We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars...until it rained inside the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways & Bluewater

Save Saved
You added Fairways & Bluewater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4 stars...until it rained inside the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are definitely good things about Fairways but mostly I agree with the other reviewer who said for that for every positive, there's a negative.
Location. Fairways isn’t on the main beach, it’s not along Station 1, 2 or 3. It’s on the other side of Boracay with its own small beach. Station 2 is about 10-15 minutes away by tricycle or by the hourly Fairways shuttle to D’Mall. Cons: There were plenty of shuttles inside the resort but there’s only ONE hourly shuttle. To get back to the hotel, the guests line up at D’Mall and if they don’t all fit in the shuttle, the shuttle won’t make a second trip for those leftover guests. We ended up hiring a tricycle to take us back twice or thrice. This happens especially during the last trip for the night, because people tend to stay on the main beach once they get there.
Place and rooms. Fairways is a huge place with enough room for a golf course. Each building or villa has its own guard. The 2 bedroom suite was clean, spacious and stylish, with a kitchen (but you can’t cook there), a 6-seater dining table and a living area with a big L-shaped sofa. The "master" BR had a king-size bed while the other BR had two smaller beds. Beds and pillows were comfy. Each BR has its own bathroom and there’s a 3rd bathroom near the kitchen. No problems with the hot water or airconditioning as there were split-type units in each room and in the living area. Cons: So you’re in one of the best rooms Fairways has to offer, getting ready for bed when it starts raining hard outside (not a typhoon, just a typical rainstorm). After a few minutes, suddenly water from the ceiling was pouring (not dripping) down the closet (luckily not the side where the clothes were). Then it was raining on the bed itself. This was the weirdest experience I’ve ever had in a “luxury accommodation” and one I hope never to repeat. They moved us to another 2 BR suite but so much for that restful evening. We never received an official apology or anything to make us feel better.
Pools. Fairways has two pools, an infinity pool far from the main area and near the spa, with a view of the beach, and a smaller pool within walking distance from the restaurant. Cons: There were about 10 lounge chairs around the infinity pool for dozens of guests. The water in the infinity pool was quite cloudy. There were roaming guards but service staff at the pool were few and far in between. There’s no nearby place where one can get towels, there’s only a small, poorly maintained bar near the infinity pool. Getting a towel can take ages. Suggest bringing a towel before you go to the infinity pool.
Food. Needs a lot of improvement. Nothing about the food says Boracay, there’s nothing fresh or special, though the bar makes good mojitos. Suggest taking lunch or dinner at the main beach, where there are plenty of great choices. The breakfast buffet is offered till 10am but their last refill is about 40 minutes before that. By 9:40am all that’s left are scraps. Not sure why they don’t tell this to the guests so they can come earlier.
Activities. It’s cheaper and easier to make arrangements for water sports and other activities at Station 2. Suggest looking around and asking about prices before settling on one as the different guides offer different prices. There are also plenty of places in Station 2 offering massages, manicures, braiding and henna tattoos.
Staff. Friendly but somewhat disorganized. There was no room service.
Conclusion: If Fairways put more effort into maintenance, and providing sufficient facilities and services (more shuttles to the main beach, better food) for their guests, it'd be a top choice for Boracay, especially if one wanted some distance from the crowds on the main beach. Their periodic promos and special offers still make it a good contender, but they could be so much better. For now, Fairways & Bluewater has the 5-star look but more of a 3-star attitude.

Room Tip: If it’s the rainy season and you choose a room on the top floor of a villa, ask if the roof leaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for providing us detailed feedback on the services and the facilities of the resort. On behalf of our management, allow me to apologize for the inconvenience we have also brought you. We understand the issue and we will bring it up immediately to have them resolved as soon as possible. We hope that you will still continue your patronage on our property. Happy new year and have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    52
    27
    33
See reviews for
91
94
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place exceeded our expectations with regards to the wonderful service and the comfort that we received when we spent a whole week at the spacious and newly refurbished one bedroom flat (with a kitchen) and our guests were escorted to the 2 adjoining studios in one of the villas that had good views of the fairways. We also appreciated that the staff provided us with terrace furnitures so we can enjoy our lovely verandah overlooking the fairways. The place is a very beautiful resort. Also perfect for those who want to retire to a lovely and quieter place after the hustle and bustle of the main street along White Beach. We of course appreciated the shuttle service that brought us to and from D'Mall at the White Beach. The staff at the front desk and guest services were very helpful and friendly. Our special thanks too to our guard at the Villa Riviera. She was very friendly and very dedicated to her job. We felt so secure with her around. She also responded professionally and warmly to all our queries and needs during the week. We were also happy that the resort has a restaurant that serves filipino dishes and delicacies. We enjoyed very much the a la carte breakfast and lunches that we ate there .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the pleasant feedback you have provided us and our property. We appreciate that our efforts exerted are well appreciated by you and your family. Hopefully we get to see you back with us soon! Have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIJING
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hellow , everybody , my name is Anderson John , and my Chinese name is Zhao Qiang , my travel days is Nov.18,2012 to Nov.24,2012 , I live in this place for 6 nights . At here , a lot of very pretty girls and handsome boys can give you wonderful service , And you can see a very beautiful beach , beautiful sun and beautiful trees . Of course if you like the game of golf , and you will be lucky , at here , have a very good club and a very good service . At last , I will telling everyone this is my second time to living here , and you know what ? I got new plan , at Apr.2013 , I will choicing the great days to come back here , the Fairways & Bluewater for my vacation , I swear to God I love this place , just like The terminator said : " I will be back ! " At this moment , I hope the time passed quickly , at Apr.2013 , I will be with my Sunglasses and Cigar , telling the Fairways & Bluewater and Philippine Boracay : " I'm back !!!!!! "

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We thank you for this fun and very warm-hearted feedback. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay which is our main goal for every guest that stays with us. We hope to see you back again soon and we will ensure that another memory be imparted with you on your next stay. Thank you once again and have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The resort is very beautiful and the staff is always there for your needs. The beaches are clean and the water is clear like crystal, with azur blue color. If you like to play golf, they have a big course with spectacular view. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the prices for minibar, food and drinks are very low. They have a free shuttle on the resort for your accommodation and another one for downtown, the "d mall" area, every hour and downtown, you can find White Sand Beach, consider the 2nd best beach in the world by Trip Advisor in 2012. The hotel cost me 60$ so it's a great deal for this hotel that is a 4 stars but for me it's a 5 stars. Don't miss the gigantic pools with spectacular views. An amazing vacation for a very good price, with an exotic touch that you'll never forget !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We sincerely appreciate the pleasant feedback you have provided us and we are happy that we were able to make your stay with us very memorable. We hope that we get to see you back with us too, maybe bring in some friends and family too? Thank you again and have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I stay, last october in this hotel, i never thought that this hotel is so big with golf course, 2swimming pool, spa and individual villas to cater all guest.
Good thing there is a 5 minutes shuttle going around the complex. Shuttles are very efficient. Housekeeping are very willing to help you. At the reception they welcome us with a smile and even assist us going to our room. Breakfast was ok. All in all we had a great stay. We will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your very warm feedback on the resort and our facilities. It's good to hear that you would love to come back with us again. We will ensure that your next visit be better than that of the first. May you have a blessed day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family vacation was so wonderful while staying at the fairways. The restaurant staff run by Marwin was so kind, wonderful, and went to extra effort to make sure my daughter's birthday felt special. Everybody greeted us and even looked excited to see us every morning. The people are already so beautiful and smiling but we felt really cared for.

The house keeping staff was also super helpful as well as all the security personnel. Everyone was great!!! I cant leave out the shuttle staff either. They were fun nd very efficient! Customer service is top notch at The Fairways.

The pools are amazing. The private beach was pretty and private ...but.. dirty , but the grounds staff were working continuously to keep the place cleaned up.

It was very nice to be away from the hustle of white beach and have rel privacy on my own special island!!!!!

Thank you Fairways for a wonderful family vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: Internet!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the good feedback that you have provided us. The other comments as well will be very helpful for us to improve on the products and services that we offer. We hope that we get to see you back in the resort and may you have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

It was a family treat, for my family and inlaws. Brought them here because I know that this is far from the noise and bustle of the main and them, being of old age, requires better sleep and rest. It didn't disappoint them of course, as we got the 2- bedroom villa which was so spacious and quiet. And of course, 3 bathrooms! Enough for us not to fight over showers!:p Not the best time on the beach though, as it's very windy, but pools are PERFECT! Warm and huge! Breakfast was good, and they were so accommodating to us. Zorb, zipline, segway... What more can i say? All is in this place!:) shuttle is also efficient, though just anticipate the volume of guests riding especially at night!:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Fairways, Marketing at Fairways & Bluewater, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We hope that you get to see the changes that are underway to improve on our facilities and services. Again, our thanks and have a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag, Malay | Aklan (Newcoast), 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is a 150-hectare eco-friendly vacation destination in the famed Boracay Island in the Philippines.The resort features private white sand beaches and an 18-hole golf course, the only fairway in the island. It also has 3 swimming pools, 5 food and beverage outlets, and modern, spacious rooms.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast, Boracay’s over 300 air-conditioned rooms have views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with a safe, cable/satellite TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. A private bathroom includes free toiletries, hairdryer and a shower. Laundry services are available. A free hourly pick up from the mall is also provided until 10pm.Fitness and wellness facilities found in the resort include a complete gym and massage, Jacuzzi and sauna and steam bath. Various activities that can be experienced at Fairways and Bluewater are the zipline, horseback riding, buggy car and Segway rides. La Terraza and Veranda feature a variety local and international menu. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request.Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via a 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan. It is a 20-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways & Bluewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.