We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-frills resort inn at the heart of Station 2 Boracay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tans Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tans Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tans Guesthouse
Station 2 Boracay Island | Balabag Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 174 Boracay B&B and Inns
Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A no-frills resort inn at the heart of Station 2 Boracay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying in Tans Guesthouse provided me a satisfactory experience while enjoying Boracay as a whole last Christmas 2012. The resort inn is a no-frills hotel but this doesn't restrict the staff to still make its guests feel attended and taken cared of. The rooms are well kept and are equipped with LCD TVs where you can watch various cable channels.

I could say that this hotel is worth-staying for travellers who want value for their money but not sacrificing the service and hospitality that more expensive hotels can offer. The management just hit it right on the mark to have this resort appeal to various vacationists in a range of budget scales. Kudos to TGH. Surely, I will return to Boracay and choose this inn again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the ground level as they are more accessible and going to and from the beach is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our vacation in Boracay was really great! We enjoyed lots of activities like parasailing and helmet diving. One of the best activities we have is the paraw sailing which cost 1500 that bring us around the island. We enjoyed snorkling and the best is we hop from area to area where delicious grilled food can be enjoyed. We stayed at the resort nearby the commercial area D Mall where you can find lots of restos to eat as well as bars to enjoy the sunset.

We stayed at Tans guesthouse from Dec 5 - 8, a budget friendly accommodation. Set breakfast is offered daily, it's a simple breakfast choices of silogs served in a small restaurant in the front. Staff are friendly and willing to assist especially Ailyn , the reservation lady and the supervisor Joy. They were helpful in our needs. The room clean and cozy.

Choose their annex rooms because it's new and quiet during night time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed at tan's guesthouse last dec 7-10, 2012... We were so excited since its our first time to visit Boracay.. It was highly recommended by my friend but eventually all my expectations of a perfect vacation turned out into disappointment. The staff seems unsure of what they are doing, the rooms had mosquitoes so we asked for baygon they lend us one which is almost empty. The housekeeping staff won't clean rooms for three days they did not bother to clean our rooms. breakfast was worst, yes its all about tapsi etc but they will deliver it late and the coffee will come after your breakfast was finished. We asked for water dispenser they provide us with one but the dispenser was not working so our water was emptied even before we consumed it. so we called their attention but they did not respond as if their was not a problem. During the departure they asked me to pay 350 pesos for the water. So annoying....

I would not recommend this place... as a traveller we pay not be to stressed out during our vacation. It was our time to enjoy ourselves. So with TAN's GUESTHOUSE you will benefit a very stressful holiday so pls don't go there...

Room Tip: not recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tantiana, Manager at Tans Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay . We really appreciate the feebdack and we will be conducting training with our staff to avoid this type of situation in the future.

Sincerely,

Ms Mary cris Donguines
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malabon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We reserved a family room in Tan's guesthouse but we were given a small room with three beds in Namaste, their extension building. It's just a few meters away from the Tan's main guesthouse. They provide free set breakfast in Tan's main guesthouse and it's a choice of
silogs (tapsilog, longsilog, etc.) w/ coffee. So every morning, we walk our way from their Namaste extension to the main building for breakfast. It's on the 4th floor, no elevator.

The Namaste room which is 2500/night is nice and clean but it's really, really small for a family of 5. Maybe the other rooms are bigger. Their place is about 15 meters away from the beachfront.

Room Tip: Namaste Family room is small. Maybe you can check their room in the main Tan's guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The reason I booked this place was the very good reviews I read here in tripadvisor. Unfortunately, these reviews were very far from what I actually experienced.

The room (room 2) is cramped up. The cabinet stinks. The staff are lazy. The trash bins beside our room were not emptied for the entire duration of our stay. The lightbulb near our room was busted. In spite of all our complaints, the staff didnt even bother to remedy them. The place where they serve complimentary breakfast (which also sucks) is located at the 4th floor. The staircase that leads there is a spiral one too narrow for comfort.

Like I said, this was a forgettable experience. The fact that it is relatively cheap to book here does not even out the disservice it does to its guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

i am a regular customer of this guesthouse.. the last time i went to Boracay(November 2012) with my HS friends we stayed in their dormitory room and it was a nice room very spacious 5 queen size bed, 2 shower rooms and plus breakfast for 10 for a very reasonable price. my friends also loved the place. plus the staffs are willing to help and accommodating specially "Ms Joy" and Ailyn.

Room Tip: nice location near D'mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had the entire annex to ourselves. The annex is less than a 5-minute walk from the beach at Station 1. Very near D'Mall but about 10 mins away from the cheaper Talipapa Market. The rooms were okay. We got two single beds per room, a TV, a ref, night stands per bed and enough storage space. There were service towels and soap. There was construction going on all around the building so we couldn't open the curtains unless if we wanted the carpenters to get a good view of our rooms. Same thing with the bathroom, we had to keep ducking to preserve modesty. :p

Hard to contact the front desk since there was no phone in the annex, we literally had to walk each time we had a complaint. Some complaints we had:
1. Windows wouldn't close properly on room B1.
2. B1 door had no extra key so we had to wait until we got the keys before we could go out.
3. Wifi didn't work at all. We had a hard time connecting and then we had
4. Bathroom was elevated but there was no stopper at the edge so water leaked into the room. We had to keep requesting for room service to have it cleaned up.

It wasn't all bad, though. We had a really good stay after we got over the initial glitches. Some good things about the stay:
1. Free complimentary breakfast for everyone in the group. We booked a room for 4 but got free complimentary breakfast for all 5 of us during our entire stay.
2. Aircon and TV worked great.
3. We got the whole patio to ourselves, which included two cooking areas, cooking utensils, sinks, and tables/chairs. We could have cooked our own food had we been in the mood to do so, but we ate out the entire time we were there.

Also, breakfast area is pretty hard to locate, but if you pay attention to the signs and arrows, you'll get there.;)

Room Tip: If you're looking for privacy, the annex is a good spot. Just make sure to check everything (tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tans Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tans Guesthouse

Address: Station 2 Boracay Island | Balabag Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tans Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tans Guesthouse Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tans Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.