely furnitured rooms, and the best staff ever. Seriously, even if i had had some problems, i believe the housekeepers, concierges and other employees would have helped me immediately. I'm not a very experienced traveller, but anyway I claim that I've never met such a good service which is definitely a great credit of every member of Fairways staff team. I would say special thank you to everyone, but the list is gonna be too long. Anyway, Donell, Ruzzell, Ryan and all the other guys who helped me with all the questions i might have had - they all helped me to have a perfect vacation and I highly appreciate it. Actually the only thing that was not perfect (although it didn't bother me) was the organization of breakfast, as there weren't enough space at the lobby. But soon they are opening a new spacious and luxurious lobby, so there aren't gonna be such problems anymore. To sum up, I should say that my vacation in Fairways was simply perfect, that's why I will recommend that place to everyone going to Boracay. If i go there again myself (I hope so), I'll stay in the same hotel. For me it's a small paradise where you can get everything a traveller needs.

Room Tip: I stayed in villa Catalina - it's one of a few that has a free internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparkford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel rooms where fine check on needs a lot of attention were with a page party but gad to wait while a same day register was admitted while the party booked weeks before waited. How do I know this , because that party registering was also part of our group but only decided to join us at the last minuet, the food and service was pathetic sent first meal back from myself and wife food was cold same story after it was microwaved, did not eat that night. First night no prawns. Second night again no prawns waited for meals asked for manager,was told he was away but could see him in background after perhaps 3/4 hour he decides to talk but was a waste of space.hotel and surround spectacular rooms perfect. If catering and procurement were half as good it would be first class after all with those prices it needs to be

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is a 150-hectare eco-friendly vacation destination in the famed Boracay Island in the Philippines.The resort features private white sand beaches and an 18-hole golf course, the only fairway in the island. It also has 3 swimming pools, 5 food and beverage outlets, and modern, spacious rooms.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast, Boracay’s over 300 air-conditioned rooms have views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with a safe, cable/satellite TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. A private bathroom includes free toiletries, hairdryer and a shower. Laundry services are available. A free hourly pick up from the mall is also provided until 10pm.Fitness and wellness facilities found in the resort include a complete gym and massage, Jacuzzi and sauna and steam bath. Various activities that can be experienced at Fairways and Bluewater are the zipline, horseback riding, buggy car and Segway rides. La Terraza and Veranda feature a variety local and international menu. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via a 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan. It is a 20-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways & Bluewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.