We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!! New building!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tans Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tans Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tans Guesthouse
Station 2 Boracay Island | Balabag Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 172 Boracay B&B and Inns
Dover, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!! New building!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

- Location: station2. 60secs walk to white beach. 90secs walk to Dmall. 120secs walk to main road.
*For boracay 1st timer: it's better for u to ask the driver to drop u off at dmall and walk to the beach and turn left and walk along to the beach in 30secs you will see Tans guesthouse sign.
- Rate: Queen bed for 2adult php2000 per night with free breakfast. We stayed 4nights and asked for discount. we paid php1500 per night without breakfast.
- Free Breakfast : It's not American continental breakfast. It's philippines' style of breakfast. You get to choose one kind of meat with rice.
- Amenities : Air condition, 42" flat TV, WiFi, hot shower, frizzer, table, coffee pot, Room service is available upon request. Beach bed is available upon request.
- Service : People who live in Philippines are mostly nice and kind. But the same time they don't care much. It's better for you not to expect quick service.
- WiFi : they have satellite Internet so don't expect high speed. it was weak in 2nd floor but still worked. Wifi router is in 1st floor.
- water : they don't provide bottled water like other budget hotel don't. You need to buy your water from local market.
- Tans guesthouse have its own massage spa. You can get php100 discount on Swedish massage which is usually php350. I recommend Jenny as a good masseuse. They use peppermint oil for Swedish massage and its good for muscle relaxation.
Overall, We don't think it's not easy to find a good hotel deal in peak season. But Tans guesthouse perfectly worked for us. we liked Tans guesthouse and will definitely come back for sure. I recommend you to stay close to dmall. Not station3 or station1.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guiguinto, Bulacan, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

our stay in namaste f1 was excellent! The breakfast (choices of silog) was great especially the tapsilog! YUM! :) plus freshly brewed coffee and served in our room... the room was very spacious and very near the beach... its about 10 steps i think...there is no bathtub.. hehehe maybe its already broken.. uhm u have to buy ur own toiletries because they only provide 2 soaps,. the room was equipped with tv, ref, ac... it cost us 2,000 a night...

the room was all worth it! it is at the heart of station 2.. very near in D mall, there is a convinient store right in front of the room so u can buy everything u need... and even the location was near some of the bar like summer place.. u still can sleep conveniently... u cant even hear the beats... hehe

miss ailyn at the front desk was very accomodating... she immediately respond to all our concerns... from my room inquiry up to the last minute we checked out the guesthouse... she's very very nice! thank you maam! u made our stay so smooth! no hassle! :)

thank you so much! we will definitely stay again and again! and i will recommend to all my friends and colleagues!!! :)

Room Tip: room f1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying in Tans Guesthouse provided me a satisfactory experience while enjoying Boracay as a whole last Christmas 2012. The resort inn is a no-frills hotel but this doesn't restrict the staff to still make its guests feel attended and taken cared of. The rooms are well kept and are equipped with LCD TVs where you can watch various cable channels.

I could say that this hotel is worth-staying for travellers who want value for their money but not sacrificing the service and hospitality that more expensive hotels can offer. The management just hit it right on the mark to have this resort appeal to various vacationists in a range of budget scales. Kudos to TGH. Surely, I will return to Boracay and choose this inn again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the ground level as they are more accessible and going to and from the beach is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our vacation in Boracay was really great! We enjoyed lots of activities like parasailing and helmet diving. One of the best activities we have is the paraw sailing which cost 1500 that bring us around the island. We enjoyed snorkling and the best is we hop from area to area where delicious grilled food can be enjoyed. We stayed at the resort nearby the commercial area D Mall where you can find lots of restos to eat as well as bars to enjoy the sunset.

We stayed at Tans guesthouse from Dec 5 - 8, a budget friendly accommodation. Set breakfast is offered daily, it's a simple breakfast choices of silogs served in a small restaurant in the front. Staff are friendly and willing to assist especially Ailyn , the reservation lady and the supervisor Joy. They were helpful in our needs. The room clean and cozy.

Choose their annex rooms because it's new and quiet during night time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed at tan's guesthouse last dec 7-10, 2012... We were so excited since its our first time to visit Boracay.. It was highly recommended by my friend but eventually all my expectations of a perfect vacation turned out into disappointment. The staff seems unsure of what they are doing, the rooms had mosquitoes so we asked for baygon they lend us one which is almost empty. The housekeeping staff won't clean rooms for three days they did not bother to clean our rooms. breakfast was worst, yes its all about tapsi etc but they will deliver it late and the coffee will come after your breakfast was finished. We asked for water dispenser they provide us with one but the dispenser was not working so our water was emptied even before we consumed it. so we called their attention but they did not respond as if their was not a problem. During the departure they asked me to pay 350 pesos for the water. So annoying....

I would not recommend this place... as a traveller we pay not be to stressed out during our vacation. It was our time to enjoy ourselves. So with TAN's GUESTHOUSE you will benefit a very stressful holiday so pls don't go there...

Room Tip: not recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tantiana, Manager at Tans Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay . We really appreciate the feebdack and we will be conducting training with our staff to avoid this type of situation in the future.

Sincerely,

Ms Mary cris Donguines
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malabon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We reserved a family room in Tan's guesthouse but we were given a small room with three beds in Namaste, their extension building. It's just a few meters away from the Tan's main guesthouse. They provide free set breakfast in Tan's main guesthouse and it's a choice of
silogs (tapsilog, longsilog, etc.) w/ coffee. So every morning, we walk our way from their Namaste extension to the main building for breakfast. It's on the 4th floor, no elevator.

The Namaste room which is 2500/night is nice and clean but it's really, really small for a family of 5. Maybe the other rooms are bigger. Their place is about 15 meters away from the beachfront.

Room Tip: Namaste Family room is small. Maybe you can check their room in the main Tan's guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The reason I booked this place was the very good reviews I read here in tripadvisor. Unfortunately, these reviews were very far from what I actually experienced.

The room (room 2) is cramped up. The cabinet stinks. The staff are lazy. The trash bins beside our room were not emptied for the entire duration of our stay. The lightbulb near our room was busted. In spite of all our complaints, the staff didnt even bother to remedy them. The place where they serve complimentary breakfast (which also sucks) is located at the 4th floor. The staircase that leads there is a spiral one too narrow for comfort.

Like I said, this was a forgettable experience. The fact that it is relatively cheap to book here does not even out the disservice it does to its guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tans Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tans Guesthouse

Address: Station 2 Boracay Island | Balabag Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tans Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tans Guesthouse Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tans Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.