We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I come again? Maybe for golf.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways & Bluewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairways & Bluewater to your Saves list
Fairways & Bluewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would I come again? Maybe for golf.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located in a peaceful environment adjacent to a nice 18 hole golf course. Good for golfers. The meal service in the hotel's only outlet is mediocre, but for a good restaurant you have to go to D Mall and White beach. The hotel offers free hourly shuttle service there, or take a tricycle. During our stay the hotel was quite full. Finding a table at breakfast wasn't easy, and if we arrived late the best food was gone. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, but do not expect international 4 star standard. When checking out I had a feeling of an extra hand in my pocket. Check the hotel invoice carefully for redundancies, beware of additional fees, and do not accept all their claims. It is easy to get upset, but better stay patient; it's not the girls behind the counter you should blame, but the management. Would I come again? Maybe for golf.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    123
    58
    30
    37
See reviews for
101
107
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

1. Airport Pick-Up - LATE for more than 15 MINUTES!!! We were the only ones left in Caticlan airport, eventhough, we have called this hotel 1 week back before going to Philippines and even 2 days back before our flight to Boracay. Driver was very disrepectful and acting like he owns the electric car, to the extent, he announced "We're here" in a very "Get off the car"-tone.
2. Check-in - VERY DISORGANISED!!!! A lot of people in the lobby who looked like their were waiting either to check-in ot check-out at the same time. No proper cusotmer-service training for the staffs in the front-desk. VERY VERY DISCRIMINATING AND RACIST in their dealings. Very positvely different when the customers are European/Western, very very indifferent and matter-of-fact attitude without any smile when you're from Asia and the Far East. We waited more than 5 hours for our room, however, we met a western couple waiting for their check-out for almost 6 hours, which says a lot of their standard.
3. Breakfast and Meals - TOTAL CRAP!!! I don't know how this hotel became 4 star, the local government should look into this and be involved as this hotel is ruining the reputation of the PHILIPPINES, in a whole, by their lack of imagine and desire to serve. They have a full pledge kitchen and chef, but breakfast is very bland with the same food served every other day. Imagine staying their for 5 nights, already knowing how your breakfast will be the next day. Imagine knowing it will suck!
4. Transfers to and from the hotel to D-Mall - If you do not throw a tantrum or complaint you are expected to wait at least 10 minutes for their transfers to arrive. Quality of driving and customer-service levels of their drivers does not vary from the staffs in the front desks. At least they are consistent in this front!
5. Check-out - Need I say more after experiencing a horrible check-in? Expect a delay of 5 hours minimum.

OVER-ALL: WHOEVER WANTS TO WASTE THEIR MONEY AND VALUABLE VACATION TIME BE MY GUEST IN BOOKING THIS HOTEL, EVEN VIA BOOKING.COM (WHO WILL ONLY FORWARD THE EMAIL TO THESE PEOPLE, WHO WILL NEVER ACTION THIS AND THEN SEND YOU A FEEDBACK LINK WHERE YOU HAVE TO EXPLAIN AGAIN YOUR COMPLAINT!). TOTALLY USELESS!!! TRY AGODA.COM PROBABLY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are sincerely sorry about all the issues that you have experienced in the resort. We are currently improving all facilities, developing the place and working out service quality. We hope that you can get to visit us again soon, so that we can provide you all these changes. Thank you for your feedback and may you have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We travel to the Philippines every two years with my wife who is filipino and young son. This time around all of here brothers and their family was also going to be in the philippines at the same time, also here younger brother had recently got married. Whith all this in mind we wanted to go somewhere special with all of us together. The reviews on trip advisor prior to booking showed the resort as being one of high standards so we had no reservations about booking it for us all.

On arrival at the hotel it was late and in the middle of a storm so we booked in and all apeared to be well with both the hotel and surroundings. There was some problems with room alocation in regards to the number of people staying in the rooms, this was resolved with another bed being put into one of the rooms, we are not sure who fault this was either the booking agent or hotel but resolved at the time so not to much too worry about.

The first morning was when we relised that the entire resort is basically a building site, there is works going on all over the resort with building material stacked everywhere throughout the grounds. The staff where busy brushing up after the storm and this debris from the trees etc was expected but the entire area was tired and run down with discarded air con units, tiles etc stacked all round the building we where in. Drain covers where broke or missing from around the area as well. This was not a good impresion to have when first coming out of the room, the views from the room where over the golf course that looked lovely however closer to the rooms was again a building site with rubble all around our ground floor balcony. The rooms although clean are again tired and slightly run down with doors not working properly and not fully closing.

When we arrived for breakfast although plentifull was a little bland with very few choices, even my filipino family was very disapointed with the breakfast choice. After breakfast we looked around the site itself, the infinity pool area is nice but again very tired looking and requires work to bring it up to the satandard it should be, the small hatch at the side selling drinks etc was very dirty and uninviting. the toilet and shower area also reqires work. The private beech from a distance looks very nice but on closer inspection is very dirty with rubbish all over the beech. The spa are here is also run down with the second pool in this area looking nice but closed due to it being dirty and not cleaned, we assumed this was due to the storm but remained closed for the four days we where there.

The biggest problem however was to come at time of checking out the hotel, we had been told that on one of the bed sheets had been stained with hena from a tattoo that morning at the room, we where told this would be charged at 4700 peso for damage. We disputed the high rate of the charge and they reduced it to 4400 peso at time of checking out, we argued with the desk staff that this was a very high charge and where then told they had found addirional sheets stained and the final charge was 10,000 peso. This is for sheets remember and not any thing else and with the quality of sheets used this charge was very high. However as we where in a hurry to leave and catch our ferry and bus to the airport we had our hands tied on arguing the case, we told them we would only pay 6000 peso that they took but on leaving the resort we where stopped by security at the gate and told we had to return to the desk to pay the remaining 4000 peso before we could leave. As we had a time schedule to keep we had no choice but to pay so we could leave.

The majority of staff are very freindly and helpfull, with us requiring the resort nurse at one stage for one of the children, they escorted us to the local doctor, aranged transport etc. this was very good service of a high standard. However the management staff of the resort let everyone down by not instigating good customer relations.

The resort itself needs to close until all the works have been completed or close parts of it to remedy all the issues, also the staff need some direction and training on customer relations.

Room Tip: Avoid all areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We already managed these types of incidents and we are doing all possible to ensure our guests' satisfaction and enjoyment. Thank you for the feedback. Have a good day ahead of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is SUPPOSED TO BE A FOUR STAR HOTEL. But based on how they have treated us especially during our check in, they're SERVICE is below FOUR STAR. Not even a three star or two star. We booked a 2 BEDROOM SUITE in this so called 4 star hotel, 3 months prior to our check in date. On the day of our check in, my family arrived in their hotel at around 12pm and being aware that the normal check in time is 2pm, we waited and sat at one of the sofas at the lobby until 2pm. At 2pm a check in staff WAVED at my husband saying "Sir" signaling him and us to go to the check in counter. Wow! that's how they trained their staff in this 4 star hotel; to wave at the guest to go to the check in counter! This was only to find out that the room we booked was not yet ready as the previous guest left an awful smell in the room. So waited again until 4pm only to find out again that the room was still not ready. Since we were tired traveling from 1am, we decided to leave our luggages and go to D'Mall to have something to eat as we have not had lunch. We went back to the hotel at 5:45pm and to our disappointment, our room is still not ready as they cannot find the room! We waited AGAIN until finally we took the shuttle to our room. And AGAIN another disappointing surprise! The check in staff gave us the wrong room! They gave us 2 rooms, 1 - 1 bedroom and 1 studio room as opposed to the 2 bedroom we booked! Take note the rooms were not interconnecting! We are a family of four that's why we booked a 2 bedroom suite! Though we moved to the new room with intercoonecting doors, the rest of our 4 days stay in this horrible hotel, no one from the administration approached us or even sent an apology letter for what has happened. We did NOT RECEIVE A SINGLE COMPENSATION from the hassle they have caused us. Upon check out, if my husband has not mentioned to the check out staff that he made a complaint and demanded to speak with the manager, the staff would go ahead with the check out procedure. A certain supervisor named JANE spoke to us and apologized. But hey MS. JANE the proper way to ensure that your guests were satisfied was to meet them yourself and not just asking your unprofessional staff! For my own opinion you need training too! And MS. JANE we are still awaiting for the apology email from your administration. Or that's really how you treat your guests? Your actions have spoken. And to the person who is in charge of replying to this review, I hope you would action complaints of guests as quick as you would reply to this review and ensure that guests are satisfied with your action. One thing's for sure, WE would never book in your hotel again. To the website to which we booked this HORRIBLE hotel (Booking.com), thanks but no thanks for your help because your email to this HORRIBLE hotel did not help us. WE would not use your site again to book our next holiday.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the photos and reviews posted on sites.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you during your stay at Fairways. We understand your needs and we are doing all possible to improve our services and facilities. We hope that you will be able to visit us again next time, so that we can prove and deliver what you deserve. Thank you for the helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is amazing!!!!!!!!!!! Staff exceptional discovery is over priced! Want a decent experience in boracay stay at fairways! 200 characeters does not do fairways justice egethomson@gmail.com if you wish to know more x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for such jovial feedback! We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you back with us very soon! Have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros:
-The rooms are modern and clean
-The staff are friendly and TRY to be helpful.

Cons:
-The private beaches are pretty dirty with trash - bottles, plastic bags, etc. so instead of enjoying them as we had expected, we ended up going to other beaches. Go to Puka beach for a more isolated feel vs. white beach
-There were tons of staff members outside each villa and I think they could be put to much better use vs. just standing there. Literally, we would have 10-15 people outside our building mostly just hanging around until someone asked for something. Wish they had used them instead to help with transport, check-in, beach clean-up, etc.
-Check in process took 20 minutes, check out took 40 minutes! Often the staff members were too many and did not seem to efficient or trained properly. It was hard to not get frustrated over every other charge on the bill being incorrect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us both positive and negative feedback which will definitely help us in improving our products and services. We appreciate all our guests' comments so that we may further study the best ways to deliver our commitment. We sincerely hope that we get to see you back soon especially when the changes and improvements are all done. Have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fairways is a pure rip off. Never again. I have been using booking.com & tripdavisor for quite some time now and usually do not provide any feedback but this time we were so shocked by such a poor deal that I needed to sit down and spend time to explain to potential customers what this is all about.

First when you go through booking.com and search for a hotel in Boracay, Fairways usually pops up as the first hotel .. with best deals. I jumped into trip advisor frankly the picture is not as rosy as it sounds (sorry for my predecessors !). Please be extremely cautious !

Why is it so terrible....
1) For 120+ Euros per night you expect a proper breakfast. Well as tripadvisors folks pre-warmed you it is really crap and even if we stayed for 12 days we only hate twice. A huge cantine with poor food. Even the corn flakes are crap !
2) It's a nightmare during holidays season to get from your room to the main exit of the hotel. Not enough buses... or be ready to wait for 20 minutes... great when you are with young children. By the way they don't even drive safely on the road !
3) They ask you to pay for the full amount as you arrive in the hotel ? first time ever this occurs to me and will find whatever trick to ask you to do so. Why ? Never done this before.
4) The air con does not work properly. Be aware and complain.
5) You are only allowed on key per room. Very convenient when you have a family going back and fourth
6) You have a room on the golf but they do not give you a key to access the golf. You have to ask each time someone to come and open the door and then when you leave the room to close your door... how convenient
7) Towels on the pool a nightmare !
8) They keep building hotels and if you are not careful from day#1 they locate you next to a construction site... we luckily noticed the constructions and surprisingly were allocated when we arrived opposite from the constructions (sorry we are full !) but we complained and then were allocated to a proper hotel (again be aware, construction is during the night with trucks coming back and fourth)

well sorry to say but a real piece of s... and never again.
Please just be cautious and maybe I will have convinced at least one person to be far more careful than what we were when we pressed the button for booking. We loved the island and will return for sure. Lots of good and nice hotels down town in particular in district #1 if you want peace and nice beaches but DEFINITELY NOT FAIRWAYS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We understand your feelings and we are really sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced. We sincerely hope that we get to make up for the things and services we missed. We hope that you still reconsider us soon, when the developments come into place. We thank you for these constructive feedback you have provided. Have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is a 150-hectare eco-friendly vacation destination in the famed Boracay Island in the Philippines.The resort features private white sand beaches and an 18-hole golf course, the only fairway in the island. It also has 3 swimming pools, 5 food and beverage outlets, and modern, spacious rooms.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast, Boracay’s over 300 air-conditioned rooms have views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with a safe, cable/satellite TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. A private bathroom includes free toiletries, hairdryer and a shower. Laundry services are available. A free hourly pick up from the mall is also provided until 10pm.Fitness and wellness facilities found in the resort include a complete gym and massage, Jacuzzi and sauna and steam bath. Various activities that can be experienced at Fairways and Bluewater are the zipline, horseback riding, buggy car and Segway rides. La Terraza and Veranda feature a variety local and international menu. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via a 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan. It is a 20-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways & Bluewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.